M3 Spirit Tracks Thread

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Ryufushichou, Dec 4, 2009.

Dec 4, 2009

M3 Spirit Tracks Thread by Ryufushichou at 2:14 PM (3,527 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Ryufushichou
    OP

    Member Ryufushichou I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Raimon Junior High
    Country:
    Australia
    I am staring this thread as i think i have found the problem for m3, its in the ARM7 file. But i dont know if this is correct this thread is for those who have M3's and are going to help! (not winge and moan) us find a way around this.


    Turns out our ARM7 is the whole reason it doesnt work, once patched you cant save, if you stick in a new ARM7 the game loads, you just cant see a thing. even when unpatched game loads but you cant see a thing. current theory is about to be tested will post results when i haz them.

    Didnt work anyone else got ideas?
     


  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm afraid I'm not much of a programmer but I have used DSLazy and (Arm7Fix in the past to 'patch' some games that failed to make a save file'

    Would it be possible to Patch the game with a ARM7 that works, THEN Crack it ??
    (I've tried but the crack expects the file size to be 134217728 bytes long)

    I've tried Arm7Fix (with SimCity J as the 'doner') and got pass the nintendo screen - but then I get 2 black screens

    EDIT: I vaguely remember that ther use to be a program that 'adds' bytes to the end of a game ROM - but can't remember where I saw it.
    Perhaps if I can find it, I could try extending the 'patched' ROM to the right size for the 'Crack' to work
     
  3. Shardnax

    Member Shardnax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    M3 will probably have an update for the firmware in a couple days, after all, it's a Zelda game. I'm going to see if it runs when I get the chance to get it on my cart. though. I will let you know.
     
  4. Subtle Demise

    Member Subtle Demise Entitled and Ungrateful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Country:
    United States
    That could work, but I think you'd still get the no video output error. =\

    Also, you're basically looking for a program that's the opposite of a trimmer...Couldn't you do that with a hex editor? It would probably be a little more complicated but it would do essentially the same thing.
     
  5. blacksheep998

    Newcomer blacksheep998 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Vincent, from your comment it sounds like you can actually run the game, but can't save.

    How did you manage that? Myself and almost everyone I've spoken to with an M3 is still stuck on the nintendo screen.

    And you can use filechop to increase the size of the rom. When it asks what size you want to cut the file to just enter 134217728 or whatever the size of the official rom is. Since that's larger than the current filesize it will add blank bytes onto the end of the file until it reaches the specified size.
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where do you find 'filechop' (can you provide a link) - I've done a Google & found something called 'filechop' which is a command line program - only problem is when I use 'filechop.exe fixed.nds 134217728' nothing happens (fixed.nds' is the name of the 'Arm7 patched file')

    As for using a Hex editor to pad-it-out.
    I've tried that (with 'HxD') & got the file EXACTLY the same size as a clean ROM (134,217,728 bytes) - yet when using the crack, although I end up with a 'Cracked' version I also get 'checksum errors' showing while it's cracking it - & of course trying to run it , & nothing changes
     
  7. Subtle Demise

    Member Subtle Demise Entitled and Ungrateful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's exactly what I did, and it just froze at the Xenophobia screen. It was worth a try though I guess.
    What he means is that you can bypass the logo freeze with an arm7 swap but the video will cut out while all the sounds and buttons and stylus work. Basically, the game works, but the screens are black.
     
  8. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm - I wonder what arm7 swap he used ?? - I've tried some other Arm7 & STILL can't get pass the Nintendo screen (he he I've even tried Zelda - Phantom hourglass as a 'doner')

    EDIT: I think I've found a reason for 'lock-ups', but I need confirmation on it just to prove it's not a fluke
    I have managed to get the Unpatched game to run on DSi (1.4E) & M3i0 with the lateset Firmware [Sakura 1.44 & 4.6X], but unfortunately the SAVES still don't work

    I've found out it won't work on SDHC cards (I've got an 8Gb) but for a weird reason it WILL work on standard MicroSD cards (2Gb or less)

    If possible - can other M3 users try it out (if possible) on standard SD cards & report back if it works or not
     
  9. Subtle Demise

    Member Subtle Demise Entitled and Ungrateful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Country:
    United States
    Mine is a regular 2 GB SD card. Doesn't work.
     
  10. Subtle Demise

    Member Subtle Demise Entitled and Ungrateful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Country:
    United States
  11. crazyace

    Newcomer crazyace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    tried the save and ,so far so good my game saves lets just cross our fingers from hear on out
     
  12. hyjacked

    Newcomer hyjacked Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Yesssss.......Just to confirm, DSv1.4u m3i0 with latest update(sakura)+xpa patch+save file from this thread....working 100% I'm an hour into it and havn't had one glitch, saving and all. thanks
     
  13. Ryufushichou
    OP

    Member Ryufushichou I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Raimon Junior High
    Country:
    Australia
    Great job, nice work Subtle.
     
  14. Melly Pix

    Member Melly Pix Gbatemp's Lady Vulpix

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Kelowna, B.C.
    Country:
    Canada
    i confirm that this process all works out ^^
    we have the save file link and i hope this helps you out without need for searching
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=89197
    link to the thread for the latest m3 sakura/touchpod firmware
    and the xpa patch link is in the op of that thread as well

    OP needs to be changed in this thread ^^
    overall process works, i use an 8gb micro sdhc card
     
  15. EverlongNDS

    Newcomer EverlongNDS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Seixal
    Country:
    Portugal
    great job!works like a charm
     
  16. EntityMaster

    Newcomer EntityMaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    m3ds sakura with 4GB SDHC card works well. Everything is fine.
     
  17. Raiven

    Newcomer Raiven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm :/ mine still freezes when trying to ride the train. also, I don't think I got the save-file working..
    Could someone make a little nub tutorial for me?
     
  18. Ryufushichou
    OP

    Member Ryufushichou I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Raimon Junior High
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to use the XPA crack then Rename the rom and the save to the same thing.
     
  19. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
  20. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Congrates to all those who manage to figure it all out

    Justr got back from shopping & found it's been solved

    I can confirm it fully works on a M3i0 + Dsi + 8Gb SDHC card (Traind Controls & Save works)
    [Just would LOVE to not have the 'Xeno' splash screen [​IMG] ]
     

Share This Page