1. rolenks

    rolenks Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    when it says "use cia for better performance" how can you tell which games they're referring to...?
    something like Parappa works great as a cia but something like mega man 8 or legends won't work as a cia at all.
     
  2. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,613
    Country:
    Portugal
    i think they mean using retroarch psx rearmed installed as a cia as opposed to be booted through the homebrew loader.
     
  3. OneMarvelousNugget

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    France
    I'm soon gonna test LSD Dream Emulator on my N3DS...
    Really hope it's gonna work fine.
     
  4. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    Algeria
    Using the JustinWeiss dev build, Vagrant Story and Final Fantasy Tactics are full speed and play great. I noticed a few crackles during one cut scene in Vagrant Story but that may have been down to my settings.
     
    Zense likes this.
  5. Profez

    Profez Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    What did you do to get past the Memory Cards screen? for me it just gets stuck there
     
  6. AkiFire

    AkiFire Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    Everything I've played runs really well and it is excellent (I'm using the latest nightly versions)! However, with some titles, I've encountered some weird font bugs, where certain characters are "cut" or the text is stretched together. I encountered that with the English patch for the Japanese version of Ace Combat 3 - Electrosphere and also Akumajou Dracula X - Gekka no Yasoukyoku. I didn't encounter this bug in any official release (haven't tested it that much) so it could very well be exclusive to English patched/modified games. The attached image shows this bug, maybe there is an option to fix this? Thanks in Advance!
     
  7. mosslump

    mosslump Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds good, where is this available? I can't seem to find it on his github or linked to in the unofficial builds thread.

    Edit:
    It seems like the official nightlies should include his changes.

    From page 30 of the unofficial builds thread:
    "All of my changes except for improved dithering performance are upstream now, so you wouldn't be missing anything if you downloaded a nightly and dropped the new pcsx core from this thread in there."
     
    Last edited by mosslump, Jan 1, 2021
  8. uhhh_adam

    uhhh_adam Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Namco Museum 1-5 run fine so far on my New 3DS
     
  9. Profez

    Profez Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Any way to possibly get Persona 2 Innocent Sin running well on 3DS? I got to Club Zodiac and there it drops a bunch of frames so I was hoping maybe someone got it to run good there.
     
  10. StanMarsh

    StanMarsh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I say again: I've noticed the emulator works well with PAL region PS1 games.
     
  11. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    If your current core isn't October 23rd nightly build or higher, then you're missing out. Even if you're on the latest Stable release (As of this post, that is August 1.9.0)
    Update Retroarch to the latest nightly
    (Not needed but a little sidenote) Delete your retroarch.cfg file if you don't have Online Updater on your retroarch menu yet
    Convert your games to CHD format if you're playing with PS1 bin/cue CD rips. It will even save you some storage space. HOWEVER! Don't mess with your game if you really don't wanna lose your save tho. You are missing out a good performance boost, so if you ask me, it's worth replaying from scratch. Unless if someone here knows a workaround.
    Keep the 3D Slider OFF if you're not using a 2DS
    Settings\Video\Synchronization\Vertical Sync (Vsync) = OFF for 3D Games; ON for 2D Games
    Settings\Audio\Output = dsp_thread
    Quick Menu\Options\Advance GPU UNAI/PCSX4All Settings = ON

    Close Content after this and reboot your game
    Quick Menu\Options\Threaded Rendering = async
    Quick Menu\Options\High-Res Downscaling

    Restart so CD Access Method shows up
    Quick Menu\Options\CD Access Method = Asynchronous
     
    Last edited by UltraSyko, Jan 23, 2021
    Isegrim and Nutez like this.
  12. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,613
    Country:
    Portugal
    i cant get the dsp audio option to appear it only says csnd or null
     
  13. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    a DSP-dump is required for sound to work correctly in the CIA version. https://gbatemp.net/threads/dsp1-a-new-dsp-dumper-cia-for-better-stability.469461/
    Just boot this and the application will do everything automatically and self-destruct. Then after that, any homebrew that relies on DSP audio will be supported
     
  14. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,613
    Country:
    Portugal
    thanks, all the games i have now run full speed without scratchy audio, this is amazing even driver is now fullspeed on new 3ds xD
     
  15. RandomMan25XX

    RandomMan25XX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    What region?, because I have USA and all of them crash on the main menu
     
  16. uhhh_adam
    This message by uhhh_adam has been removed from public view by x65943, Mar 28, 2021, Reason: don't share warez resources.
    Mar 28, 2021
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - compatibility, ReARMed,