ROM Hack M3 Spirit Tracks Thread

Ryufushichou

I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
669
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Raimon Junior High
XP
495
Country
I am staring this thread as i think i have found the problem for m3, its in the ARM7 file. But i dont know if this is correct this thread is for those who have M3's and are going to help! (not winge and moan) us find a way around this.


Turns out our ARM7 is the whole reason it doesnt work, once patched you cant save, if you stick in a new ARM7 the game loads, you just cant see a thing. even when unpatched game loads but you cant see a thing. current theory is about to be tested will post results when i haz them.

Didnt work anyone else got ideas?
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
1
Age
56
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,287
Country
I'm afraid I'm not much of a programmer but I have used DSLazy and (Arm7Fix in the past to 'patch' some games that failed to make a save file'

Would it be possible to Patch the game with a ARM7 that works, THEN Crack it ??
(I've tried but the crack expects the file size to be 134217728 bytes long)

I've tried Arm7Fix (with SimCity J as the 'doner') and got pass the nintendo screen - but then I get 2 black screens

EDIT: I vaguely remember that ther use to be a program that 'adds' bytes to the end of a game ROM - but can't remember where I saw it.
Perhaps if I can find it, I could try extending the 'patched' ROM to the right size for the 'Crack' to work
 

Shardnax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
199
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
311
Country
United States
M3 will probably have an update for the firmware in a couple days, after all, it's a Zelda game. I'm going to see if it runs when I get the chance to get it on my cart. though. I will let you know.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
2,586
Trophies
2
XP
3,814
Country
United States
CannonFoddr said:
I'm afraid I'm not much of a programmer but I have used DSLazy and (Arm7Fix in the past to 'patch' some games that failed to make a save file'

Would it be possible to Patch the game with a ARM7 that works, THEN Crack it ??
(I've tried but the crack expects the file size to be 134217728 bytes long)

I've tried Arm7Fix (with SimCity J as the 'doner') and got pass the nintendo screen - but then I get 2 black screens

EDIT: I vaguely remember that ther use to be a program that 'adds' bytes to the end of a game ROM - but can't remember where I saw it.
Perhaps if I can find it, I could try extending the 'patched' ROM to the right size for the 'Crack' to work
That could work, but I think you'd still get the no video output error. =\

Also, you're basically looking for a program that's the opposite of a trimmer...Couldn't you do that with a hex editor? It would probably be a little more complicated but it would do essentially the same thing.
 

blacksheep998

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
87
Country
United States
Vincent, from your comment it sounds like you can actually run the game, but can't save.

How did you manage that? Myself and almost everyone I've spoken to with an M3 is still stuck on the nintendo screen.

And you can use filechop to increase the size of the rom. When it asks what size you want to cut the file to just enter 134217728 or whatever the size of the official rom is. Since that's larger than the current filesize it will add blank bytes onto the end of the file until it reaches the specified size.
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
1
Age
56
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,287
Country
blacksheep998 said:
And you can use filechop to increase the size of the rom. When it asks what size you want to cut the file to just enter 134217728 or whatever the size of the official rom is. Since that's larger than the current filesize it will add blank bytes onto the end of the file until it reaches the specified size.
Where do you find 'filechop' (can you provide a link) - I've done a Google & found something called 'filechop' which is a command line program - only problem is when I use 'filechop.exe fixed.nds 134217728' nothing happens (fixed.nds' is the name of the 'Arm7 patched file')

As for using a Hex editor to pad-it-out.
I've tried that (with 'HxD') & got the file EXACTLY the same size as a clean ROM (134,217,728 bytes) - yet when using the crack, although I end up with a 'Cracked' version I also get 'checksum errors' showing while it's cracking it - & of course trying to run it , & nothing changes
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
2,586
Trophies
2
XP
3,814
Country
United States
Yeah that's exactly what I did, and it just froze at the Xenophobia screen. It was worth a try though I guess.
QUOTE said:
Vincent, from your comment it sounds like you can actually run the game, but can't save.

How did you manage that? Myself and almost everyone I've spoken to with an M3 is still stuck on the nintendo screen.
What he means is that you can bypass the logo freeze with an arm7 swap but the video will cut out while all the sounds and buttons and stylus work. Basically, the game works, but the screens are black.
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
1
Age
56
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,287
Country
Subtle Demise said:
Yeah that's exactly what I did, and it just froze at the Xenophobia screen. It was worth a try though I guess.
QUOTE said:
Vincent, from your comment it sounds like you can actually run the game, but can't save.

How did you manage that? Myself and almost everyone I've spoken to with an M3 is still stuck on the nintendo screen.
What he means is that you can bypass the logo freeze with an arm7 swap but the video will cut out while all the sounds and buttons and stylus work. Basically, the game works, but the screens are black.
Hmm - I wonder what arm7 swap he used ?? - I've tried some other Arm7 & STILL can't get pass the Nintendo screen (he he I've even tried Zelda - Phantom hourglass as a 'doner')

EDIT: I think I've found a reason for 'lock-ups', but I need confirmation on it just to prove it's not a fluke
I have managed to get the Unpatched game to run on DSi (1.4E) & M3i0 with the lateset Firmware [Sakura 1.44 & 4.6X], but unfortunately the SAVES still don't work

I've found out it won't work on SDHC cards (I've got an 8Gb) but for a weird reason it WILL work on standard MicroSD cards (2Gb or less)

If possible - can other M3 users try it out (if possible) on standard SD cards & report back if it works or not
 

hyjacked

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
7
Trophies
1
XP
107
Country
United States
Yesssss.......Just to confirm, DSv1.4u m3i0 with latest update(sakura)+xpa patch+save file from this thread....working 100% I'm an hour into it and havn't had one glitch, saving and all. thanks
 

Melly Pix

Gbatemp's Lady Vulpix
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
182
Trophies
1
Location
Kelowna, B.C.
XP
1,057
Country
Canada
i confirm that this process all works out ^^
we have the save file link and i hope this helps you out without need for searching
http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=89197
link to the thread for the latest m3 sakura/touchpod firmware
and the xpa patch link is in the op of that thread as well

OP needs to be changed in this thread ^^
overall process works, i use an 8gb micro sdhc card
 

Raiven

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
42
Trophies
0
XP
28
Country
Netherlands
Hmm :/ mine still freezes when trying to ride the train. also, I don't think I got the save-file working..
Could someone make a little nub tutorial for me?
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
1
Age
56
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,287
Country
Congrates to all those who manage to figure it all out

Justr got back from shopping & found it's been solved

I can confirm it fully works on a M3i0 + Dsi + 8Gb SDHC card (Traind Controls & Save works)
[Just would LOVE to not have the 'Xeno' splash screen
hate2.gif
]
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Oh lord, I actually can see Nintendo pulling that one, II for 2 and also a homage to the Wii
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Super Crown Bowser edition Switch lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Analog stick nipples
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea i have couple other sites I find Switch titles also and just looked, I don't see it out/leaked yet...(paper mario)
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Or even worse; circle pad ball fondlers like on the 3DS
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I just want a Pokemon Hell Raiser fan game 😭
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Anyone wanna play with my joydock
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Biomutant looks cool tho, may have to try that
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Usually when such a big title leaks the Temp will be the first to report about it (going off of historical reports here, Pokemon SV being the latest one I can recall seeing pop up here)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I still like how a freaking mp3 file hacks webos all that security defeated by text yet again
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They have simulators for everything nowdays, cray cray. How about a sim that shows you playing the Switch.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's called yuzu
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I want a 120hz 4k tv but crazy how more expensive the 120hz over the 60hz are. Or even more crazy is the price of 8k's.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No real point since movies are 30fps
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not a big movie buff, more of a gamer tbh. And Series X is 120hz 8k ready, but yea only 120hz 4k games out right now, but thinking of in the future.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mostly why you never see TV manufacturers going post 60hz
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I only watch tv when i goto bed, it puts me to sleep, and I have a nas drive filled w my fav shows so i can watch them in order, commercial free. I usually watch Married w Children, or South Park
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Stremio ruined my need for nas
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I stream from Nas to firestick, one on every tv, and use Kodi. I'm happy w it, plays everything. (I pirate/torrent shows/movies on pc, and put on nas)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kodi repost are still pretty popular
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What the hell is Kodi reposts? what do you mean, or "Wut?" -xdqwerty
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Google them basically web crawlers to movie sites
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    oh you mean the 3rd party apps on Kodi, yea i know what you mean, yea there are still a few cool ones, in fact watched the new planet of the apes movie other night w wifey thru one, was good pic surprisingly, not a cam
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: oh you mean the 3rd party apps on Kodi, yea i know what you mean, yea there are still a few cool...