Official MediCat USB - A Multiboot Linux USB for PC Repair

  • Thread starter Jayro
  • Start date
  • Views 8,394,962
  • Replies 3,958
  • Likes 278

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
OP
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,085
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,297
Country
United States
Can you add Cisco TeslaCrypt? It's a free tool used to decrypt files locked by ransomwares. Can you add Shadow Explorer too?
I couldn't get either of these working under WinPE, so they won't be included in my release, but feel free to add them in if you can get them working.

However, Unstoppable Copier, Autoruns, and NirLauncher all made the cut. :)
 
Last edited by Jayro,

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
OP
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,085
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,297
Country
United States
What do you mean by GFX Boot? Upon booting up, it should show a black screen with a MedCat logo for a few seconds, then take you to the main menu, pictured in the screenshots on page 1.
 

Shoshi

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
56
Country
United States
So I decided to go fresh and use another USB layout and it works there. But before I decided to change it up, I kludged together a setup that works on your MediCat layout with some mods. This utilizes code that WinSetupFromUSB makes but I edited it.

usb1.png


In antivirus.cfg I have my KAV entry like this

Code:
label KAV test
menu label title KAV test
KERNEL /boot/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/multiboot/menu.lst
#end kav

In the multiboot folder menu.lst which can be called anything because it is just a config file, the KAV code looks like this.

Code:
map --unmap=0:0xff
map --unhook && map --rehook
cat --hex --locate=PoLPu@ (md)0x3D0+0x130 > nul && echo Cannot continue if PLoP is active, please start this entry without loading PLoP first && echo && pause Press any key to return to the main menu && configfile /menu.lst
set /a dev=*0x8280&0xff
root (%dev%,0)
set ISO=/ISO/kav_rescue_10.iso
ls %ISO% > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf /usbdrive.tag|| echo Error! Could not find usbdrive.tag && echo  && pause Press any key to return to the main menu && configfile /menu.lst
ls %ISO% > nul || find --set-root --devices=hf %ISO% || echo Error! Could not find %ISO% && echo  && pause Press any key to return to the main menu && configfile /menu.lst
map %ISO% (0xff) || map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 %ISO% (0xff) || echo FATAL ERROR mapping %ISO%, please check if file is present and defragmented && pause Press any key to return to main menu && configfile /menu.lst
#http://reboot.pro/topic/9916-grub4dos-isohybrided/page-2#entry88531
#http://www.rmprepusb.com/tutorials/tails
set /a dev=*0x82a0&0xff
debug 1
parttype (%dev%,3) | set check=
debug off
set check=%check:~-5,4%
if "%check%"=="0x00" partnew (%dev%,3) 0 0 0 && partnew (%dev%,3) 0x00 %ISO%
if not "%check%"=="0x00" echo WARNING: PARTITION TABLE 4 IN BIOS DEVICE %dev% IS ALREADY IN USE! && echo  && echo To prevent possible data loss will not continue further && pause && configfile /menu.lst
map --rehook
root (0xff)
chainloader (0xff)

That code is similar to what WinSetupFromUSB makes as I stated earlier.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jayro

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
OP
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,085
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,297
Country
United States
That's some good work there @Shoshi, nice job! :yaysp:




I have a few important notes to share about the upcoming release:

==> It's going to be a hefty one, weighing in at around 4.3GB for the full MediCat DVD ISO, and between 2.2GB (32-bit) and 2.5GB (64-bit) for the Mini Windows 10 ISOs.

==> The full MediCat DVD ISO will require an 8GB USB flash drive, minimum (Unless you mod the ISO first).

==> The Mini Windows 10 ISOs will require 2GB of system RAM and a 4GB USB flash drive, minimum.

==> Rufus has been updated to v2.7, and is already in the Downloads folder.

==> I might release a beta, still undecided. If I do, it will only be a bug hunt; No additional features will be added after the beta. So far, I haven't run into any major show-stopping issues.

==> One small known issue I have found is Comodo Antivirus only seems to boot into text mode from USB. I may try the flat file method as a work-around, more testing is needed.



Other thoughts:
I tried my hardest to keep the main ISO under 3.99GB, but even with shrinking the Windows Recovery Disc's .wim files, it only shaved off a few Megabytes each. However, you can always remove some PortableApps to make it fit the 3.99GB mark if you desire. The Main ISO will never exceed 4.3GB though, so it will always fit a regular cheap DVD-R.

And as always, thank you all for your suggestions and help. Together we are shaping MediCat DVD to become the best damn Hiren's replacement on the web! ^_^
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shoshi

Derek H.

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
51
Country
United States
Is there any way you could test adding parted magic back in, because when I attempted to do so, it couldn't find the sqfs file for pmagic
 

Shoshi

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
56
Country
United States
I have been working on a new multiboot layout wich uses Grub4Dos and gfxmenu and it seems to work on a USB drive just fine. Much faster than using Ultraiso to make changes to an iso image and then test that way,. It works on USB and it looks like this.

VirtualBox_WinPe_22_02_2016_03_36_13.jpg


When I put it into a bootable ISO it loads the menu just fine. But when I select to launch one of the antivirus rescue cd's I get this.

VirtualBox_WinPe 2_22_02_2016_15_03_54.jpg


@Jayro I do apologize about taking over your thread. Does anyone have any ideas?
 
Last edited by Shoshi,

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
OP
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,085
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,297
Country
United States
Is there any way you could test adding parted magic back in, because when I attempted to do so, it couldn't find the sqfs file for pmagic
People are finding PartedMagic runs successfully from a folder named "pmagic" on the root of the DVD, flat-file method. As for me, I've run out of space on the disc, and Lubuntu already has the latest Gparted 0.25.0-3 built-in. And once PartedMagic became a forced paywall donation, I had no other choice but to drop it. The price of $5 has now nearly doubled to $9, or $49 for a year subscription. Ridiculous:

Screenshot from 2016-02-22 20:37:09.png


--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have been working on a new multiboot layout wich uses Grub4Dos and gfxmenu and it seems to work on a USB drive just fine. Much faster than using Ultraiso to make changes to an iso image and then test that way,. It works on USB and it looks like this.

View attachment 39928

When I put it into a bootable ISO it loads the menu just fine. But when I select to launch one of the antivirus rescue cd's I get this.

View attachment 39929

@Jayro I do apologize about taking over your thread. Does anyone have any ideas?
Are you using something like Sardu or Yumi to make the USB, or just building off of MediCat?
 

Shoshi

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
56
Country
United States
I tried all sorts of tools at first but none worked that great for all of the tools I wanted to package. So I started basing it on MediCat. After a while I decided I wanted to use GFXboot and I could not get it to work with yours so I started again basing i off the ISO that Winbuilder makes. Winbuilder has a plugin for for other os multiboot. Sadly the packaged ISO would not correctly mutiboot Bitdefender, ESET, etc. But I ended up using that ISO s the basis.
 

GamerzHell9137

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
4,038
Trophies
2
Age
28
XP
3,727
Country
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Why is it called MINI Windows 10? Is it the normal Pro version of W10 or what? I'm confused. I guess its not "cracked" but can you input your own Windows 10 key, right? The FAQ didn't really help me, only confused me more.
 

Shoshi

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
56
Country
United States
Why is it called MINI Windows 10? Is it the normal Pro version of W10 or what? I'm confused. I guess its not "cracked" but can you input your own Windows 10 key, right? The FAQ didn't really help me, only confused me more.

It's not a full installable version of Windows. It just runs live and is mainly used for troubleshooting. There is no way to add a Windows key and no need.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jayro

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, MAGA supporters be wearing tin foil hats lol.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, whats maga?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    It stands for Maniacs Against General Acceptance
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, people rejecting general consensus about stuff?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yup, nuh its really just Trump followers
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, im not american so i dont care about trump
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    or us elections
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Me niether, us north Koreans don't care
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i don't care either, even if i'm american
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    truth be told, i agree with psi, i dislike both candidates, but i'd probably vote trump simply because the economy was better during his presidency
    +1
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    Just be careful, if trump ends up winning and using project 2025 America might really change...for the worse.
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    I'm not american and even that sends shivers down my spine.
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    anything that offers trump an opportunity to become an actual dictator
    is bad in my book, i could care less if it wasn't for that...
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Canada: America's Russia
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    people are so dramatic that I can't even tell if they are being serious
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Why so serious!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @BakerMan, yeah that's about the only reason I would vote for Trump over Biden.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    In my opinion on all other factors they are pretty much the same.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Economy was better under Trump, according to Fox News.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I don't give a fuck about what happens to America but I would like it if your shit didn't spill out on the rest of the world, thank you.
    +2
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    A Far Right news service company
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I give a fuck about what happens to America but I would like it if our shit didn't spill out on the rest of the world, thank you.
    +2
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/shorts/OvD30K-KN3k