1. Fatalanus

    Fatalanus GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    Romania
    Ah thank you, Rinnegatamante. I'm testing it now.;)

    It works like a charm, now. Good job!!
    Retroarch detect the dsp option. It's time to experiment!! :P
     
  2. Stack3r

    Stack3r Shizuo Heiwajima
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    So just run this and itll dump dsp from a cartridge thats inserted? Or do i have to use braindump first then use this? Because i cant find the dsp file anywhere
     
  3. Twili

    Twili Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    If the DSP firmware is in code.bin of a ROM, can't we just search for DSP1 in code.bin to locate it? I wonder why there isn't progress with emulating sound if it's right there, or why it needs to be extracted...
     
    Last edited by Twili, Nov 20, 2015
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  4. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,112
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    The Citra devs have this hangup that DSP = copyrighted code or something.
     
    Last edited by zoogie, Nov 20, 2015
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  5. Twili

    Twili Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, you extract DSP1 to use it in homebrew. I'm mad, though, because people could have done this ever since there was a public solution for decrypting ROMs. Nobody said a word about or payed attention to this page:

    http://www.3dbrew.org/wiki/DSP_Binary

    Just find that in code.bin. :creep:
     
  6. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    Maybe if you read OP...
     
  7. TheCruel

    TheCruel Developer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,350
    Country:
    United States
    Well, DSP wasn't implemented in ctrulib until more recently, so it wouldn't have been useful.
     
  8. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19,816
    Country:
    Norway
    People hadn't figured out how to actually use the DSP, which was why everyone was using csnd (which is easier to use, but most things don't have access to it, so it was problematic.)
    It probably took some serious reverse engineering for that to be included in ctrulib.
     
  9. Twili

    Twili Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Where in libctru is the DSP functionality? I looked and couldn't find it.
     
  10. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,112
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    Twili likes this.
  11. Twili

    Twili Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    Now let's see Citra add sound support...
     
  12. Subtle Demise

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,288
    Country:
    United States
    This copyright bullshit needs to have limits put on it. You can't just make copyright claims on bits and pieces of a work, it's all or nothing, Nintendo. That's like someone making a claim on anything digital because the binary code present could be used to reconstruct one of their copyrighted works.
     
  13. Heran Bago

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Country:
    United States
    Would a .cia version be possible, or does it require hax 2.5?

    I can't run *hax at the moment. I put code.bin from a decrypted backup into /3ds and ran retroarch, but it doesn't do anything - no dspfirm.cdc file is created and I can't switch it to the dsp driver. Just can't get that dsp driver file.
     
  14. Jack_Sparrow
    This message by Jack_Sparrow has been removed from public view by T-hug, Dec 13, 2015, Reason: Image/meme post/no text.
    Dec 13, 2015
  15. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,917
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it needs *hax 2.5. since you can use .cia files you should check out https://github.com/yellows8/hblauncher_loader
     
  16. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    It requires 2.x haxs cause dsp firmware is dumped from the payload.
     
  17. Anubis

    Anubis GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Country:
    Portugal
    How exactly do you get code.bin?
     
  18. nyder

    nyder GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    474
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see this program on your site.
     
  19. tivu100

    tivu100 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,219
    Country:
    United States
    Go to Free Work tab. Download is under 3DS homebrew

    Same question: So I already dumped dspfirm.cdc. What should I do next to use it with RetroArch CIA?

    Let me know when you find out the solution !

    Edit: Just saw this is supposed to be the answer for my question:
    Still I don't get it. So the dspfirm.cdc is currently is in the 3DS folder (Patch SD root:\3DS\dspfirm.cdc)

    How can I make Retroarch CIA to use this DSP firm? I tried to go to Audio settings and DPS plugin and navigate to 3DS folder but retroArch couldn't recognize this as plugin.


    Update: Found the explanation how to use this plugin for retroarch from this post https://gbatemp.net/threads/retroar...ly-builds-included.400913/page-6#post-5764286


    New question: is this dspfirm is unique for each 3DS or it is the same?
     
    Last edited by tivu100, Jan 5, 2016
    NightsOwl likes this.
  20. nyder

    nyder GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    474
    Country:
    United States
    thanks!
     
  21. weatMod

    weatMod GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,975
    Country:
    United States
    i think you still need the dsp dump even if you are using hax 2.5

    i think that this is bullshit , i am using hax 2.5 and CHMM2 still does not work for me

    i still get sound module error code

    i am using rxtools on N3ds xl US with 9.5 rx-e emunand
    install the cia of CHMM2 it don't work at all have to go to HBL in emunand, launch menuhax installer, delete menuhax (on emunand)
    then CHMM will initialize after pressing power but always throws back sound module error

    CHMM2 2.5 should never have been released or not for CIA or with a disclaimer or something
    it not even worth all the aggravation and if you do eventually get it "working" the sound will not even loop , so it is really not worth it at all
    it should have been labeled alpha or something, people should just stick to the 1st version of CHMM and wait till the next version ,unless they want to be beta testers, this one is WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaay too much trouble much more trouble than it is worth , too much aggravation for something as trivial as custom themes, i was happy just using the 1st version or even extdata tool
    this thing is a nightmare
     
    Last edited by weatMod, Jan 14, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Firmware, Dumper