Hacking PS Vita FW 1.61

jellybeangreen2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
692
Trophies
0
XP
2,003
Country
United States
Hi guys,

I have a brand new OLED on origional firmware 1.61. I have used Henkaku. But wondering if there are any other better hacks to use since I'm still on such low firmware, instead of me just upgrading to 3.60. PS1 / PSP loading would be great, I have a 32GB cars which I'll buy a 64GB soon if I can load PS1 / PSP games from it. Your guys input would be great.

Thanks

JellyBean.
 

dkabot

Better With Others' Systems Than Their Own
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
1,027
Trophies
0
XP
563
Country
United States
3.18 is the "golden firmware" for anything not native (which is 3.60).

You can use ePSP CFW and TN-X for perfect PSP and PS1 gameplay.
Anything later either has no sound or sound problems on the PS1 side.

You'll need a PS3 to actually get anywhere though; you need to have a legit PSP game (or demo) and a specific PS1 game in order to run them.
 

retrofan_k

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
2,068
Trophies
1
Location
Caves
XP
2,360
Country
Belarus
Tbh, 3.60 is the way forward, as there won't be any back porting for while until someone else takes over the reigns once Henkaku's source is fully released. Imo, it's a no brainer to have native vita access, along with Vitamin to dump and decrypt retail titles, instead of having PSP kernel access. Buy a PSP for that, if it bothers you and wait till 3.60 PSP kernel access, as it's bound to happen sooner or later.
 

jellybeangreen2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
692
Trophies
0
XP
2,003
Country
United States
Tbh, 3.60 is the way forward, as there won't be any back porting for while until someone else takes over the reigns once Henkaku's source is fully released. Imo, it's a no brainer to have native vita access, along with Vitamin to dump and decrypt retail titles, instead of having PSP kernel access. Buy a PSP for that, if it bothers you and wait till 3.60 PSP kernel access, as it's bound to happen sooner or later.


Good idea. So how do I update from 1.61 to 3.60 and NOT 3.61? Thanks
 

Haider Raza

Alhumdulillah
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
1,465
Trophies
0
XP
564
Country
Pakistan
Henkaku works on lower firmware then 3.60!!!!? But someone told me that you need to update your vita to 3.60 to use henkaku. How is this possible?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

3.53 iirc.
The last FW to get TN-V or ARK.

It requires an exploitable PSP game from the PSN store I believe which Sony has patched so it's kinda useless.
My oled vita pch 1104 is on 3.52.
 

Haider Raza

Alhumdulillah
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
1,465
Trophies
0
XP
564
Country
Pakistan
Update to 3.60 and install HENkaku.
Then enter Molecularshell and press select.
That will bring up an FTP server so you can FTP over the games.
Then go to ux0:/ and select the game.vpk you just FTP'd to install it
You told before henkaku does'nt work on 3.60.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
You told before henkaku does'nt work on 3.60.
Nope, he placed a less than ( < ) sign before the firmware version number in his previous post, which indicates that what he actually said was "HENkaku doesn't work on consoles under 3.60", not "HENkaku doesn't work on 3.60"...
 
Last edited by ,
  • Like
Reactions: DinohScene

Haider Raza

Alhumdulillah
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
1,465
Trophies
0
XP
564
Country
Pakistan
Nope, he placed a less than ( < ) sign before the firmware version number in his previous post, which indicates that what he actually said was "HENkaku doesn't work on consoles under 3.60", not "HENkaku doesn't work on 3.60"...
if it doesn't work on lower firmware. Then how did this dude manage to install henkaku on firmware 1?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
if it doesn't work on lower firmware. Then how did this dude manage to install henkaku on firmware 1?
That's an easy question to answer... he never did.
It just sounds as if he has only just picked up that 1.61 firmware Vita, however I think what he meant by "I have used HENkaku" might have just meant that he has owned/tried out HENkaku on a different 3.60 Vita in the past.

The definitive answer is that HENkaku will forever only work on 3.60. Period.
Well, until backports are made anyway...
 

jellybeangreen2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
692
Trophies
0
XP
2,003
Country
United States
This Vita i did just buy brand new. I had a slim which had Henkaku on, 3.60 of course, but i didn't like it. I had another OLED which had 3.61 on... I then bought a brand new OLED WIFI/3G. I've now updated to 3.60 and installed Henkaku again using QCMA. Thanks for the advice guys.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: "Skittles" Angel Knight +1