PS1/2 PS1 Disc Swapping

loco365

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
So I've mastered the disc swap method in about 20 minutes, and I can get burned discs running. However, when I'm running a disc, that's where my problems are. I have an original Crash Bandicoot 2 disc, and a burned Final Fantasy VII Interactive Sampler disc. I can launch whatever on the disc, but between 10 and 30 seconds into any of the videos or the FFVII demo, the game suddenly skips a few frames, the PS1 tries to read the disc, then stops reading the disc and it stops spinning. I have 2 copies of the disc burned, one at 4x and one at 1x, and both of them have the same issue. What's causing it and how can I fix it?
 

loco365

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
I think you mastered the wrong disc swap method.

There are two possible swap time : before or after TOC reading.
When are you swapping? When the disc slow down or at around 1second after boot, just before the first logo appear on screen?
I am swapping when it slows down. I can try the other one, although I'll need to learn that one still.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,431
Country
France
I think you mastered the wrong disc swap method.

There are two possible swap time : before or after TOC reading.
When are you swapping? When the disc slow down or at around 1second after boot, just before the first logo appear on screen?


The correct swap method allows swap of game disc while playing (for example when you are asked to change disc number but can't save : Parasite eve, Chrono Cross, etc.), because it reads the content size of the new disc.

If you swap too late, it reads the content size (TOC) of the first/original disc and base the game access on it.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,431
Country
France
ok, so this is your problem.

I'll try to explain you how to do it, but it's very subtle.


Put an original
put a tape on the lid detector
place your finger gently around the disc, on the lens rails on the left, ready to swap
power ON, now listen and sense the vibration with your fingers. (well it's more a noise effect).


The lens is doing two moves:
One at boot (like the lens is moving to the correct position) and doing a grrzzgzzzgzz sound
One just after the first one (actually reading the TOC, making a slightly and fast "tic" noise).
When it's doing the TOC reading, you should sense it with your finger.
It's then too late :P

You have to swap just before the "tic" sound/touching effect.

it's usually happening right when you start hearing the first logo sound.

You might need few try to understand it.
Sometime the new inserted disc start spinning very fast, or even stop and start again. Don't worry, it happens and usually still work fine.


When you are in a swapping game (PE, or CCross), put an original, unstick-restick the lid detector and swap again with the same timing. if it doesn't work, just remove the tape and do it again.
 

loco365

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
Yeah. I'll give that one a try, although I've been getting "Please insert a PLAYSTATION CD-Rom" error when I try it. I think it's just bad timing. And now if I try removing the disc from the edges, the piece that holds the disc in the system comes off in the middle of the disc. I'll have to glue it back in place carefully.

I'm wondering if it's perhaps the model of PS1 I have.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,431
Country
France
There were different models.
I have a release date PS1 (SPHC100x), the piece which hold the disc has metallic balls.


If you can swap, you also have a first model.
They changed it few months later to a drive not working with swap method, but still with the SCPH1002 model in Europe.


Edit:
I just tested it and it still work.
Though the picture is making some slight horizontal waves, I guess my TV don't like Scart cables.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,431
Country
France
I didn't know SCPH900x could be swapped.
In Europe they fixed the swap method very early, some 1002 couldn't swap.


How did you swap with the broken part?
when you put it on the motor, it's keeping the disc in place correctly?
 

loco365

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
I didn't know SCPH900x could be swapped.
In Europe they fixed the swap method very early, some 1002 couldn't swap.


How did you swap with the broken part?
when you put it on the motor, it's keeping the disc in place correctly?
Yeah, I managed the double disc swap. As for the broken part, I need to glue it back in place. Or be very gentle when swapping to not remove that piece, by holding it down to stop it spinning and grasp the sides of the disc.
 

pyromaniac123

ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
2,006
Trophies
1
XP
1,742
Country
Have you considered installing a modchip? I would do it but I just use epsxe.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,431
Country
France
I hope you'll find and master the good timing.
Unless they changed the TOC reading moment on 900x. I think some consoles did double check, the second one being after the disc accelerate again.

Good luck.
 

loco365

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
Have you considered installing a modchip? I would do it but I just use epsxe.
I just got the PS1 yesterday, so no, I haven't.
I hope you'll find and master the good timing.
Unless they changed the TOC reading moment on 900x. I think some consoles did double check, the second one being after the disc accelerate again.

Good luck.
Well, I'll try toying with it and see what I produce.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,719
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,431
Country
France
TOC size alone is not what's important.

It all depends on the game you want to play.
Both Game track size (data) and Number of Audio tracks need to be taken in account.

For example, Tomb Raider 1 has 40+ total tracks.
But if you boot with a game with 650MB of single data track (biggest TOC size), then you won't get any audio tracks loaded, as the console initiated only one track.

If you use Tomb Raider as Boot disc, the console will think your swapped game has 40 tracks and you won't have any problem with tracks number (except one game which has more tracks).
I guess the data track length is important, so using tomb raider shouldn't be always recommended as it has a short data track.


That's why you should adapt the boot disc to the game you want to play.
You need a big game (650MB single track) for single tracked games, and a multi-tracks (like Tomb Raider) for other games with multi tracks.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But it doesn't have a speaker or battery.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Guess you could fit one in there.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The contacts are there, and the device already has charge control circuitry, but you have to buy and solder the battery yourself.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And that's too fiddly for ole' butterfingers over here.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Gimme a finished product please.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No rough edges either, I might hurt myself.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nah, I can do it within a few mins.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Well yes, I suppose you can, but I can't.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    If it has a USB port, then you could perhaps try connecting a power bank.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It has USB-C.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That should be alright.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well that was an owie hit my hand on the oven
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hope you're alright there
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I enjoy the pain
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Not weird at all
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who said I was normal
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I didn't ask
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's okay to not be normal, act natural
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ok just because you told me to
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's fair
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm still bloody waiting for my eBay item to arrive, still haven't because of the *fuck you middle finger* pay strikes.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Can imagine other people waiting for their Xmas gifts.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624