Mario Kart Arcade GP 2 fully playable on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LuigiBlood, Apr 1, 2012.

Apr 1, 2012
  1. LuigiBlood
    OP

    Member LuigiBlood SNES and 64DD Savior

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    France
    So, a while ago, crediar uploaded this video:

    [yt]Sy5Wt9LGMyc[/yt]

    Mario Kart Arcade GP 1 & 2 can fully run on the Wii, but the Wavebird controller is currently not supported (as the description of this video says).
    I made a new topic because it is in no way related to DIOS MIOS Lite, it's a different project.

    So there's some lags here and there, but in race it seems playable.

    EDIT: Crediar removed the video, but he really did make it work.
     


  2. Sonic4Ever

    Member Sonic4Ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    France
    This better not be an april fool bullshit
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,519
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    It doesnt surprise me to see its working, we were seeing a demo of gp1 already, not ingame but the intro on start looked a bit like the graphics of gp2, and that already worked pretty well, and to this point gp1 already was working ingame (irc ftw). I hope he'll finally release it now ;)
     
  4. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You didn't watch the whole vid then?

    It wasn't a very good game either, felt like a poor clone.
     
  5. Sonic4Ever

    Member Sonic4Ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    France
    I just did. Gonna burn his house down.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,395
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I can confirm it's not an April's fool joke.


    It seems 2:00 is still the hardcoded time limit per session so he can work instead of playing :lol:
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    The real Mario Kart looks more fun. Might try this out if bored.
     
  8. ploggy

    Member ploggy WAKA! WAKA!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know this is an April fools but I SO wanted this to happen :P (I know he is actually working on this, but this would have been the best time to release it)
     
  9. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    God I loved that simpsons clip at the end!
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. SpongeFreak52

    Member SpongeFreak52 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    Country:
    United States
    Even if this is a joke, there's got to be some credibility to it. Clearly it's not running on an actual Triforce kit, as seen from the menu lag and disabled camera.
     
  11. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I just watched a vid off youtube of the game running on a triforce kit with a disabled camera so I don't think that isn't unlikely. Menu lag I can't speak to.
     
  12. SpongeFreak52

    Member SpongeFreak52 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    Country:
    United States
    Has there been a demonstration of that credits mod before? If that can be done then it's pretty safe to assume that the inputs have been cracked. All in all I don't know what to think about this. I want it to be real so badly....ugh I hate April 1st online. lol
     
  13. LWares87

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The first ever time I saw Mario Kart Arcade GP was at my local TenPin. I've always wanted to play this game and to be honest... I would rather wait, than donate €100 Euros (which I can't afford, unfortunately) to make this even possible.
     
  14. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Practically every arcade game includes a service menu for the cabinet's owner to change various settings, from difficulty to credit cost, etc. It's the same way machines are put into "free play" mode at kids' birthdays and such. Generally it's accessed through a simple button inside a locked section of the cabinet.
     
  15. LuigiBlood
    OP

    Member LuigiBlood SNES and 64DD Savior

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    France
    Just found out that he removed the video. Anyway, it's not really a joke, it did show that Mario Kart Arcade GP 2 is fully playable on Wii.
     
  16. SpongeFreak52

    Member SpongeFreak52 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    Country:
    United States
    I'm familiar with service menus and whatnot, I'm saying that I've never seen a game that can input 99 credits on boot, it has to be some type of hack. Which brings up the question, why not just enable freeplay, unless he hasn't gotten saving to work, which makes sense I guess.
     
  17. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Looking great, well i dont think that anything of this will see a release sometime soon.

    you could send a donation to crediar and ask for it.

    And OP, this is fully related to DML bc this in fact is a dml ;)
     
  18. LuigiBlood
    OP

    Member LuigiBlood SNES and 64DD Savior

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    France
    I meant DML as a GameCube SD loader, I know that this is similar as it still replaces the MIOS (judging from the start of the video), but this is a Triforce SD loader there. ^^
     
  19. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like some other guys found a way to emulate Triforce too.

    removed video to keep the this looks fake stuff low.

    just wanted to point out there are other ppl working on this for some time but I really dont care at all.
     
  20. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,395
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    If they release it, they will have to include the source codes if it's a modified DML. It would benefit everyone, no?
    They should share and work together and not against each other.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page