Hardware Question related to RAM and Graphics Card

Scorpei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
1,295
Trophies
0
Website
scorpei.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
The type of ram your motherboard takes can indeed be any of the ones stated in the wikipedia article. What type you need (which will work in what combination) should be stated in your manual someplace. As for your video card quistion, are you sure you only have PCI slots? Not PCI-Express? What slot you have is pretty important deciding your video card. Mainly due to the fact that PCI-Express has a few different versions.
 

Prime

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,663
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Under your bed
Website
Visit site
XP
571
Country
The type of ram your motherboard takes can indeed be any of the ones stated in the wikipedia article. What type you need (which will work in what combination) should be stated in your manual someplace. As for your video card quistion, are you sure you only have PCI slots? Not PCI-Express? What slot you have is pretty important deciding your video card. Mainly due to the fact that PCI-Express has a few different versions.

i didn't get a Manual to tell me what type of DDR2 RAM it is. and I'm certain its PCI.

pcikq9.jpg
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Brazil
The type of ram your motherboard takes can indeed be any of the ones stated in the wikipedia article. What type you need (which will work in what combination) should be stated in your manual someplace. As for your video card quistion, are you sure you only have PCI slots? Not PCI-Express? What slot you have is pretty important deciding your video card. Mainly due to the fact that PCI-Express has a few different versions.


i didn't get a Manual to tell me what type of DDR2 RAM it is. and I'm certain its PCI.

pcikq9.jpg


Dude that GPU is integrated... You can't go by that. Is your PC a prebuilt? If so what Brand, and Model? Then we can find out if your PC has a PCI-E/AGP Slot.
 

XT Mercenary

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
53
Country
download this program http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

it'll give you information about your motherboard, ram etc.

since you have ddr2 it's very unlikely you have a motherboard with anything other than pci-X, in anycase once you find out which motherboard you have (this information will be on the mainboard tab in cpu z) google it and check the specs out, you should be able to find out what kind of expansion ports you have quite easily.
 

Prime

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,663
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Under your bed
Website
Visit site
XP
571
Country
I found out the RAM i have right now is "DDR2-667 (PC2-5300)"


EDIT: i went into the BIOS and in the second tab there was "Primary Video Adapter" beside it was "PCI" then when i click ENTER on it it came up with 3 options:

PCI
PCI-E
Onboard


Does this mean i can get a PCI-E graphics card then change the mode to PCI-E in the BIOS?!
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Brazil
I found out the RAM i have right now is "DDR2-667 (PC2-5300)"


EDIT: i went into the BIOS and in the second tab there was "Primary Video Adapter" beside it was "PCI" then when i click ENTER on it it came up with 3 options:

PCI
PCI-E
Onboard


Does this mean i can get a PCI-E graphics card then change the mode to PCI-E in the BIOS?!


Yep, means you can have a PCI, PCI-E or use the onboard video. How much money can you spend on a GPU? For around 40 though there aren't that many cards :S I'll let someone else recommend you something.
 

Prime

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,663
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Under your bed
Website
Visit site
XP
571
Country
I found out the RAM i have right now is "DDR2-667 (PC2-5300)"


EDIT: i went into the BIOS and in the second tab there was "Primary Video Adapter" beside it was "PCI" then when i click ENTER on it it came up with 3 options:

PCI
PCI-E
Onboard


Does this mean i can get a PCI-E graphics card then change the mode to PCI-E in the BIOS?!



Yep, means you can have a PCI, PCI-E or use the onboard video. How much money can you spend on a GPU? For around 40 though there aren't that many cards :S I'll let someone else recommend you something.

Up to £50 i can spend.
 

Prime

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,663
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Under your bed
Website
Visit site
XP
571
Country
Well anyone?.....can anyone recommend a good, under £50 PCI-E GPU?

I found my RAM on Play.com, £13 for 1GB. I'm going to get two.

and for a graphics card i was thinking: GeForce 7300GT

In regard of installing the card, i opened up my computer and found two slots for GPU's so i'm guessing thats PCI and PCI-E but which ones which?
 

Jiggah

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
1,223
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
279
Country
United States
PCI tend to be near the bottom and are usually white and align together in 3 or 2. The PCI-e are usually blue or black and longer sometimes there is a spacing between them for the smaller PCI-e ports i.e. PCI-e 1x.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    LEOtck? Who's he? Never 'erd of the las. :)
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I only show the mirror to people and you all can't stand what you're seeing
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    bunch of bullies
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Narcissistic Personality Disorder 101
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I think that's what you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Thanks for providing further evidence of my claim in a single comment. lol.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    pff\
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    You're a gaslighting narcissist. Everyone out to get you. You wont get professional help because you'll just chalk up their diagnosis as another conspiracy out to get you.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    leave me alone, I'm not going to engage with you anymore, bye
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    Motherfucker I was checked by a psychiatrist and there's nothing wrong with me
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    okay. Bye. Thought you were leaving anyway. Why are you still around? You already said goodbye to everyone here.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    so stop spurting your nonsense
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    lol. liar.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    knock it off now, both of you
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    yea you're just a mean bully
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    he SHOULD
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    and NOW
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    liar, loudmouth, cussing and swearing, all angry
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    ok. sorry. ill stop now. promise
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Sooo. How about Dune part 1 & 2? The cinematography is fantastic, but thats some of the most boring ass sci-fi Ive seen in my life.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    haven't seen both
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Im going to see the new Godzilla next week. Sure they aren't some cinematic masterpieces but the last few were all really great and fun popcorn flicks to see on the big screen.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    can't remember the last time I went to the cinemas
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Me neither, not precisely. I think the last one I went to was Top Gun Maverick
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Oh. Wait. I took my mom to see Elvis. I think that was the last time I went. I'll most likely see the new Planet of the Apes in a theater too.
    RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars: Oh. Wait. I took my mom to see Elvis. I think that was the last time I went. I'll most likely...