Quick and Stupid Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by G2K, May 14, 2009.

May 14, 2009

Quick and Stupid Question by G2K at 4:33 PM (611 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. G2K
    OP

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for the stupidity, but my Wii bricked the day before BootMii came out, and I had to send it in.

    So how does BootMii work? Does it start up everytime your Wii starts? Do you have to hold reset like Preloader? Is there an option to autoboot the system menu?
     
  2. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
     
  3. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    Depends on your Wii.
    On your Wii you have boot 1 and boot 2
    If you have an older model there was a vulnerability in boot 2which enables would enable you to install Bootmii to it.
    You can also backup your NAND, Then if you were to have a full brick you could use boot 2 which would have bootmii on any fully recover boot 1 assuming you had backed it up to SD before. All newer wiis don't have this vulnerability as it was fixed.
    But you can still install Bootmii as an IOS and backup your NAND or boot the recovey or HB. But would not be 100% brickfree as you would still need boot1 working.
     
  4. G2K
    OP

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    So if your Wii is bricked and can't use boot1, but you have BootMii installed on boot2, how do you start it up?
     
  5. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
    Bootmii can be set to boot first then you just select either Wii system startup or HB if OK or go to the boot1 NAND restore options and restore or backit up to SD
     

Share This Page