Running GBC games on the GBA

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by SABERinBLUE, Jan 1, 2008.

Jan 1, 2008
  1. SABERinBLUE
    OP

    Newcomer SABERinBLUE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible with a Supercard SD to run GBC games normally (without using goomba) with a GBA? I can't seem to get it to work, and the game I'm trying to play (Shantae) doesn't run well in Lameboy and runs horribly in goomba.
     
  2. LedahXIII

    Newcomer LedahXIII Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    No, you cannot. Things run in GBA mode do not have access to the legacy Z80 processor that the gameboy uses. There's no way to do it short of emulation.
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Right, you cannot run GBC games natively without a dedicated GBC flash cart, which would be very difficult to find nowadays (not to mention expensive as heck).

    Try the latest WIP build of Goomba Color, which has better graphical accuracy. Instructions:
    1. Grab the Alpha 6 download from http://www.pocketheaven.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=3280 (this is the one the Supercard SD uses, but includes the builder tools as well).
    2. Replace the goomba.gba file in there with the updated WIP build from http://www.dwedit.org/dwedit_board/viewtopic.php?pid=1740
    3. Follow the instructions at http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/Goomba to create a compilation.
    4. Patch it with the Supercard patcher (otherwise it will come up blank when you try to run it). Use whatever patching options you want, though I personally use as few as possible.

    No clue if it will help with Shantae, but it helps dramatically for GB Donkey Kong games.
     
  4. SABERinBLUE
    OP

    Newcomer SABERinBLUE Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a bunch, while it's still slow, the graphical problems are indeed fixed!
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    This probably won't help too much, but try the following:
    1. Press L+Start to disable the speed limiter. If it's not already fullspeed, this probably won't do anything.
    2. Mess with the GBC Double Speed setting in the options menu (press L+R to access it).
     
  6. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    There are still some available online and at ~50 Pound/70 EUR not even that expensive. The biggest problem is flashing them via parallel port, which todays PCs usually don't have anymore.
     

Share This Page