Homebrew [Release] fastboot3DS - open source bootloader / chainloader

newbie_3ds

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 5, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
89
Country
Cyprus
My sysnand is on 9.0 im planning not to update my sysnand and use an emunand. Will fastboot3ds work with GW emunand? my emunand is on 11.7 can i copy gw emunand to sysnand or leave sysnand to 9.0 and just use fastboot3ds?
 

SirNapkin1334

Renound Aritst
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
1,665
Trophies
1
XP
975
Country
United States
My sysnand is on 9.0 im planning not to update my sysnand and use an emunand. Will fastboot3ds work with GW emunand? my emunand is on 11.7 can i copy gw emunand to sysnand or leave sysnand to 9.0 and just use fastboot3ds?
It will probably work, but as others have pointed out, it's not recommended. If you want to pirate stuff, get FreeShop. It's much easier. Or, if you don't want it, download a CIA or get a QR cough cough iso site
 

jimmyj

Official founder of altariaism. Copyright jimmyj
Member
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
1,485
Trophies
1
Location
Hyrule
XP
1,632
Country
United Kingdom
I want to compile fastboot3ds but I'm missing the requirements, can someone compile them and send them to me?
 

Mark McDonut

GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
855
Trophies
1
XP
2,228
Country
United States
Last edited by Mark McDonut,

jimmyj

Official founder of altariaism. Copyright jimmyj
Member
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
1,485
Trophies
1
Location
Hyrule
XP
1,632
Country
United Kingdom
What requirements do you need? I did mine a few weeks ago and still have the files on a spare SD card so I can probably help you.

there's also compiled binaries in the OP - https://github.com/derrekr/fastboot3DS/releases
I want to compile it to modify it for personal reasons, and when I compile this on linux,i get a linux build,but I need a windows build and I can't get it to compile since I'm missing gcc,and don't really want to install it https://github.com/derrekr/ctr_firm_builder
 

Mark McDonut

GBATemp's Resident Ghostbuster
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
855
Trophies
1
XP
2,228
Country
United States
I want to compile it to modify it for personal reasons, and when I compile this on linux,i get a linux build,but I need a windows build and I can't get it to compile since I'm missing gcc,and don't really want to install it https://github.com/derrekr/ctr_firm_builder

Oh I see, that's a bit more advanced than I could help with, sorry man, I thought you were just trying to get it installed.
 

d0k3

3DS Homebrew Legend
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
2,786
Trophies
1
XP
3,896
Country
Germany
I want to compile it to modify it for personal reasons, and when I compile this on linux,i get a linux build,but I need a windows build and I can't get it to compile since I'm missing gcc,and don't really want to install it https://github.com/derrekr/ctr_firm_builder
You want to compile fastboot3ds but you don't want to install GCC (aka the thing that compiles)? Good luck with that. The firm builder alone won't allow you to compile.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,947
Country
United States
I want to compile it to modify it for personal reasons, and when I compile this on linux,i get a linux build,but I need a windows build and I can't get it to compile since I'm missing gcc,and don't really want to install it https://github.com/derrekr/ctr_firm_builder

Assuming Debian/ubuntu/Linux mint. Can't help you with the other family forks.

In the Linux terminal, to get GCC to work you need to first:

Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential

If you get permission or access denied error messages when compiling, don't bother raising your user privilege to root. What you have to do for individual files is:

Code:
chmod +x <name of your script, program>

Do not nilly willy chmod +x everything as you can mess up your desktop OS super easily. Only incrementally add needed files in rinse and repeat compile runs.

Have fun with that beast because IMO, Linux = teh suk when something does and will break on you. Feels real bad, lmao.

(If possible in getting away with it, use a bootable USB flash drive).
 

SirNapkin1334

Renound Aritst
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
1,665
Trophies
1
XP
975
Country
United States
Assuming Debian/ubuntu/Linux mint. Can't help you with the other family forks.

In the Linux terminal, to get GCC to work you need to first:

Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential

If you get permission or access denied error messages when compiling, don't bother raising your user privilege to root. What you have to do for individual files is:

Code:
chmod +x <name of your script, program>

Do not nilly willy chmod +x everything as you can mess up your desktop OS super easily. Only incrementally add needed files in rinse and repeat compile runs.

Have fun with that beast because IMO, Linux = teh suk when something does and will break on you. Feels real bad, lmao.

(If possible in getting away with it, use a bootable USB flash drive).
Problem with USB flash drives, they aren’t persistent. And trying to make them persistent, well, they have terrible write speeds so it’s a terrible idea...
 

jimmyj

Official founder of altariaism. Copyright jimmyj
Member
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
1,485
Trophies
1
Location
Hyrule
XP
1,632
Country
United Kingdom
You want to compile fastboot3ds but you don't want to install GCC (aka the thing that compiles)? Good luck with that. The firm builder alone won't allow you to compile.
ah so gcc is required by fastboot3ds? didn't realize.
 

d0k3

3DS Homebrew Legend
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
2,786
Trophies
1
XP
3,896
Country
Germany
In case you haven't noticed yet: fastboot3ds v1.1 stable is released.


fastboot3DS v1.1 beta -> v1.1 stable changelog:
  • Added option to change splash duration
  • Further improvements to overall system stability and other minor adjustments have been made to enhance the user experience

fastboot3DS v1.0 stable -> v1.1 stable changelog:

  • Added support for custom splashscreens (Luma splashcreens work) with customizable duration
  • Added support for FIRM from FCRAM (A9NC support)
  • Added extended FCRAM support on N3DS
  • Added Bootrom / OTP dumper via SuperHax
  • Vastly improved boot times thanks to improved SDMMC.c driver
  • Improved performance of NAND backups and restores thanks to improved SDMMC.c driver
  • Tons of under-the-hood improvements and smaller bugfixes
  • Further improvements to overall system stability and other minor adjustments have been made to enhance the user experience

fastboot3DS is pretty much feature complete. If you have any suggestions about missing features please open an issue or contact us via other means.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,947
Country
United States
I've been planning to try out FastBoot3DS for testing purposes and to familiarize myself with it.

How does one reverts back to boot9strap? Does one uses SafeB9SInstaller or manually overwrite some type of FIRM file?
 

SCOTT0852

shiny rubber creature
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
1,140
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
XP
1,133
Country
United States
How does one reverts back to boot9strap? Does one uses SafeB9SInstaller or manually overwrite some type of FIRM file?
I'm pretty sure you just run OpenFirmInstaller again, but you put the boot9strap folder's files from safeb9sinstaller in the ofi folder instead of the fb3ds ones.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Savior of the broken
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,034
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
39,651
Country
Antarctica
I've been planning to try out FastBoot3DS for testing purposes and to familiarize myself with it.

How does one reverts back to boot9strap? Does one uses SafeB9SInstaller or manually overwrite some type of FIRM file?
The same way you update B9S can be used to re-install B9S.
so are there any specific advantages to using this over b9s?
B9S is an exploit really only used to boot into one payload. This is bootlloader, so it has more features.
B9S is limited to just the boot.firm, FB3DS can is chainloader that can change the default payloads on the fly.
Fastboot has several basic features like NAND backup and now bootrom/OTP dumping without needing to boot into an another payload
Fastboot3DS can also boot on top of B9S, so you don't even have to install it to use it!
 
Last edited by The Catboy,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Eventhough the New 3DS XL is more powerful, I still feel like the DS Lite was a more polished system. It's a real shame that it never got an XL variant keeping the GBA slot. You'd have to go on AliExpress and buy an ML shell to give a DS phat the unofficial "DS Lite" treatment, and that's the best we'll ever get I'm afraid.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    The phat model had amazingly loud speakers tho.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    imagine not having hands, cringe
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ESPECIALLY for things I do to myself :sad:.. :tpi::rofl2: Or others :shy::blush::evil:
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SylverReZ if you could find a v5 DS ML you would have the best of both worlds since the v5 units had the same backlight brightness levels as the DS Lite unlockable with flashme
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but that's a long shot
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A woman with no arms and no legs was sitting on a beach. A man comes along and the woman says, "I've never been hugged before." So the man feels bad and hugs her. She says "Well i've also never been kissed before." So he gives her a kiss on the cheek. She says "Well I've also never been fucked before." So the man picks her up, and throws her in the ocean and says "Now you're fucked."
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    lmao
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    anyways, we need to re-normalize physical media

    if i didn't want my games to be permanent, then i'd rent them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, that why I try to buy all my games on disc, Xbox anyways. Switch games (which I pirate tbh) don't matter much, I stay offline 24/7 anyways.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I don't pirate them, I Use Them :mellow:. Like I do @BigOnYa 's couch :tpi::evil::rofl2:
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @BakerMan - you can still "own" digital media, arguably easier and better than physical since you can make copies and backups, as much as you like.

    The issue is DRM
  • cearp @ cearp:
    You can buy drm free games / music / ebooks, and if you keep backups of your data (like documents and family photos etc), then you shouldn't lose the game. but with a disk, your toddler could put it in the toaster and there goes your $60

    :rofl2:
  • cearp @ cearp:
    still, I agree physical media is nice to have. just pointing out the issue is drm
    cearp @ cearp: still, I agree physical media is nice to have. just pointing out the issue is drm