1. abhirox6

    abhirox6 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    India

    Okay thank you - I take it that you recommend getting this card then?
     
  2. fernan1234

    fernan1234 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for confirming this. It's too bad because I wanted to use this card on a DSi XL rather than a 2/3DS, so this is regrettable. Are there still any older DSi only cards that support the autoboot flag? Maybe I can track down one of those.
     
  3. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,280
    Country:
    Italy
    DSi is also affected by whitelisting

    Of course, if you have Unlaunch installed on your DSi, you can configure it to autoboot slot-1 (regardless of what the card says); not all flashcards are supported by Unlaunch though - in fact, my original R4 is and a r4ids.cn isn't!
     
  4. Zaphod77

    Zaphod77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    634
    Country:
    United States
    AFAIK, NO card that autoboots works on the DSi. that was the first thing they had to do to make them work. then they started the blacklisting.

    if you want a decent ds lite autoboot card, get a dstt, and get retrogamefans update. done.
     
    Last edited by Zaphod77, Dec 25, 2018
  5. Bryon15

    Bryon15 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    United States
  6. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,915
    Country:
    Germany
    To use the rts function in wood there are two possibilities:

    Global settings:
    StartSettings → Change pages with (L) and (R) or the touch screen to Patches → set rts to “on”.

    Per game settings:

    Select any ROM from the list and press (Y) to bring up the file menu. Press (Y) again for settings. Change pages with (L) and (R) to Features → set rts to “on”

    Booting games takes longer when rts is on. The default button combination to reach the save state menu is L+R+A+B+Down. This combination closes the game and returns to Wood if rts in NOT active.
     
    cyfaws likes this.
  7. Bryon15

    Bryon15 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot man. It worked. But I noticed that there's only one slot per save state. The SuperCard dstwo had 4 if I remember correctly.

    Also can someone explain this?



    It seems like I'm missing some features on my card. Like game guide and slow motion.
     
  8. Bryon15

    Bryon15 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    United States
    And how do you use action replay cheats?

    Edit - nevermind. I figured it out. Still don't know how to use game guide or slow motion. Maybe I bought the wrong card...
     
    Last edited by Bryon15, Jan 11, 2019
  9. lpoolm

    lpoolm GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i am trying to use this card to install cfw on an old 3ds but the button sequence start/select/x with the magnet attached does not work?
    i have used it a few times on new 3ds without issue
    does anyone know the correct button combo?
     
  10. Esjay131

    Esjay131 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Start+Select+X+Power
    Make sure your magnet is placed properly.
     
  11. lpoolm

    lpoolm GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yer
    tried that but screen stays off but still boots, remove magnet and it comes on at home screen?
     
  12. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,915
    Country:
    Germany
    @Bryon15 The R4i Gold Plus in this motion sickness inducing video is a different flashcart than R4i Gold 3DS Plus. Yeah, I know. It’s really stupid how many different carts use the name “R4”.

    @lpoolm The button combination is the same on any 3DS model. Failing of ntrboot can have multiple reasons and therefore is hard to “debug” as the result is the same for each reason: ntrboot does not work.
    Only the process of elimination can help.
    • It seems to be a bit harder to do it on the old models. Hold START+SELECT+(X)+Power for some seconds and release “Power” first. This gave me the best results on O3DSXL.
    • Make sure the 3DS stays in sleep mode, when you press buttons for testing purposes while Home Menu is loaded.
    • Check if you flipped the switch correctly to “N”
    • Flip the switch to “D” and see if the cartridge is detected each time you put it in (contact issues?)
    • Make sure the SD-card is formatted FAT32, 32kb cluster size and SafeB9SInstaller is renamed to boot.firm on the root of the SD.
    • Also try a different SD no matter if everything seems correct on your main SD.
    Unfortunately some similar cases here on GBAtemp remained unsolved. Everything seemed right and yet it did not work because of: ???
     
  13. Bryon15

    Bryon15 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    United States
    After playing around with this, I like the SuperCard dstwo a lot better. It has a much better UI, 4 save state slots, can turn on and off cheat codes in game instead of having to exit out of the game, it has a game guide and slow motion feature.

    The only thing the R4i gold 3ds plus has over the supercard dstwo is it doesn't drain the battery as fast. That's literally it.
     
  14. Isso_Non_Ecxiste

    Isso_Non_Ecxiste GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    Brazil
    hello guys, i used 2 test the soft-reset sometimes, and so... i used 2 find a problem with it.
    i used it like this ( B+Y+Touch ) [at least i think lmao]
    and after using few times, i decided 2 move some roms in my R4's SD to my computer, and the rom i used 2 use that soft-reset could not be copied properly, a message appeared sayin something that i dont remember very well... since that, i never used soft-reset again...

    note: my SD was not corrupted, it is a brand new one, i already tested it several times and everything worked fine (i understand a monstrous little of programmin) also, there were no bad sectors in it, like i said, it's brand new and the problem only ocurred in the game i used the soft-reset thing.

    edit: my sd is *sandisk ultra 16GB* and i formatted it to its defaults (8192 bytes, i think...)
     
    Last edited by Isso_Non_Ecxiste, Feb 11, 2019
  15. ninfas

    ninfas Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Just a quick question. Can I use this card to play US, PAL and Jap DS backups games on a Japanese ds lite?

    Will there be any problems with japanese menus/language on the ds lite?
     
  16. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,915
    Country:
    Germany
    DS software and DS-(Phat/Lite) consoles have no region lock. This means flashcarts for .nds ROMs are also not region locked. ⟹ No problems using any .nds ROM with a flashcart on any DS system.

    Just one thing: There is no such thing as “PAL” games on the DS. Say “EUR” instead. PAL is color encoding format for analogue TV. However: it does make sense when talking about PAL games on (older) TV-consoles.
     
  17. Ziggy007

    Ziggy007 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all, I purchased the R4i Gold 3DS Plus, and did the standard "D" setup with the 1.64 ver wood kernal, I play alot of pokemon games , all versions. The setup I put on the card won't play the Pokemon Black 2 or White2 roms, everything else fine so far. It won't load them in either my 3DS or my DSI xl. When I try to start them I get "white "loading" tag that turns to red "loading tag after a short time. How do I fix this issue? Thank you for your efforyts! :nds::bow::unsure:
     
  18. Rj.MoG

    Rj.MoG GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    You AP patch it, and people need to stop recommending this garbage card. It’s complete trash and breaks easily
     
  19. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,625
    Country:
    Canada
    what one is what you would tell people to get ahold of?
     
  20. Traveller777

    Traveller777 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Review],