Rate my rig for playing Left 4 Dead

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Hachibei, Dec 31, 2008.

Dec 31, 2008
  1. Hachibei
    OP

    Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Only interested in L4D, as that's pretty much the only PC game I want to play nowadays...everything else I can get on 360, lol.

    -AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ @2.6GHz
    -2GB RAM
    -Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
    -GeForce 8400 GS
    -1GB VRAM

    Yeah, it's not much, but do you think I play L4D online with medium-low settings?
     


  2. AbraCadvr

    Member AbraCadvr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Saint-Lin-Laurentides,Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
  3. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should be fine on medium-ish settings, you might be able to push it higher.
     
  4. Hachibei
    OP

    Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I used to go to that site, but found it unreliable after a few messed up tests.
     
  5. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    i suggest uping the ram. u can get 2gb of ram for like $25 CAD nowadays. dirt cheap
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    2GB of ram is plenty for that game. The Geforce 8400 GS isn't a card suitable for gaming, so it may give you problems. Then again Left 4 Dead isn't the most graphically intense game, so you could get away with it.
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Left 4 Dead

    System Requirements Lab Analysis

    these are Minimum specs recommended!


    CPU
    Recommended: Core 2 Duo

    CPU Speed
    Recommended: 2.4 GHz

    System RAM
    Recommended: 1 GB

    Operating System
    Recommended: Microsoft Windows XP / Vista / Vista64

    Video Card
    Recommended: Shader model 3.0, NVidia 7600, ATI X1600 or better

    Video Card Features - Minimum attributes of your Video Card Video RAM: Required - 128 MB

    Video Card 3D Acceleration: Required - Yes

    Video HW Transform & Lighting: Required - Yes

    Vertex Shader Ver.: Required - 3.0

    Pixel Shader Ver.: Required - 3.0

    Free Disk Space Recommended: 7.5gb
     
  8. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I play Left 4 Dead at
    2.66 GHz Pentium D
    1 Gig of Ram!!!!
    Overclocked 8600 GT


    Works without overclocking, but hey looks nicer. [​IMG]
     
  9. tyuno123

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I just ran the test, everything passed except for the RAM and the Graphic Card.It says I got 512 Ram but I actually have 1GB ram and the graphic card requires ATi radeon 9600 or later and I have Radeon 9550 but I got all the attributes required so will my rig be able to run L4D ?
     
  10. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably, if your graphics card is only a small step behind, you should just be able to run it.
     
  11. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Your graphics card has a big ? Id recommend at lest a 8500GT or more gaming. Plus what resolution are you planning on running it on ?
     
  12. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't trust Can you run it?
     
  13. Hachibei
    OP

    Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Glad someone else agrees with me.
     
  14. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon

    Hmmm, you should be fine on that resolution you see my cousin has the same specs as you but with a 8500GT and on win XP service pack 3, he is playing it at a res of 800X600 with medium settings and he is getting good results! I really wish i could help you more but i usually buy all the fancy fancy stuff when it comes to PC gaming, however i dont think you should have a prob running left 4 dead on those spes but like a said before im just apprehensive about you GPU im not sure ill hceck it out for you
     
  15. link459

    Member link459 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    I run it on 1680x1050 on a P4 3.0GHz, 2GB RAM, ATI HD2600 512MB, all lowest at around 40 FPS. Your computer will run it fine.
     
  16. Taza

    Member Taza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Finland
    Will run it. You might have to cheap out on the settings, but that's all.

    Also, if it's a normal computer with a PCI-E slot, throwing 150 dollars towards a 9800GT will seriously boost your gaming power.
     
  17. shansoft

    Member shansoft GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    its going to be pretty bad for running that game, maybe with 20-30 fps.....
     
  18. raenef

    Member raenef GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
  19. Hachibei
    OP

    Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I've considered getting a new graphics card, but I'm not sure if my motherboard/case has enough space for one.

    Also, for those of you who keep telling me to run it through the "Systems Requirement Test", I did. The bar was maxed out. How's that for reliable?
     
  20. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    It should work pretty good if you ask me. My friend has it running on his computer at an enjoyable framerate and his computer is weaker than yours.

    Specs:
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
    1GB RAM
    Geforce 6600 256MB
     

Share This Page