MarioKart Pwns

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by giantpune, Jul 30, 2010.

Jul 30, 2010

MarioKart Pwns by giantpune at 7:38 AM (82,805 Views / 0 Likes) 303 replies

  1. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States


    What is this?
    It is a method to allow people from all regions to use exploits for games that wouldn't normally run on their Wii.

    How does it work?
    Simply get a game with multiple non-update-partitions that boots on your Wii. Then replace a non-game partition with the game partition from a game which has a working exploit. I have only tested this with MarioKart, but I don't see why it won't work with any game that switches partitions. And since there is a MarioKart for all regions, everybody should be covered.

    What do I need?
    It requires a way to boot non-retail games ( mod-chip or cIOScrap ).
    Since you are combining 2 games into 1, it will result in a really huge image. So, you need a DVD-DL or a wode or some other way to play a bigass game.
    No trucha bug required [​IMG] .

    How do I do it?
    Dump the 2 games you want to use, grab the DATA partition from the game that has the exploit. Put it in place of the non-game partition in the other game. Load the thing and trigger the partition change. It will start the second game and you can go on to run the exploit and do whatever you want with it.


    EDIT>>
    after a bit of messing around, i cant get mariokart -> SSBB to work ( 001 error ). i think this is probably caused by a bug in the WODE firmware, and MAY be correctable if they ever open up the source. maybe it will works using a game that is smaller than mariokart. but i havent one to test, so somebody else will have to do it.
     


  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    This is genius. How has no one thought of this before
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    great work as always! I'm sure Japanese and Korean Wii owners are especially happy right now!

    thx!
     
  4. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i believe this can also allow people to fix 003 wiis, but i dont have one to try it on.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is gonna let a lot of people whos little brother/sister/cousin/friend/next door neighbour/some guy/girl mom or dad updated by accident

    Do cioscorp ioses survive an official update though ?

    and afaik, this is the only working hack for the Jap Wiis [​IMG]
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, all corped IOSs have their version #'s maxxed out (65535) in order to survive ninty updates [​IMG]
     
  7. airline38

    Member airline38 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    746
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Not sure if I understand this way correctly.

    Does this mean to add the 2nd DATA partition to the 1st game's ISO ?
    (then there will be 2 DATA partitions in the 1st game ? ) Is that right ?


    1. Use Wii scrubber to load the 1st game's ISO (EX: Mario Kart)
    2. Replace Installer partition (Mario Kart) with the DATA partition of LEGO Indiana Jones

    Is that right ?
     
  8. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow, this is great!

    Do you reckon this would work with Wii Fit? Smaller ISO size, that way.
     
  9. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nice work, but people still need a way to boot up backups (modchip or wode).
     
  10. DunkrWunkah

    Member DunkrWunkah GBAtemp's Official Dunkr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Country:
    United States
    Say I have a Japanese Wii. I would need to use an NTSC-J copy of MarioKart, and an NTSC-U version of Indy?
     
  11. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Yes, if you are on SM 4.1 or later (which you'd need to be to bother doing this).
     
  12. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't comprehend how you could get the game to play without that. And if you do have a method to play burnt discs, then wouldn't you also have region free features to play Lego Indiana Jones or Brawl? Am I missing something?

    I'll just clarify that I say this from the virgin 4.3 perspective. That's the only type of Wii that absolutely needs game exploits right now.

    Edit: Just reread the main post and realised pune already covered the above. My bad. Don't know how I missed it [​IMG].
     
  13. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    The actual problem for NTSC-J wiis is the non existing region free on virgin 4.3 wii and/or non-existing exploit for a NTSC-J game...

    So is Mario Kart + SSBB tested? And how is this actually used? Meaning -> When does Mario Kart switches partitions?

    ps: Mario Kart + SSBB makes a disc bigger than DL by the way.
     
  14. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Same... I'm not sure to understand the need for this complicate method: since you still need a way to boot backup anyway, just get a copy of US Brawl or that Lego Game and run the exploit, why getting into all this complication ?

    I don't remember that these exploits needed a region-specific console or system menu to work, do they ?
     
  15. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    You could probably delete the subspace emissary videos or replace the files with smaller ones like what's done for the DVD5 version. You aren't going to need those to do Smash Stack, I guess.
     
  16. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    4.2 & higher have region checking that modchips cant bypass. so, the system menu boots a game that is the correct region, then the partition switcheroo is where it boots a game from the other region.
     
  17. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey

    Well these two facts,
    1. Chips can't fool region protection of system menu starting from 4.2..
    2. There is no working exploit that targets a NTSC-J game (well on 4.3)

    I doubt this will work with a mixture of Korean and another region game, so I left it out... (but might work since Korean wiis have two common keys and they have affinity to NTSC-J region)
     
  18. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah, I see. That makes sense and explains why this could be useful.

    On a side note, can 4.2 and higher Wiis still run homebrew discs or has that been blocked too? If not, you could just put the Hackmii installer onto a burnt disc, so I guess the answer to my question is that they have been.
     
  19. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    thanks for the clearup, I don't have a modchip [​IMG]
     
  20. jason_y

    Newcomer jason_y Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    as this doesn't need "trucha bug",
    would it be possible to do it like the "DISCSWAP"?
    replacing the main.dol in INSTALLER partition with LoadMii.dol?
     

Share This Page