Homebrew postLoader4

Etheboss

Official LULWUT supporter
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,445
Trophies
0
Location
Around somewhere
XP
851
Country
Netherlands
@[member='Wever'], did DM 2.2 (or any DM 2 version) worked already before?
And what neek rev. are you using?

Just curious...because i had no such luck, also i don't see an updated DM 2.2 for neek anymore on the DM download page..
So i can't try if DM2.2 solves my problem...
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
Ok, problem time, I'm running the latest beta of PL and the latest beta of CFG mod. CFG works from the HBC and I can launch CFG normally from within PL but if I set CFG to autoboot it won't work it code dumps with the following:

80a97920: 81690100 2F8B0000 7D635B78 419E0018
80a97930: 4BFFFA99 801EFE68 3BFF0001 7D20EA14
80a97940: 93890100 3BBD010C 9B490000 7F9DD800

If it helps I have the latest priibooter installed under priiloader and so my Wii will autoboot PL and then PL should then autoboot CFG but as I said it code dumps.

I can reproduce this as well. It's crashing in covercache.c on line 64 and 114 for him. I get a slightly different dump:
Code:
Exception (DSI) occurred!
GPR00 00000000 GPR08 00000000 GPR16 00000000 GPR24 80BF6C38
GPR01 80CD90F0 GPR09 00000000 GPR17 00000000 GPR25 80A9E208
GPR02 80C16040 GPR10 00000000 GPR18 00000000 GPR26 00000000
GPR03 00008600 GPR11 80CD8848 GPR19 00000000 GPR27 00008600
GPR04 00000430 GPR12 CD006438 GPR20 00000000 GPR28 00000000
GPR05 00000000 GPR13 80C18EC0 GPR21 00000000 GPR29 00000000
GPR06 00009032 GPR14 00000000 GPR22 00000002 GPR30 80C20000
GPR07 D7321EAA GPR15 00000000 GPR23 00000001 GPR31 00000000
LR 80A97B00 SRR0 80a97b08 SRR1 00009032 MSR 00001000
DAR 00000100 DSISR 04000000

STACK DUMP:
80a97b08 --> 80a97b00 --> 80a00348 --> 80afb3b4 -->
80afb364

CODE DUMP:
80a97b08:  81690100 2F8B0000 7D635B78 419E0018
80a97b18:  4BFFFA99 801EE860 3BFF0001 7D20EA14
80a97b28:  93890100 3BBD010C 9B490000 7F9DD800

Mine's crashing on covercache.c lines 221, 223, 224.

The crash seems to occur with ANY autoboot application, not just CFG.

My current speculation: it's trying to flush the covercache even though it's not needed(no need to load it if we won't see it due to autoboot), and before the covercache thread is started:
Code:
Querying for interactive mode
vars.tempPath = usb://ploader/temp
Video_LoadTheme(0)
CoverCache_Flush

I'm trying to find where this stray call is at.


Okay, I've fixed it. It was another simple fix in dol.c:
Code:
Index: dol.c
===================================================================
--- dol.c	(revision 110)
+++ dol.c	(working copy)
@@ -143,7 +143,11 @@

Video_LoadTheme (0); // Make sure that theme isn't loaded

-	CoverCache_Flush ();
+	if(!config.autoboot.enabled)
+	{
+		Debug("Autoboot not enabled. Flushing covercache");
+		CoverCache_Flush ();
+	}

sprintf (path, "%s%s", run->path, run->filename);
if (LoadHB (path, EXECUTE_ADDR)
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,689
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Belgium
XP
8,089
Country
Belgium
@[member='Wever'], did DM 2.2 (or any DM 2 version) worked already before?
And what neek rev. are you using?

Just curious...because i had no such luck, also i don't see an updated DM 2.2 for neek anymore on the DM download page..
So i can't try if DM2.2 solves my problem...
I think I just mentioned that in the NEEK2O thread: just install the wad on your real nand. I do not know why, but for some reason, DM uses the real nand MIOS in neek2o. It was like that since the first version I tried (0.14 or something).

As for my neek rev: one of the beta versions Overjoy wanted me to test out to fix my bootmii@boot2 loading issues (I think he called it r90, but aside from a possible patch, it was no different from the former latest version). It didn't solve the issue, by the way. But afaik, it's pretty stable otherwise.


(oh, and I know my post could be read as if DM 2.2 didn't work before. That's not what I wanted to say. I simply didn't have time to test it before due to being busy with devolution & neek2o...and non-wii related things :P ).
 

Troelzkii

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
Again thanks for a great app that just becomes better and better. Is it possible to implement playback of video files the same way you implemented games via cfg or other usb loaders? Maybe it could use wiimc or similar to play? I am thinking about having a seperate page showing the video files you have in a specified folder on the USB drive (or maybe even om SMB...). The reason for asking is besides it would make PL even more versatile also that I would like to have covers on my cartoon collection for the children so they are able to select themselves... This is only a request to hear if it is possible to do and if it is something you think about adding in the future?
 

Etheboss

Official LULWUT supporter
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,445
Trophies
0
Location
Around somewhere
XP
851
Country
Netherlands
@[member='Wever'], did DM 2.2 (or any DM 2 version) worked already before?
And what neek rev. are you using?

Just curious...because i had no such luck, also i don't see an updated DM 2.2 for neek anymore on the DM download page..
So i can't try if DM2.2 solves my problem...
I think I just mentioned that in the NEEK2O thread: just install the wad on your real nand. I do not know why, but for some reason, DM uses the real nand MIOS in neek2o. It was like that since the first version I tried (0.14 or something).

As for my neek rev: one of the beta versions Overjoy wanted me to test out to fix my bootmii@boot2 loading issues (I think he called it r90, but aside from a possible patch, it was no different from the former latest version). It didn't solve the issue, by the way. But afaik, it's pretty stable otherwise.


(oh, and I know my post could be read as if DM 2.2 didn't work before. That's not what I wanted to say. I simply didn't have time to test it before due to being busy with devolution & neek2o...and non-wii related things :P ).
Hehe, ok..

Anyway good news..OverjoY has compiled a neek version of the latest DM 2.2 for real nand and that one does work in Neek2o...
So i hope Crediar will upload a new Neek version of 2.2 again soon.
 

stfour

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,592
Trophies
0
XP
350
Country
Italy
Did that test build I uploaded a day or so ago fix the cover issues/autoboot crash issue for you guys? Just curious..

It is clear why it doesn't show covers and why the patch solves it.... but what I can't understand is any connection to a possible crash. I will upload an official build soon.

What I can't reproduce is the dump in homebrew browser.... I need more details if possible.

@AbdallahTerro, regarding back to postloader, you are referring to homebrews or channels ? In the last case there is no return to loader yet, but with homebrews it should work ;)
 

stfour

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,592
Trophies
0
XP
350
Country
Italy
Ok, problem time, I'm running the latest beta of PL and the latest beta of CFG mod. CFG works from the HBC and I can launch CFG normally from within PL but if I set CFG to autoboot it won't work it code dumps with the following:

80a97920: 81690100 2F8B0000 7D635B78 419E0018
80a97930: 4BFFFA99 801EFE68 3BFF0001 7D20EA14
80a97940: 93890100 3BBD010C 9B490000 7F9DD800

If it helps I have the latest priibooter installed under priiloader and so my Wii will autoboot PL and then PL should then autoboot CFG but as I said it code dumps.

Can you give a try with latest official cfg v70 ? I never tested any mod...

http://code.google.c...70.zip&can=2&q=

edit... sorry I've not read your message with the required attention... I'll check it tonight...
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
Did that test build I uploaded a day or so ago fix the cover issues/autoboot crash issue for you guys? Just curious..

It is clear why it doesn't show covers and why the patch solves it.... but what I can't understand is any connection to a possible crash. I will upload an official build soon.

It's a seperate issue. I think it was dumping for him because PL tries to Flush the covercache when the thread for cover cache management is never started/loaded(see my previous post that fixed it):

http://gbatemp.net/topic/299384-postloader4/page__view__findpost__p__4317097

I just added a check that makes sure we're not autobooting before flushing it if we're about to load a homebrew(implying the proper threads are all started anyway, by that point).
 

stfour

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,592
Trophies
0
XP
350
Country
Italy
Did that test build I uploaded a day or so ago fix the cover issues/autoboot crash issue for you guys? Just curious..

It is clear why it doesn't show covers and why the patch solves it.... but what I can't understand is any connection to a possible crash. I will upload an official build soon.

It's a seperate issue. I think it was dumping for him because PL tries to Flush the covercache when the thread for cover cache management is never started/loaded(see my previous post that fixed it):

http://gbatemp.net/t...ost__p__4317097

I just added a check that makes sure we're not autobooting before flushing it if we're about to load a homebrew(implying the proper threads are all started anyway, by that point).

Ouch, sorry, I miss this... it make sense...
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
I mean..I could be wrong about the real cause, but that seems to be the most likely candidate, given that it stops the crash, and I haven't seen any other dumps or issues with it.
 

stfour

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,592
Trophies
0
XP
350
Country
Italy
I mean..I could be wrong about the real cause, but that seems to be the most likely candidate, given that it stops the crash, and I haven't seen any other dumps or issues with it.

No, you are right, CoverCache_Start is called only when in interactive mode... CoverCache_Flush is always called at shutdown... this causes for sure a crash.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
158
Country
Swaziland
I think I found a bug. Ocarina codes are not working for Virtual console and WiiWare games, both in real and emunand. In Gecko OS they are working fine, so it's not a problem of the cheats. I have the codes in the folder /codes on the root of the SD Card. It's also don't working if I have the cheats on USB.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
I mean no offense by this, but you have enabled the cheats by pressing B over the VC/WW game you want to launch, and changing Ocarina from No Ocarina to Ocarina from USB or Ocarina from SD, right? Just starting with the basics. :)
 

stfour

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
1,592
Trophies
0
XP
350
Country
Italy
I mean no offense by this, but you have enabled the cheats by pressing B over the VC/WW game you want to launch, and changing Ocarina from No Ocarina to Ocarina from USB or Ocarina from SD, right? Just starting with the basics. :)

..also an hook must be selected ;)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How do you know if the night will be good when you're asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    because i didn't say i was asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i said i was sleeping...
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    sleeping with uremum
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Even my mum slept on that uremum
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    yall im torn... ive been hacking away at tales of phantasia GBA (the USA version) and have so many documents of reverse engineering i've done
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I just found out that the EU version is better in literally every way, better sound quality, better lighting, and there's even a patch someone made to make the text look nicer
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    Do I restart now using what i've learned on the EU version since it's a better overall experience? or do I continue with the US version since that is what ive been using, and if someone decides to play my hack, it would most likely be that version?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @TwoSpikedHands, I'll preface this with the fact that I know nothing about the game, but, I think it depends on what your goals are. Are you trying to make a definitive version of the game? You may want to refocus your efforts on the EU version then. Or, are you trying to make a better US version? In which case, the only way to make a better US version is to keep on plugging away at that one ;)
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm not familiar with the technicalities of the differences between the two versions, but I'm wondering if at least some of those differences are things that you could port over to the US version in your patch without having to include copyrighted assets from the EU version
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @TwoSpikedHands just switch, all the knowledge you learned still applies and most of the code and assets should be the same anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and realistically they wouldn't

    be able to play it legally anyway since they need a ROM and they probably don't have the means to dump it themselves
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why the shit does the shitbox randomly insert newlines in my messages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It does that when I edit a post.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It inserts a newline in a random spot.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    never had that i don't think
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    do y'all think having an sd card that has a write speed of 700kb/s is a bad idea?
    trying to restore emunand rn but it's taking ages... (also when I finished the first time hekate decided to delete all my fucking files :wacko:)
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Karma177 that sd card is 100% faulty so yes, its a bad idea
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    even the slowest non-sdhc sd cards are a few MB/s
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    @The Real Jdbye it hasn't given me any error trying to write things on it so I don't really think it's faulty (pasted 40/50gb+ folders and no write errors)
    Karma177 @ Karma177: @The Real Jdbye it hasn't given me any error trying to write things on it so I don't really...