?
  1. Yes.

    131 vote(s)
    91.6%
  2. No.

    12 vote(s)
    8.4%
  3. 143 voter(s)
  1. MEwii44

    MEwii44 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I try doing that and it can't find the hacks.ini file, i left it in the preloader folder in the apps folder, does it go somewhere else?
     
  2. EeZeEpEe

    EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    hacks.ini should be in the root of the SD card.
     
  3. jmckutchin

    jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    xzxero,

    Just wanted to say I updated my wii to 4.2 using your method and it worked flawlessly. Kudos!
     
  4. Droskies

    Droskies Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    is it ok to not install the preloader if its never gonna be hooked up to the net ??
     
  5. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,036
    Country:
    Belgium
    Preloader is unrelated to the internet
    It can be used to block updates from DISC

    But you don't need to install preloader if you don't want to

    If you only want the hacks, try Startpatch
     
  6. Droskies

    Droskies Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    ok kool thanks !! [​IMG]
     
  7. meme666

    meme666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Ok, im going to sound like a total noob, but there are 120 pages to this topic and reading through them all is a bit tedious [​IMG] so if this has already been asked then im sorry and yes i am new to the wii modding scene so feel free to call me a noob, newbie etc as much as you like. [​IMG]

    Im using the 4.2 method. Anyway, im a little nervous about the Trucha Bug Restorer as it says it can brick my wii (and seeing as i worked very hard for the £232 to get a wii package i think i have every right to be nervous). I HAVE done a NAND backup and backed this up on my computer and backed up the Bootmii folder elsewhere and erased it from the sd card, like it says in the guide.

    I have Bootmii installed as Iso as its a brand spanking new wii. My question is am i able to install preloader first? incase the trucha bug restorer does like it says it might and brick my wii? Or do i need the Trucha Bug Restorer installed first inorder to install preloader? Also does anyone know the likelyhood of Trucha Bug Restorer bricking my wii? I have also heard about HBC screens flipping upside down.

    Like i say i am pretty nervous about this considering the amount i've paid for it, and i guess a few of you will be thinking, If shes that nervous then why is she doing it in the first place, answer is simple because i want to hehe.

    I am very gratefull for any future advice and responses given, so thank you in advance [​IMG]
     
  8. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,036
    Country:
    Belgium
    Anyone using this guide:

    It is possible that it is going to be replaced by another guide soon.

    Read about it
     
  9. MEwii44

    MEwii44 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    fyi this guide is amazing, did the trick! love you all!!
     
  10. yumcheetos

    yumcheetos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I have a problem.

    At the end of the guide it says you can install cIOSCORP 3.4 to enable backup play from the disc channel. Well, I got a virgin Wii and did this guide perfectly (updated first to official 4.2). I did everything right, so I installed cIOSCORP, it installed fine but my backup discs won't be read. THings like Neogamma work fine, but cioscorp isn't working.

    Any explanations? Obviously if this guide said it works by just installing it (cioscorp), then I must've done something wrong.
     
  11. longtom1

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Country:
    cIOSCRAP doesn't work on 4.2 yet wait for version 3.5
     
  12. yumcheetos

    yumcheetos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I just made it work.

    Using preloader I set the IOS the menu uses back to 60, instead of 70, and it works.

    However, are there any ill-effects that could happen from doing that?
     
  13. Unfortune

    Unfortune GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    Pakistan
    nope
     
  14. meme666

    meme666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    No one that can help me with my question ?? (scroll up ^^^^^ ) [​IMG]
     
  15. EeZeEpEe

    EeZeEpEe GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if you can install Preloader before everything else. Just follow the guide step by step and you should be fine. As I recommended to someone else earlier, print it out and mark off completed steps as you go through them.
     
  16. Hatsu

    Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Country:
    It's pretty safe, so just: DO WHAT THE FRIGGIN' GUIDE SAYS!
     
  17. meme666

    meme666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:

    Lol ok. I just dont want to brick my wii is all as it took me over a year to save £232 for my wii. [​IMG]
     
  18. longtom1

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Country:
    you pay'd £232 for a Wii you must be kidding can get them for about £80-£100
     
  19. meme666

    meme666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    i got it through a catalouge as all my local stores were fresh out of them [​IMG] it came with the wii (obviously) mario kart and wheel and lego batman
     
  20. meme666

    meme666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Ok, have done everything up till the preloader and its saying Got Root! Ticket could not be found :s why is it doing that [​IMG]

    Like i've said before yes im a total noob at this i just need help [​IMG] and you guys seem real nice [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Modify, below,