ROM Hack [Release] PS1 Forwarder Creator

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
WARNING: NEW 3DS ONLY
OLD 3DS IS TOO WEAK TO EMULATE PS1 AT PLAYABLE SPEEDS


ps1fc.png

Current version: 1.7.8
PCSX-Rearmed version: Nov 27, 2020 nightly (commit 4bc5e35)
v1.7.8
- updated pcsx-rearmed core to nightly nov 27 (commit 4bc5e35).
- added new core setting "threaded rendering" to the emulator options menu.

v1.7.7
- updated pcsx-rearmed core to nightly sep 10 (commit 2791420).
- added the new core setting "hi-res downscaling" to the emulator options menu.
- adjusted presets to be less aggressive based on the optimization the core has received.
- adjusted retroarch settings to use core aspect ratio.
- fixed strange behavior of the banner preview if windows dpi settings wasn't 100%.
- changed autohotkey script compilation to 64bit (32bit systems were never supported to begin with because makerom.exe is 64bit only).

v1.7.6
- adjusted smdh flags to make ps1 cia's unable to run on old 3ds (new 3ds exclusive flag).
- fixed chd creation.

v1.7.5
- updated pcsx-rearmed core to nightly mar 3 (commit 8fda5dd).
- added new emulator option to adjust the newly added cd access method option.
- adjusted retroarch autosave interval to 60 seconds (it was disabled before).
- moved core version to a edit box for easy visibility.

v1.7.4
- updated pcsx-rearmed core to nightly feb 21 (commit 3eb0739).
- inform which specific bios is being used if more than 1 is present.
- indicate specific core version (that way I can update the core independently from the forwarder creator).

v1.7.3
- i'm dumb and broke cia creation for pbp, hopefully it's fixed now.

v1.7.2
- reworked sbi support, it should work with single disc pbp now.
- removed debug message used to test sbi support (oops).

v1.7.1
- added chd support.
- exposed more emulator options.
- added emulation settings presets.
- added sbi support (for libcrypt games).
- show touch buttons is now enabled by default.
- clean temporary files immediately after using them to reduce free space needed to create large cias.
- updated 3dstool and makerom.
- also removed ctrtool (not needed anymore).

v1.7
- fixed psxonpsp660.bin bios detection.
- and the hle bios too.
- adjusted smdh flags to hide the "save backup data" option on the 3ds menu as it isn't supported.
- "core disk options" was still being displayed when navigating the menu, changed to "change disc".
- changed "open/close disc tray" to "open/close lid".
- removed option to set circlepad as dpad.
- allow remapping controls from the forwarder itself.
- added touch buttons to compensate for the missing L3/R3 buttons.
- added optional bottom screen image to show touch buttons.
- slight adjust to the banner sound.

v1.6
- initial release

Description:
With this tool you'll be able to make independent Retroarch cias for your favorite PS1 games using the PCSX-Rearmed core without having to install Retroarch or anything besides the generated cia.

Usage:
Only PBP and CHD files are supported, there are some emulator options you can change.
A bios is not required, but is highly recommended.
To use a bios you need to copy the bios file in the same folder as this program.
Compatible bios files are:
psxonpsp660.bin
scph101.bin
scph5501.bin
scph7001.bin
scph1001.bin

If you copy more than one bios file, the previous list shows the priority order.

There are some quick presets which can help if you don't know how to tweak the emulator options:
Quality: Makes no sacrifices and provides full quality while trying to speed things at least a little. Simple 2D games should run fine.
Safe: Good middle ground between speed and quality, only makes the necessary sacrifices to ensure good compatibility and speed.
Fast: Sacrifices some quality to run fast but not going too far. Most games should run well with this preset.
Turbo: Things start to get ugly here, but at least the games run fast, right?
Max Speed: Doesn't care about quality at all, speed is all that matters.

If you enable the second memory card this will be created in the sdmc:/retroarch/forwarders folder and will be shared among the games, this is useful for games that can use other games save files (like Resident Evil 2 if you prefer to have the Leon and Claire discs separated).

Games that have Libcrypt copy protection will need SBI files if aren't patched. If you put your SBI file alongside the game, the creator will detect it and add it automatically (indicated by the "+ Single SBI" next to the selected game name) as long as it has the same name as the game.
If the game is a multidisc PBP you have to append an underscore and the number of disc the SBI file corresponds to at the end (e.g. if the PBP is named "Final Fantasy IX (EUR).pbp" the SBI files should be named "Final Fantasy IX (EUR)_1.sbi", "Final Fantasy IX (EUR)_2.sbi", etc...). You'll know if the creator detected your SBI's if it says "+ Multi SBI" next to the selected game name.

Key mapping:
The buttons are assigned as follow by default, they can be changed (controller type cannot be changed and still needs to be set in the creator):
PS1 Cross = 3DS B
PS1 Circle = 3DS A
PS1 Square = 3DS Y
PS1 Triangle = 3DS X
PS1 L1 = 3DS L
PS1 R1 = 3DS R
PS1 L2 = 3DS ZL
PS1 R2 = 3DS ZR
PS1 L3 = 3DS Left Touch
PS1 R3 = 3DS Right Touch
PS1 Start = 3DS Start
PS1 Select = 3DS Select

The 3DS touchscreen contains 2 extra buttons at the top left and top right, if you touch top center both touch buttons will be pressed at the same time.
You can disable the option Show Touchscreen buttons in the creator to turn off the bottom screen. The touch buttons will still be there.


FAQ:
Q: Why only PBP and CHD?
A: PBP files are compressed and can store more than one disc. CHD has enhanced compression, but it lack multidisc support.

Q: How do I create PBP files?
A: You can use PSX2PSP, Impaler PSX or POPSConv, the internet is full of tutorials about how to use those programs. POPSConv can't create multidisc PBP files though.

Q: How do I create CHD files?
A: You have to use chdman which is part of MAME, there are tutorials of how to do it on the internet.

Q: How do I change discs?
A: Tap the touchscreen to open the emulator menu and go to the Change Disc option, once there open the lid, change the disc number and close the lid.

Q: Hey, the Change Disc option isn't there.
A: If the option is missing then the PBP you used only has a single disc.

Q: What is the difference between analog and dualshock?
A: analog refers to the PlayStation Analog Joystick (SCPH-1110) or the Dual Analog Controller (SCPH-1150 or SCPH-1180) with the green led lit (Flighstick mode), while dualshock refers to the DualShock Controller (SCPH-1200) or the Dual Analog Controller with the red led lit.

Q: The option to change controller type is missing in the Controls menu.
A: That can only be changed in the creator.

Q: <insert game name> doesn't run well.
A: Not every game is gonna run full speed, refer to this thread for the compatibility list and advice about how to get better performance.

Q: The game doesn't boot at all and kicks me back to the home menu.
A: Official PBP's from PSN don't work. Try creating your own PBP's.

Q: The game controls don't respond.
A: You set PSX CPU Clock is too low. Try a higher number.
 
Last edited by Sakitoshi, , Reason: new version and core
D

Deleted User

Guest
Thank you for doing this! The Retroarch menu is a hassle to use.
Finally, I can play the PSX Lunar Silver Star on the go!:yay3ds:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jayro

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
I'm trying to make a cia for Final Fantasy 9, and it gets halfway through the "creating banner" part, then a popup appears telling me...

SOMETHING WENT WRONG!
ERROR 0x03
[OK]
does the tools\assets_ps1 folder looks like this?
upload_2019-10-19_16-50-21.png

are the images there and the ps1.wav file visible/audible?
 

chandlercomicman

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
The Interwebs
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
200
Country
Canada
I would try different banner until you find one working. I built a Final Fantasy 9 cia not too long ago.
I used a picture from gamefaq. https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/ps/197338-final-fantasy-ix/images
does the tools\assets_ps1 folder looks like this?

are the images there and the ps1.wav file visible/audible?
it seems the ps1.wav file is broken. I checked the rar file, and it's 0kb in there as well. Ill try redownloading.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

it seems the ps1.wav file is broken. I checked the rar file, and it's 0kb in there as well. Ill try redownloading.
it's STILL 0kb. any possibility you could dm me the file?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
it seems the ps1.wav file is broken. I checked the rar file, and it's 0kb in there as well. Ill try redownloading.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


it's STILL 0kb. any possibility you could dm me the file?
if your download is corrupt then most likely more files got broken.
I just checked both links and both download fine, try downloading from the alternative link and/or using other browser.
also your antivirus could be giving a false positive.
 

chandlercomicman

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Age
18
Location
The Interwebs
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
200
Country
Canada
if your download is corrupt then most likely more files got broken.
I just checked both links and both download fine, try downloading from the alternative link and/or using other browser.
also your antivirus could be giving a false positive.
It turns out it was just my laptop being stupid. I extracted it using my phone and now it works fine.
 

ramon5296

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
20
Country
United States
the program isn't picking up the bios i place in the folder. i've tried several different ones now and it still says it's using HLE
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
the program isn't picking up the bios i place in the folder. i've tried several different ones now and it still says it's using HLE
I placed mine into the PS1 Forwarder Creator folder.
 

Attachments

  • copy.jpg
    copy.jpg
    38.5 KB · Views: 725

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
the program isn't picking up the bios i place in the folder. i've tried several different ones now and it still says it's using HLE
it seems that I made an error with the psxonpsp660.bin bios.
the gui doesn't show that it detects it, but if you build the cia it will use it anyway.
I've been working on the next version, it will be fixed next release.
 

Sakitoshi

GBAtemp Official Lolimaster
OP
Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
2,240
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
behind a keyboard or a gamepad
Website
sakiheru.blogspot.com
XP
2,648
Country
Chile
Great tool, thanks! I looked into the emulator options you set, is there a reason for specifically choosing 50 for the PSX CPU clock speed? I checked out another thread on this and it seems they recommend 55 for NTSC and 46 for PAL.

https://www.reddit.com/r/PlaystationClassic/comments/aa2d5q/finding_the_optimal_clock_speed/
no reason. is the default value for 3ds on retroarch.
the default value for other platforms is 57 which (afaik) closely matches the exact ps1 clock speed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMario2011
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Ophelia_Later @ Ophelia_Later: good night