NSMBU broken graphics since 1.6

Discussion in 'Wii U - Emulation & CEMU' started by Luigibr, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    Hi, after the 1.6 update I've noticed, the background of every stage of nsmbu starts moving as the character moves around the stage. This is very annoying and ruins the experience completely. I've watched other people playing with rigs different than mine and it's running even better than the console. I kept waiting for updates to fix this, but we are at 1.7 and seems to be getting worse. I have recorded a video, sorry for the bad quality, but it's possible to see everything moving around. Also, there are some stages with more pipes, they even disconnect causing a white line to appear around it. Another game that this happens is Donkey Kong. There's a white line that emerges and cuts the graphics and a super annoying fps drop to 30fps. So far I haven't seen this happen on other rigs. Could it be something related to the emulator not working well with newer amd drivers? I am at the latest available driver, I don't know what else to do. This never happened on 1.5.x builds.
    My rig:
    Core I5 3570k OC 4.2ghz
    8GB Ram
    R9 280x



    Enviado de meu aosp_A6020 usando Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by Luigibr, Feb 2, 2017
  2. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    Any ideas? 1.5.4 was the last one I've seen working properly.

    Enviado de meu aosp_A6020 usando Tapatalk
     
  3. Xalphenos

    Xalphenos GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    234
    78
    Jan 21, 2017
    United States
    I had this problem. Turing on "Threaded Optomization" in nvidia control panel fixed it for me. I'm not sure if something similar exists in catalyst.
     
    Luigibr likes this.
  4. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    Really, I thought I was the only one having this. I will check if there's something similar in catalyst. Another thing that improved quality a little was switching to interpreter, but the performance was terrible, fps became too unstable.

    Enviado de meu aosp_A6020 usando Tapatalk
     
  5. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    Just for comparison, I´ve recorded another video with the game running on CEMU 1.5.6b. This was the last release build before 1.6, that ruinined the graphics for me. As you can see, the moving elements on the stage are how they were supposed to be. Is there a way to report this to the Devs?
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  6. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    Tested build 1.7.1,believe me, it's gotten even worse.

    Enviado de meu lineage_A6020 usando Tapatalk
     
  7. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    I just saw a videos of a guy running NSMBU on AMD 390 and it runs flawlessly. Anyone with a 2xx serires, such as 280x or 270x facing the same issues as I am? I don´t believe the issue could be in my machine only.
     
  8. Xalphenos

    Xalphenos GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    234
    78
    Jan 21, 2017
    United States
    Like I said I have this issue as well. And since I have a gtx 1070 I don't think you can blame your video card.

    If I were to guess I would say it's our cpu. My sandy at 4.5 is probably about equal to your ivy at 4.2. I'm not a dev or anything so all I can do is guess as to why this is. But our cpus are older. They lack BMI extensions which Cemu can use. I know Cemu also uses AVX extensions but if Cemu can take advantage of AVX2 then that is also something our cpus lack.

    In my case the problem is resolved by using "threaded optomization" in nvidia control panel. This is unfortunately one of nvidias own proprietary, for lack of a better word, opengl extensions.

    Or maybe we both just managed to have the same "X" on our computer that makes this problem occur. I too would like to know if anybody else with similar hardware does/doesn't have this problem as well.

    EDIT: @Luigibr 1.7.2 looks like it completely solved it for me. I turned "threaded optimization" off to test the new cemu build and to my surprise the game ran perfectly. Any improvement on your end?
     
    Last edited by Xalphenos, Feb 23, 2017
    Luigibr likes this.
  9. Luigibr
    OP

    Luigibr Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Feb 2, 2017
    Brazil
    Yeah you are right, 1.7.2 totally fixed the issue here

    Enviado de meu A6020 usando Tapatalk