1. NanashiFinal13

    NanashiFinal13 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    Argentina
    Unless you use frameskip of course. But i try no to use frameskip on games. Also never turn off sound. Without sound, games are not the same. But normally i turn off sound interpolation and sound reberb, with those off you can gain extra fps. And on most games the soud its decent without those options.
     
  2. MRJPGames

    MRJPGames Pretty great guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,175
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Anyone know where I can grab a build now that buildbot is down?
     
  3. Subzero100

    Subzero100 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United States
    anyone know why the raiden project doesn't work
     
  4. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    MRJPGames likes this.
  5. Profez

    Profez Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone here got Revelations: Persona to work? It freezes for me on the Memory Card screen.
     
  6. NanashiFinal13

    NanashiFinal13 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    Argentina
    I play a few hours without any freezing
     
  7. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,428
    Country:
    Portugal
    so i cant download it it says its down, anyone got the latest nightly uploaded somewhere?
     
  8. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,120
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone tested Breath of Fire 3 per chance? I see on the compat list that Breath of Fire 4 works (well it's under the green color), I suppose I can give that a whirl, the game isn't a particularly demanding PSX game :P

    Another question, using linear vs Gaussian interpolation?
     
  9. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,428
    Country:
    Portugal
    so i tested afew games and i get nowhere near full speed on any ps1 game i tryed i get like 25-35 fps and even with frameskip set to 2 i get a frame dropping full speed at best :S

    maybe im doing something wrong?

    i got new 3ds xl and im using Cia

    tryed
    jersey devil
    pac man world
    rascal

    unless i need to change some settings the full speed is like frameskip 2 and with lots of drops tough.
     
  10. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,120
    Country:
    United States
    Damn, so I guess that means the whole "PSX games run full speed on N3DS/N2DS without frameskip" is all bullshit? Why am I not surprised?
     
  11. justinweiss

    justinweiss GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tried any of those specific games so I don't know what to expect from them. Settings make a big difference though.

    If you're using .bin/.cue, the biggest boost will come from switching to .chd or .pbp images. The extra compression helps a lot with the 3DS's slow read speeds. I would guess this is probably the biggest problem, because frameskip won't help much if it's slow because of reads.

    Other settings that work very well for most games:

    - CD Read Method: async (this also helps avoid the slow read problem, by trying to read stuff in advance and not pausing the emulator while doing it)
    - Dithering off (because there are a lot of optimizations that don't work when it's on)
    - video sync off (for the usual reasons)

    The newest nightlies have an extra Unai Advanced option to downscale hi-res modes to the 3DS resolution which can be a big boost in games that use those modes.

    You may also get a small boost by keeping the 3D slider off. No idea why, but it seemed to make a noticeable difference in my tests.

    Other options like sound interpolation may make a difference but I haven’t noticed a significant change with those.
     
    Last edited by justinweiss, Aug 22, 2020
    mtlucarell, Zense and the_randomizer like this.
  12. n00bsaib0t

    n00bsaib0t GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Not bullshit, just game specific. 2D games tend to run great, 3D games have issues. I beat Mega Man X4 with no noticeable speed issues, but THPS2 is very iffy, just for example. Think of it like SNES on PSP. The basic games like Super Mario World run just fine with no issues but a lot of games that had special chips like Super Mario RPG have speed issues.
     
  13. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,428
    Country:
    Portugal
    ok so video sync and dithering were the main offenders and chd now i can run jersey devil at 50 fps(pal) which is good btw the advance gpu una/pcsx4all setting is better to be turned on or off? does it speed stuff or slows it down?
     
    Last edited by pedro702, Aug 22, 2020
  14. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,120
    Country:
    United States
    Such as Simple vs Gaussian (what real PSX hardware uses)? I haven't tested the downscale mode yet, maybe that can help with games that I test, will try later.
     
  15. justinweiss

    justinweiss GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    That setting will show some extra settings when it’s on, although I think you need to exit and re-enter the menu first. The setting itself doesn’t change anything.
     
    Zense likes this.
  16. Dalrint

    Dalrint GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone been able to get Legend of Mana working? I've tried two different ISOs, tried converting each into .pbp and into .chd, I've tried with both the 1001 bios and the psp bios, and I cannot get it to work right. I even tried an eboot someone else made. I can only get as far as after you put the mailbox down and the movie plays right in the beginning. Once the movie ends, it's just a black screen forever.
     
  17. wanderindirk

    wanderindirk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I made some new findings yesterday regarding how CPU clockspeed values affect performance in MGS (which I one of the games I've chosen for benchmarking). I guess some of you might already know this but for discussion's sake I'll be posting anyways. Normally, I'm on a very performance/speed-friendly configuration (with all relevant settings either enabled or disabled accordingly - except for audio, blending and lighting, which are always enabled). Also, I'm currently on a one week old nightly (I think). So now, let's talk about CPU clockspeed.

    Normally when I tinker with clockspeed at all, I would try to find one particular value I can settle with so that the game could run in a most stable or uniform manner possible fps-wise when compared to how it runs at the default 50 (naturally, this would only happen if 50 is not good enough). For example, Spider-Man 1 is very volatile when set at 50: less demanding segments would run very smoothly but the drops and slowdowns are way too noticeable when the game gets really demanding; when set somewhere in the range 37-41, the framerate becomes much more stable and uniform, and the game much more playable, though naturally also a bit more janky (but still tolerable for me.)

    According to my experience MGS is one of the more difficult 3D or graphically intensive games to get to run in a stable manner. At 50, cutscenes have tons of slowdowns (I often benchmark the opening submarine sequence), and in-game segments (meaning when you actually get to control Snake) also suffer from slowdowns when the game gets demanding. In my last efforts, when I play MGS I've usually set the clockspeed at 45 - merely as a compromise, so that cutscenes could benefit from some more frames while gameplay hopefully won't suffer too badly due to the decrease of only 5. Here's where it's problematic: MGS' in-game segments are really unfriendly towards underclocking. At 45, Snake mostly runs like snail.

    Overall, MGS had always run like shit for me regardless of which clockspeed I tried. Until yesterday, when for the first time I actually tried to go above 50 (normally, I wouldn't dare doing that if a game already runs like shit at 50.) So I raised it to 60, and now in-game segments ran almost perfectly. Even in places when slowdowns had always happened when clockspeed was at 50 or lower. The cutscenes suffered from more slowdowns, sure, but I think now I can actually play the game if I want to (besides, I've always known that MGS cutscenes run way better with underclocking. For example, the opening submarine sequence runs very well at 30-31, with no discernible slowdowns.) My guess is that MGS might not be that demanding a game after all. Perhaps thanks to the overhead camera position, increasing clockspeed (when it feels rather counter-intuitive, at least for me) does make a real difference in performance and playability for a change in a 3D/graphically intensive game.
     
    Last edited by wanderindirk, Aug 28, 2020
    Isegrim likes this.
  18. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Just writing to report that SaGa Frontier runs very well, with slowdown occurring during introduction screen, loading between areas, and loading battles. Most places the framerate is consistent and at full speed. I'm using a .bin, by the way, on version 1.9.0 (r22 ddd39f2).

    If it's important, I've only been playing Red's scenario, but I'm over 10 hours in and it's been fine, as the slowdown isn't really anything major to the experience.

    EDIT: Forgot to mention that I'm using a BIOS.
     
    Last edited Aug 29, 2020
    Zense likes this.
  19. lenightmare

    lenightmare Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    does the 3ds run persona 2 eternal punishment? or even an english patch of persona 2 innocent sin?
     
  20. lonestarrisk

    lonestarrisk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Is anyone else having issues with Brave Fencer Musashi? Mine crashes right after Steamwood.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - compatibility, ReARMed,