Hacking Press A to continue won't show up at health screen.

Dolphin-1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
47
Country
United States
So I was using system menu 4.1u and decided to install the windows xp theme from here:Windows XP Wii Theme - YouTube

After doing so I got a semi-brick and going to system settings would crash.So I tried reinstalling menu 4.1u with Multi Mod Manager and I got an error while installing[not downloading].
So then I left MMM and then priiloader showed up with an error autobooting to the system menu.
I HAD A FULL BRICK! So i launched wiimod with priiloader and tried reinstalling from it but the same thing that happened with MMM happened there. So then I gave up on those two apps and then tried installing the 4.1u wad ,straight from nus downloader,with MMMs wad manager.
After that installed, all I get when I boot up my wii is the health screen but no "Press A to continue". Priiloader was uninstalled from the system menu installation.
My wiimote turns on and is synced up and I can even turn the console off with the wiimote.

What went wrong and how can i fix it?
 

GreyWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
5,399
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,516
Country
United States
You could try reinstalling the region select and EULA channels for your Wii's region. They're HALx and HAKx where "x" is the region letter. They're on the "System" menu under Database on NUSDownloader.

@JoostinOnline might be able to help you fix this, though.
 
Last edited by GreyWolf,

GreyWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
5,399
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,516
Country
United States
Ah, I missed that Priiloader was gone. I'm not sure what to tell you. The theme must have corrupted the menu's resource title.

You could try the gamecube gamepad trick with a game disc that has a recent system update on it.
 

rasputin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
937
Trophies
0
XP
327
Country
United States
do you have the bootmii folder on your sd card, possibly renamed?

edit, basically if you had bootmii installed as boot 2, then this might work....

1) get the bootmii folder on your sd card, possibly you already have it renamed there, or someone else's might work

2) if you have no keys.bin, do a backup in bootmii to obtain the keys, though obviously the nand.bin will be useless

3) get suitable nand.bin dump from another wii or person and use 'betwiin' to fix it for your wii
 
Last edited by rasputin,

Dolphin-1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
47
Country
United States
Better yet, how do i get to bootmii. I know it's installed as boot2 since my disc drive flashes twice. I'm using microwave sams bootmii folder included here:How to Hack Nintendo Wii 4.3 - Homebrew Channel Letterbomb Tutorial Part 1 - YouTube and his bootmii.ini file looks like this:
VIDEO=PROGRESSIVE
AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU
BOOTDELAY=10
I figured it wasn't booting because autoboot was on system menu, so i changed it to OFF.
But I still get the same screen where there's nothing i can do!
 

Dolphin-1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
47
Country
United States
Does boot delay have to be at 5? If not then something else is not working.

And since I can't find any information about what the resource title is, what is it and how does it work?
 

Thomas83Lin

Retro Gamer
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Messages
1,587
Trophies
1
Website
www.thomas83lincodes.com
XP
1,779
Country
United States
Ah, I missed that Priiloader was gone. I'm not sure what to tell you. The theme must have corrupted the menu's resource title.

You could try the gamecube gamepad trick with a game disc that has a recent system update on it.
Yes the gamecube gamepad trick which is called Savemiifrii, op could google on how use it, it could possibly fix this brick. It would need to be used with a game with a newer update than 4.1

If bootmii is actually installed to boot2, this would be the recommend method. I'd try different sd cards with the bootmii files on it. Bootmii can be picky depending on the sd card. fat32 format
http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii/SD_Card_Compatibility_List
 
Last edited by Thomas83Lin,

Dolphin-1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
47
Country
United States
UPDATE: Okay, turns out the sd card I was using wasn't capable of auto booting bootmii. So I purchased one that was capable according to the list. It took some time to get here, so that's why I haven't replied for awhile. But before purchasing a new sd card i came across this video:
And I decided to try it with my new sd card...And it worked!!!! It booted to Multi Mod Manager.
I went to app manager and just in case anything went wrong with them, reinstalled bootmii as boot2, the homebrew channel and just because i felt like it bootmii as an ios as well. After that, it took me to the freshly installed homebrew channel. The first thing I did there was install priiloader. After that I turned my wii off, turned it on with the reset button held and it worked. After that I immediately went to bootmii, as boot 2 and made a nand backup like rasputin said to. So I now have The Homebrew channel, Bootmii as BOOT2 and IOS, Priiloader And a semi functional nand backup. I tried reinstalling the system menu again through Multi Mod Manager but it couldn't connect, as i have gotten a new router. And i obviously can't change anything through the system menu, so do any of you now of any homebrews that can change the internet settings?

P.S. Just out of curiosity, I turned on the "replace health screen with back menu" hack on priiloader. What I got was the traditional flashing channels animation, but after that...nothing

But upon waiting awhile afterwords the flashing animation happened again, and then again. they each happened about 30 seconds apart. I still would like to now what exactly is wrong with my wii menu.
 

GreyWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
5,399
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,516
Country
United States
Either something you installed has a bad banner or part of the system menu files are from the wrong region or the menu's resource file is corrupted.

You should be able to use AnyTitleDeleter to remove the non-Nintendo stuff and hopefully it will boot again.
 

GreyWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
5,399
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
1,516
Country
United States
I think the resource packs are in the content directory for the title. I could be mistaken but I think IOS80 is the system menu title for 4.3.

Have you tried reinstalling a full system menu update to overwrite anything that's been corrupt? You can extract it from any disc that has an update partition with Wiimm's ISO Tools.
 

Dolphin-1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
47
Country
United States
What I'm afraid is going to happen is that if the update removes all hacks and if the update doesn't fix my wii menu is that it will uninstall bootmii as boot2.
If so and my menu still doesn't work, what am I going to do then?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
there is a way if you don't have access to your wii (note: i didn't fully read the conversation but im presuming somethings wrong and you semi bricked and you need to use homebrew channel to fix it which oboiusly you don't have acess to it via system menu because system menu is broken) so try this
1. Turn on the Wii and you will see the Health Screen. Now instead of pressing A, hold + and -, then press A. (keep holding till the screen changes!)
2. If you did it correctly (and your Wii isn't bricked enough to ruin it), you will see a message on the screen saying the Wii is in Maintenance Mode.
3. This mode allows you to do everything except using the Wii message board, so make use of that to backup saves or to run the HBC!
there maybe that can help, and again I didn't read every comment so...
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    imagine not having hands, cringe
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ESPECIALLY for things I do to myself :sad:.. :tpi::rofl2: Or others :shy::blush::evil:
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SylverReZ if you could find a v5 DS ML you would have the best of both worlds since the v5 units had the same backlight brightness levels as the DS Lite unlockable with flashme
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but that's a long shot
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A woman with no arms and no legs was sitting on a beach. A man comes along and the woman says, "I've never been hugged before." So the man feels bad and hugs her. She says "Well i've also never been kissed before." So he gives her a kiss on the cheek. She says "Well I've also never been fucked before." So the man picks her up, and throws her in the ocean and says "Now you're fucked."
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    lmao
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    anyways, we need to re-normalize physical media

    if i didn't want my games to be permanent, then i'd rent them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, that why I try to buy all my games on disc, Xbox anyways. Switch games (which I pirate tbh) don't matter much, I stay offline 24/7 anyways.
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I don't pirate them, I Use Them :mellow:. Like I do @BigOnYa 's couch :tpi::evil::rofl2:
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @BakerMan - you can still "own" digital media, arguably easier and better than physical since you can make copies and backups, as much as you like.

    The issue is DRM
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    You can buy drm free games / music / ebooks, and if you keep backups of your data (like documents and family photos etc), then you shouldn't lose the game. but with a disk, your toddler could put it in the toaster and there goes your $60

    :rofl2:
  • cearp @ cearp:
    still, I agree physical media is nice to have. just pointing out the issue is drm
    +1
  • rqkaiju2 @ rqkaiju2:
    i like physical media because it actually feels like you own it. thats why i plan on burning music to cds
  • cearp @ cearp:
    It's nice to not have to have a lot of physical things though, saves space
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Nor clothes 🤮 . Saves on time, soap, water and money having to wash them. :D
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @rqkaiju2, Physical media is a great source for archiving your data, none of that cloud storage shiz.
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [squeezes @SylverReZ onto a physical media, then archives you in my old stuff box] :tpi::rofl2::tpi:
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, should i change my pfp to one of these or keep it the same?
    iu

    iu

    (i guess i could change it to one of my other pfps too, but i just want to see what you guys think first)
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BakerMan, Up to you.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    smug sonic time lmao
    +1
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: smug sonic time lmao +1