Picofly AIO Thread

Modificatorul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
272
Trophies
1
XP
2,393
Country
Antarctica
i'm on v2.73. I have also removed data wires one by one (left side) to see any LED code, but nothing happens.
Post automatically merged:


Cleaned all solder joints, removed any flux left overs.
Checked all wires for continuity - all of them are good.
Additionally checked emmc ports to wire for continuity - good.
Checked for shortages - nothing found.
Yes, 3.3v is a little bit damaged, but still works (you can see that the Power LED is on)

Huge wires? Thats actually 30 awg :)

I'm sure that the soldering is good enough, my suspect is the PR2040. Is there any method to check the functionality of it? Unfortunately I have already removed the USB Port, would have tried to re-flash.
awg 30 vs awg 36.jpg

Awg 30 red vs awg 36 blue, with awg 30 you risk to rip pads.
I'm 99% shore the xiao is foulty.
if you whant to test if is still ok :
1 You can remove all wires and solder usb c port back and connect to usb c and pc and lock for blue light,**/**/**/sleep
2 Power the xiao pcb with bench power supply set to 3.3 v and lock for blue light,**/**/**/sleep
 
  • Like
Reactions: caokjiao

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,023
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,459
Country
United States
I noticed newer picofly boards on aliexpress (the ones that seem to be cloning v6s) have D+, D-, and vol+ pads on the board. Are these wired up in the same way as D+, D- and vbus on the instinct v6s for USB passthrough? If not, what are those pads for? Can't find much info for this board in terms of wiring and functionality differences from the older variant.
 

QuantumDude111

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 21, 2024
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
6
Country
Finland
I feel pretty stupid right now. I got this version of picofly from a chinese reseller on ebay and it came without instructions. I am modding a Marika Switch and have difficulties figuring out which ribbons I should use since the chip was a '3in1' kit with parts for all three Switch models. I've spent hours trying to google for a solution and going through pages on this thread here but still had no luck finding instructions. Please, any help would be so great right now.
I think this eMMC ribbon has to be soldered to the eMMC board (?). I guess I don't need the DAT0 adapter? I'd really rather not be guessing this :wacko:
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2024-06-21 at 19.09.48.png
    Screenshot 2024-06-21 at 19.09.48.png
    6.9 MB · Views: 10

FRbaron

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 8, 2024
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
29
Country
Russia
Maybe someone will come in handy, collected the latest available sources and added the build via github actions
github -> pgalonza/ns-pf-rp2040
 

Moohr

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 3, 2024
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
74
XP
11
Country
Afghanistan
I noticed newer picofly boards on aliexpress (the ones that seem to be cloning v6s) have D+, D-, and vol+ pads on the board. Are these wired up in the same way as D+, D- and vbus on the instinct v6s for USB passthrough? If not, what are those pads for? Can't find much info for this board in terms of wiring and functionality differences from the older variant.
I strangled too to found the proper tut. After some research I found D+ and D-, as i didn't want to solder a cable between the motherboard and vol+ i search for a soldering point on the motherboard and found one ! Works great :)
Here is a picture of the points I used ->
Post automatically merged:
 
  • Like
Reactions: TheCyberQuake

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,023
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,459
Country
United States
I strangled too to found the proper tut. After some research I found D+ and D-, as i didn't want to solder a cable between the motherboard and vol+ i search for a soldering point on the motherboard and found one ! Works great :)
Here is a picture of the points I used ->
Post automatically merged:

Nice.
And how does passthrough get used?
My best guess would be holding VOL+ while plugging in USB with the system off.
It's strange that passthrough for picofly is so undocumented.
 

Moohr

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 3, 2024
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
74
XP
11
Country
Afghanistan
Nice.
And how does passthrough get used?
My best guess would be holding VOL+ while plugging in USB with the system off.
It's strange that passthrough for picofly is so undocumented.
yes exactly, turn off the console, hold Vol+ and plug the USB to the computer ;)
Now it's documented here at least ^^
 
  • Like
Reactions: TheCyberQuake

NintendoDisco

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 8, 2024
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Location
Dallas, United States
XP
9
Country
United States
Yes, that error code is related to RST, which would be the lower chunk of that yellow ribbon cable if I'm reading the pinout for lite install correctly.
IMG_6791.jpg




I think I may have soldered off the pad on the ribbon that connects to the points on the board...

I was trying to resolder it then I noticed that

Can I use jumper wire?

Or is there a way I can get it to connect still?
 

bvang913

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 20, 2023
Messages
73
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
363
Country
United States
View attachment 446109



I think I may have soldered off the pad on the ribbon that connects to the points on the board...

I was trying to resolder it then I noticed that

Can I use jumper wire?

Or is there a way I can get it to connect still?
You can try using wire to connect the RST on the motherboard to the B point on the chip and see if that works.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NintendoDisco

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Burp