ROM Hack [Release] PicrossE9 ENG translation

Vulpes-Vulpeos

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Украина
Website
Vulpes-Vulpeos.deviantart.com
XP
1,544
Country
Ukraine
banner.png


This is full english translation of Picross E9. Somehow I managed to forget to upload it here.
UI translation was ported from Picross E8.

It's very strange picross. It shares same picrosses for regular and mega mode.

How to install:
- Unpack archive and copy "00040000001D5300" folder into "Luma" -> "Titles" folder
* To get translated banner you need to extract and rebuild game cia.
* Save file with opened bonus puzzles and instructions how to hex-edit your save file (thanks to HelpTheWretched).

Thanks to:
- Sidier from Fan Translators Int. Discord server for help with some picross names.
- MetLob for AutoDUMP and plugin for Jupiter IdxRes_*.dat files

screenshots.jpg

Other translated Picross games:
- Pictlogica Final Fantasy
- Club Nintendo Picross Plus.
- Club Nintendo Picross (WIP).
 

Attachments

  • Picross_E9_T-ENG_14_03_2020_layerdfs_patch.zip
    597.4 KB · Views: 348
  • banner files.zip
    118.5 KB · Views: 268
Last edited by Vulpes-Vulpeos,

Xboxster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2007
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
226
Country
United States
Just my luck, I find this thread just after finishing the game.

Out of curiosity, does this look at Picross e/e2/e3 USA save files for unlocking additional puzzles, or would it still look at the JPN versions?
 

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,025
Country
Canada
Awesome, I figured they had moved on to the Picross X series after E8.

So I'm assuming you've found or written tools to work with JTEX files?
 

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,025
Country
Canada
Out of curiosity, does this look at Picross e/e2/e3 USA save files for unlocking additional puzzles, or would it still look at the JPN versions?
Here's a save file with the bonus puzzles unlocked. VV may want to mention this in the top post because the file will also reset all your puzzle progress, but I included instructions on how to avoid that (it's a simple hex edit).
 

Attachments

  • PE9bonus.zip
    888 bytes · Views: 246

wad11656

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
630
Country
United States
I can't figure out how to import all.dat save files into my 3DS. I tried JKSM and CheckPoint but don't see any "Import" options to import the all.dat

Do you know how to import the all.dat savefile into the 3DS? (I'm atually trying to import my Pictologica Final Fantasy all.dat file but I think it's the same process for either game)
 
Last edited by wad11656,

Vulpes-Vulpeos

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Украина
Website
Vulpes-Vulpeos.deviantart.com
XP
1,544
Country
Ukraine
I can't figure out how to import all.dat save files into my 3DS. I tried JKSM and CheckPoint but don't see any "Import" options to import the all.dat

Do you know how to import the all.dat savefile into the 3DS? (I'm atually trying to import my Pictologica Final Fantasy all.dat file but I think it's the same process for either game)

1. Launch the game.
2. Launch JKSM and backup game save data.
3. Go to JKSM folder on sd card and find game folder there.
4. Create a new folder and copy your save file in it.
5. Launch JKSM and select the game.
6. Select save file you need and press Y to restore this save file.
 

wad11656

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
630
Country
United States
1. Launch the game.
2. Launch JKSM and backup game save data.
3. Go to JKSM folder on sd card and find game folder there.
4. Create a new folder and copy your save file in it.
5. Launch JKSM and select the game.
6. Select save file you need and press Y to restore this save file.

Ooh, I've only used Checkpoint for save management. I had no idea JKSM used all.dat just like Citra does. That's convenient. Thanks!
 

Borfie

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
13
Country
United States
I made an account JUST to say thank you for this and the other translations! I love this series and I'm glad that there was someone who cared enough to translate the last games we didn't yet have in English.

Here's a save file with the bonus puzzles unlocked. VV may want to mention this in the top post because the file will also reset all your puzzle progress, but I included instructions on how to avoid that (it's a simple hex edit).
Could you possibly tell what you did in order to unlock these in other games? My copies of the other E games are all in different regions, and I've never been successful in finding a way to unlock them.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vulpes-Vulpeos

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,025
Country
Canada
Could you possibly tell what you did in order to unlock these in other games? My copies of the other E games are all in different regions, and I've never been successful in finding a way to unlock them.

Sorry for the delay, I don't log in here too much.
As far as I remember, the other games all unlock their bonus puzzles the same way. Their save files may be different sizes, but the values you need to change are right there at the end.

If you'd like me to double-check and get the absolutely certain values, I can do that soon.
 

HelpTheWretched

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,025
Country
Canada
Okay, I've double-checked and it's the same process for each game. Go to the last 5 bytes of all.dat and change the first 3 of those to 01.

e4: 0x597-0x599
e5: 0x693-0x695
e6: 0x8AF-0x8B1
e7 & e8: 0x913-0x915
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vulpes-Vulpeos

HaloEffect17

Hiya!
Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
1,297
Trophies
1
XP
2,312
Country
Canada
Sorry to bump, but is it normal if there is now like a 5-10 sec load time black screen when entering Picross and after completing a puzzle to get back to the menu? Before I added this patch, the load times were faster so I assume the patches slow it down a bit?
 

Vulpes-Vulpeos

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Украина
Website
Vulpes-Vulpeos.deviantart.com
XP
1,544
Country
Ukraine
Sorry to bump, but is it normal if there is now like a 5-10 sec load time black screen when entering Picross and after completing a puzzle to get back to the menu? Before I added this patch, the load times were faster so I assume the patches slow it down a bit?
Yes, it is normal. To get faster loading speeds you need to rebuild .cia file.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HaloEffect17
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: i'm always writing little scripts and tools to make my life easier or to allow me to be lazier