[Review] R4i Gold 3DS Plus

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by el_ssbb_boy, Nov 4, 2017.

  1. Hunter

    Hunter i'ma stuffup the board

    Former Staff
    8
    Nov 20, 2003
    Australia
    Melbourne, Australia
    do normal DS games work,

    if not, or you havnt got one to try,

    try this.... https://3ds.hacks.guide/troubleshooting#dsi--ds-functionality-is-broken-after-completing-the-guide
     
  2. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    I haven't got a normal DS game to try, but I followed the guide in that link, which didn't help unfortunately.
     
  3. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAPerm

    Member
    7
    Nov 30, 2008
    United States
    Aptos, California
    I had a similar problem. After I reflashed the latest 3ds kernel it worked on ds Lite, DSi, and 3ds. I used the upgrade patch from aug6,2013. It’s the latest version in the “upgrade patch area” here. at least, this is what worked for me.
     
  4. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    The patch says its only for R4i Gold. Does it also work for R4i Gold Plus?
     
  5. WubstahWulf

    WubstahWulf Member

    Newcomer
    1
    May 11, 2017
    Netherlands
    Its the same Exact card the only main difference is that the plus version has a switch so i wouldn't know why it would not work
     
  6. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Alright, just wanted to be sure before I started messing with the firmware. I will give it a try later today.

    Update: So I installed the patch successfully, but unfortunately the problem persists. I still get a black screen on my new 3DS XL, while it works fine on my DS Lite. I really have no idea what could be wrong at this point.
     
    Last edited by peter88, Apr 18, 2018
  7. tedmg091309131

    tedmg091309131 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Feb 17, 2016
    United States
    I seem to remember that Luma isn't compatible with the DS mode of some 3ds cards. This might be what is causing the problem if you have Luma installed.
     
    Last edited by tedmg091309131, Apr 18, 2018
  8. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I installed homebrew on my 3DS a couple of years ago and I havent updated Luma since then, so there may be some compatibility issues. I will try updating everything and see if that helps.
     
  9. Hunter

    Hunter i'ma stuffup the board

    Former Staff
    8
    Nov 20, 2003
    Australia
    Melbourne, Australia
    turn off your 3ds, hold select and power it on,
    what version of Luma does it display if any?
     
  10. Technicmaster0

    Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    8
    Oct 22, 2011
    Gambia, The
    It was just the stargate
     
  11. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Its version 6.6, so its been quite a while since it was updated. I tried running the luma updater app, but it closes itself after trying to update and throws an unknown error.
     
  12. Hunter

    Hunter i'ma stuffup the board

    Former Staff
    8
    Nov 20, 2003
    Australia
    Melbourne, Australia
    follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s and this will upgrade your to 9.0
     
  13. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Will do. Thanks for all the help, it is much appreciated!

    Update: This fixed the problem, thanks everyone! To summarize, following this guide and updating Luma3DS to version 9.2 fixed the problem. I guess there are some compatibility issues with running DS content for older versions of LUMA3DS.
     
    Last edited by peter88, Apr 18, 2018
  14. KnucklesOwnsGC

    KnucklesOwnsGC Nintendo Gamer 4 Life

    Newcomer
    2
    Jun 6, 2009
    United States
    San Diego
    I recently acquired an R4i Gold 3DS plus and am experiencing the same issue. 3DS games load up no problem via .cia files using the insaller, but when I try to boot my R4 in DS mode to play DS games I just get a black screen and then the system menu reboots itself.

    I have boot9strap installed and have Luma version 9.0 and am still experiencing this problem. Should I go ahead and follow the guide you used to update Luma even though I already have boot9strap installed and have the latest version? Well I have version 9.0 instead of 9.2 as you said, I wonder if that would make a difference. I'm hesistant to follow that guide as I already completed most of those steps when installing the NTRbootHax and wouldn't want to risk bricking the 3ds.

    Is it safe to complete those steps without risking my console? Is it even necessary? I am wondering if the version of Luma I am using is the reason my R4 can't load into DS mode, or if it's something else entirely. Any info is appreciated :)
     
  15. peter88

    peter88 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 18, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Try updating Luma, I can't say if it will work for you, but following that guide fixing my problem.
     
  16. Mysuke

    Mysuke Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Mar 9, 2017
    Brazil
    What's this "3DS Setup" on my card settings? I clicked on it by mistake but it didn't seems to do anything, should i be worried?
     
  17. tranfeer

    tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    3
    May 23, 2010
    Australia
    No,there is no need to worry about it.
    It's for r4i gold deluxe.
     
    Mysuke likes this.
  18. UsualNoise

    UsualNoise GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Jan 7, 2009
    United States
    Hi - I have the same issue. Just got a R4i Gold 3DS+ and it gives a black screen when I select it from the main menu. Have current version of Luma, so I don't know what else I might be missing. Any ideas? Is it possible that this card with the Wood firmware is not recognized as a valid DS cart? I can't think of anything else it might be.

    Just for reference, I also have a SuperCard DSTwo that works fine; wanted to switch to the R4i for better battery life.
     
    Last edited by UsualNoise, May 11, 2018
  19. UsualNoise

    UsualNoise GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Jan 7, 2009
    United States
    So I solved my problem. I downloaded the Wood .rar file from R4i's website, unzipped and copied the contents to the root of the SD card. Surprise, it worked. Would be nice to have some instructions indicating you need specific files on the SD card to run properly, but hopefully this helps someone else.
     
  20. L0ST5ILVER

    L0ST5ILVER Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 4, 2018
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, sorry if this is a stupid question, but are all the places listed at the bottom of this thread to buy this item reliable? Because if any are scammy then obviously I'd like to know in advance. x3
    I don't want to put in details and buy stuff through websites I've never used before, you see.
    -L0ST
     
Loading...