Hacking Nintendo Dsi system exploits?

tozevleal

Probably the last VinsCool lonk clone :P
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
305
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
Website
www.tozeleal.orgfree.pt
XP
1,380
Country
Portugal
Hi Tempers!
I think we should make a organized exploit list for the newer Nintendo dsi (and XL)!
...
I was watching the 3ds (and XL) browser exploit made by gateway, and i was thinking "maybe some dev on this website can do a similar exploit on dsi"

I belive the dsi can do some cool things like the 3ds do "emunand"... and things like that!

I for the guys who only say "ohhh the dsi is already DEAD" but remember! There is devs who STILL make homebrew for GBA (and some crazy ones for virtualboy xD)

EXPLOITS FOR DSI:

Sudokuhaxx - Doesn't work on the newest version on the Dsi Shop (A.K.A. Eshop)

Other 2 haxx inspired on the sudokuhaxx but they are already blocked :S
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,575
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,995
Country
Antarctica
Won't happen.
DSi already is exploited (3 exploits iirc)
Loads of attempts has been done and a buffer overflow in the savegames was the only one to work.
 

Vappy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2012
Messages
1,508
Trophies
2
XP
2,613
Country
Yup, and that got blocked with one of the last firmware updates. I've seen mention of it being possible to exploit updated consoles if you dump the NAND and extract a certain file, but no real details.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

tozevleal

Probably the last VinsCool lonk clone :P
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
305
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
Website
www.tozeleal.orgfree.pt
XP
1,380
Country
Portugal
Won't happen.
DSi already is exploited (3 exploits iirc)
Loads of attempts has been done and a buffer overflow in the savegames was the only one to work.

I only know the sudoku haxx but it was a fail because 4 days later nintendo patched the game on dsi store!
I don't know the other 2 exploits you are talking... dino
 

tozevleal

Probably the last VinsCool lonk clone :P
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
305
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
Website
www.tozeleal.orgfree.pt
XP
1,380
Country
Portugal
IIRC they were savegame exploits too, but savegame exploiting was blocked with a firmware update by preventing copying saves from SD to NAND.
Damn ninty! Maybe the hacker community should try to exploit the photo channel or the flipnote studio! I don't want to see the dsi die like this!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

endoverend

AKA zooksman
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
2,846
Trophies
0
Website
zooksman.com
XP
2,917
Country
United States
Cyclo DSi was able to play DSi Enhanced roms back in the day and had full DSi mode access but it only worked in a specific firware plus the CycloDS team has gone under and refused to release source code.
 

tozevleal

Probably the last VinsCool lonk clone :P
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
305
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
Website
www.tozeleal.orgfree.pt
XP
1,380
Country
Portugal
Cyclo DSi was able to play DSi Enhanced roms back in the day and had full DSi mode access but it only worked in a specific firware plus the CycloDS team has gone under and refused to release source code.

Yeah i remember that old times... imagine if we could downgrade our dsi to that specific firmware like the gateway done with browser exploit!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Vappy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2012
Messages
1,508
Trophies
2
XP
2,613
Country
I don't want to see the dsi die like this!
The "hacker community" has largely moved on. Martin Korth (no$gba) has done some preliminary work with the DSi, and something might come of that, but I wouldn't count on it leading to a console exploit.
The DSi doesn't offer too much over the standard DS, and almost anything you could do with it can be done with the 3DS.
 

endoverend

AKA zooksman
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
2,846
Trophies
0
Website
zooksman.com
XP
2,917
Country
United States
The DSi doesn't offer too much over the standard DS, and almost anything you could do with it can be done with the 3DS.

Basically this. This topic has been discussed many times and the answer is always the same. We now have almost totally unrestricted access to the 3DS which is much more powerful than the DSi.
 

Jiro2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
781
Trophies
1
XP
773
Country
United States
The DSi doesn't offer too much over the standard DS, and almost anything you could do with it can be done with the 3DS.

Almost anything you can do with a SNES can be done with the 3DS too. The DSi is obsolete--just like the SNES, Gameboy Advance, and the other systems that aren't current..

People who want to run DSi ROMs are now in the same position as people who want to run SNES ROMs--they're not doing it because they want free stuff for a current system, they're doing it because of some interest in the history of the medium.

Except the DSi shows what's bad about making hacks anti-piracy. Even the anti-piracy people don't mind if you play ROMs for old systems, or they wouldn't release homebrew hacks at all (since most of them are used for emulation). But we are still stuck with the anti-piracy measures they took when the DSi wasn't an old system. Result: you can play SNES ROMs, but you can't play DSi ROMs.

At some point this is going to happen to the 3DS too. Let's just hope that Gateway stays in business long enough that you'll be able to find one then, because if not, we'll be screwed.
 

Blob

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
24
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
Cyberspace!!!
Website
Visit site
XP
315
Country
United States
MMM I suppose I could try w/ that dslink I'm still on 1.4.1U on my DSi :), Tho is it worth the effort? I just finally got my R4i up and running, hoping I can do this on the DSi but as I read some wifi chipsets won't let it be written to, how do I identify which model mine is? Just try and see? Right? :D
 
Last edited by Blob,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Not sure how recent hardware it supports though
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I mean for 1st party routers iirc linksys use to support it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhhh that I have no idea
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pretty cool though if so
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Or from what ive heard ways to set custom imgs for 1st party routers so locked down now days
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    OPNsense VM and specs and specs of system it's running on. https://imgur.com/a/S9wgGUD
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've turned more features on in OPNsense lately and it's getting kind of high on RAM usage, I see. Probably bump that up to 4GB soon
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I wanna make a 8core router with support for 20gbps doesn't even sound that silly lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I only have 1 gig internet but internally I have 10 gig connectivity for everything on my lan lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    fiber connection from my desktop PC back to my core network switch
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    2 port HPE SFP+ PCIE NIC in my desktop and all of my servers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    silly shit
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    eventually this desktop is going to act as a server too, just for the hell of it. Because this PC is WAY fucking overkill for how little I use it.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And once I do that, my desktop OS that I interact with is just going to be a virtual machine and use GPU passthrough to connect everything
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Send it to me ffs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    No because it's my desktop lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The most use this PC is getting right now is 979 Chrome tabs open right now
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This is my desktop there are many like it but it is mine alone
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Enabled PPPoE on router now no wifi connection lul
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Anyone knows
    where is Juan?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Taken by the feet police
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Horny jail?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It was a nationwide vote
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://store.steampowered.com/app/2139460/Once_Human/?fbclid=IwY2xjawDXSyhleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHb0aE...