My cousin just got a fake R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nero, Dec 5, 2007.

Dec 5, 2007

My cousin just got a fake R4 by Nero at 6:14 AM (7,265 Views / 0 Likes) 36 replies

  1. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] So yeah... He's seen me with my R4DS. Please, feel free to kill him and his big mouth. I wouldn't be surprised if the R4 was on a commericial the next week or so. (Just kidding, but you get the point.)

    His dad went to China to get an R4, because he is paranoid of shopping online.
    He came back the next week (Today.)

    I'm talking to my little cousin, and I'm worried about his R4, since he got it from China.
    I showed him this Pic:
    [​IMG]

    I asked him which box he got, and he said the one on the left.
    So now.. He has a fake R4. He says: "I don't care, it'll still work the same as yours!" (He's only 10.. But at least he broke out of his MMORPG habit.)

    He's coming over on Friday so I can set up his "R4" for him.

    So is there anything I can do with his counterfeit R4? I see that it's a poor MK5 clone... Although I have never used a Magickey product before. He told me it comes with a DS Lite slot cover too. (Which I doubt that is what it is)

    ~Nero
     


  2. Reduxed

    Member Reduxed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Vancouver baby!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    well one word..owned
     
  3. El-ahrairah

    Member El-ahrairah GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Country:
    United States
    He went all the way to China to get an R4? Haha, oh wow!

    If he was so paranoid about buying from a Chinese merchant, he could have just gotten one from RHS, they're based in New Jersey.
     
  4. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    why do i find it hard to believe your cousin's dad was like "hey since i don't like shopping online i'm going to china to get you that r4!"? unless he was going there already of course
     
  5. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    He was only 10 [​IMG] and he had already started to play MMORPG? Lucky you got him out now, i had a friend who was addicted you should see what they become [​IMG] but I got him off them. As long as it almost does the same job as an R4, who really cares, and plus his young and naive like he really cares.
     
  6. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    you guys with addiction to MMORPGs need Dial UP, when u cant even surf or download anything off the internetz, you wont even think about playing online.
    not to mention that you have to pay for every minute u r online for a 2kbps with disconnects.

    i welcome all addicts here to have a night online with me! mowhahahahah!
     
  7. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    hahaha i have fast net, but dont play mmorpg, but im addicted to checking this forum (an one other in poland [​IMG] ).
     
  8. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Is this the same cousin from that thread last week? The one who broke his DS and proceeded to play MAPLESTORY? You can punch him in the face for me.

    As for the fake R4 - if it is a NCard clone it should work well. I'm just wondering if you could use the USB adapter from the FCard (another clone) with your fake R4.

    If you could, I would go an try to find one. From what I've heard, copying to the NCard through the slot2 adapter takes FOREVER.
     
  9. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Just treat the fake R4 as if it were an N card and it will be fine. N cards are drag-and-drop too if I'm not wrong, so all you gotta do is ensure the firmware and stuff are up and running and drag those roms in.
     
  10. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep they play all the roms without a hitch [​IMG] the only thing thats annoying is the slot 2 linker you need to use which makes the transferring of files a little slow.

    If you need any help feel free to drop me a pm [​IMG]
     
  11. Jackreyes

    Jackreyes Newbie

    Thats quite funny lol
    he went to China?

    and I don't find the NCard's transfer rate slow,
    Its not too bad. Unless you transfer from a zip file or rar straight to the NCard.

    Should be fine if its an NCard clone.
     
  12. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If he went to China just to buy an r4 he could've at least risked £20 rather than the flight cost.... O.o
     
  13. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea you can buy 20 R4's of that price
     
  14. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    20 genuine R4's [​IMG]
     
  15. MacGnG

    Member MacGnG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Know Where
    Country:
    United States
    thats just dumb. there are many reputable online shops.... whatever
     
  16. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ZING !!!! [​IMG]
     
  17. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    OBJECTION! [cue Investigation~ Cornered (Variation) from PW OST]

    I thought
    You can't use an R4 (Clone or not) without a DS. [​IMG]
     
  18. Anakir

    Member Anakir Project: Melee

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,253
    Location:
    Canada.
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm pretty sure Nero means that his cousin's dad was on the way to China and will buy one for his son while he was there. I wouldn't see the point in flying to China just to get it either.
     
  19. laminaatplaat

    Member laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    your cousin is a waste of molecules.

    (from the information you are giving us)
     
  20. 94dan

    Member 94dan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    I heard NCards can't do multiplayer.

    Did I hear correct?
     

Share This Page