[Q] Took apart Switch, can't get it back together again; will Nintendo give me trouble?

Discussion in 'Switch - Console, Accessories & Hardware' started by Roxie Mika, Feb 1, 2018.

1. Roxie Mika
    OP

Roxie Mika Huh? Who, me?

Mar 14, 2015
    United States
    Bronx, NY
    So long story short, I took apart my Switch thinking I could replace a part on my own and for cheaper (it cracked); I couldn't.

I noticed NoA's policies said something to the effect of "we will not repair any device that is tampered with"; I'm hoping this refers specifically to software modifications and modchips and the like, but do you all think that Nintendo will give me any trouble over this, or should I lie to them and just say "oh it fell out of my hands onto a tile floor and fell to pieces" or something?
    Sounds unlikely, but certainly more plausibly deniable than just outright saying "HEY GUYS I THOUGHT I WAS A BETTER REPAIR TECHNICIAN THAN ALL OF YOU but it turns out I'm not please fix this", you know?

2. TheCyberQuake

TheCyberQuake Certified Geek

Dec 2, 2014
    United States
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    They won't fix it period. They definitely won't take it if you tell the truth, and it will be obvious you are lying if it comes partially disassembled instead of just broken. Even if they believed you they definitely wouldn't fix it under warranty, and are very unlikely to even attempt repair. They'll likely just get you to buy a new system

Memoir likes this.
  3. Memoir

Memoir Just a Memory

GBAtemp Patron
    Memoir is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Jun 24, 2007
    United States
    Somewhere, over there!
    This. You messed up. Just own up to it and cut your losses...

4. Beerus

Beerus Gbatemp's God Of Destruction

May 3, 2017
    Canada
    Universe 7
  5. Roxie Mika
    OP

Roxie Mika Huh? Who, me?

Mar 14, 2015
    United States
    Bronx, NY