1. morrissey2k7

    OP morrissey2k7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just curious if I were to use uTikDownloadHelper to install Yoshi Touch & Go which I sacrificed to install Haxchi, would I be able to do that with no issues, or would it overwrite my Haxchi installation and mess things up. Hope asking this doesn't break any rules, but I obviously purchased Yoshi T&G, or I wouldn't have been able to install Haxchi in the first place.
     
  2. GinBunBun

    GinBunBun GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    I pretty sure thats a huge no. I would have suggested buying one of the other more worthless games like brain age for use with haxchi. So if you want another DS game to use so you can play Yoshi touch & go get brain age instead. You also have the option of playing yosh touch & go in loadiine. That way it wouldnt even effect the haxchi'd one installed on sysnand.
     
    Last edited by GinBunBun, Jan 26, 2017
  3. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,804
    Country:
    United States
    what can be done 100% safely is to play Yoshi Touch & Go using loadiine.
     
  4. morrissey2k7

    OP morrissey2k7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, folks. I'm not that sad about it. I can play it on my 3DS if I really want to, but it's not a great game (which is why I chose it for Haxchi). I like Brain Age better, actually.
     
  5. RemixDeluxe

    RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    Flashcarts are so cheap these days. For what you paid on the DS game can get you a decent one to run on 3DS and play all the DS games you want, natively too unlike the Wii U VC.
     
  6. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,661
    Country:
    This is actually how some people bricked their WiiU while using CBHC. Plain Haxchi getting overwritten wouldn't brick of course.
     
  7. yahoo

    yahoo G͝B͢A͜t͞em҉p̡ R̨e͢g̷ul̨aŗ
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    If you download a version from a different region so it has a different title id, yes, you can. But installing the exact title id that you used for haxchi, will mess up haxchi.
     
  8. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    Don't need flashcards for 3ds. It has Luma CFW.
     
  9. Tomy Sakazaki

    Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    Brazil
    Luma alone can't play DS games. The loader to run commercial DS games from SD is far from being a good replacement for DS flashcards due to it's lack of save redirection to SD card.
     
  10. CosmoCortney

    CosmoCortney Carbonated water tastes like TV static
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,754
    Country:
    Germany
    After installing haxchi Star Fox Command was gone on redNAND. Instead I had a game with a questionmark icon which could not be deleted from redNAND or redownloaded from eShop. So I tried reinstalling it with WUP Installer Y Mod and it was back. Just don't install it on sysNAND or USB
     
  11. ddurdle

    ddurdle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    I wasn't aware you could run VC from loadiine.
     
  12. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah sorry missed the ds part. Was thinking 3ds. I have a gateway for those
     
  13. Tomy Sakazaki

    Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    Brazil
    Not only VC that was actually released, but there are ways to make custom VC games for Loadiine too.
     
  14. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,098
    Country:
    Germany
    You have 3 options:
    1. Install your Haxchi game but from a region that you didn't use for Haxchi.
      So if you used US Yoshi Touch & Go just go ahead and install EU Yoshi Touch & Go.
    2. Change Yoshi Touch & Go's titleID before you install it with WUP installer so it won't "bite" the already existing install
    3. Play it through Loadiine
     
  15. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    This is great info. Should be in the HaxChi OP. @FIX94 don't know if you have a section on installing the same game that haxchi is installed on or not. I better go look
     
  16. FreezingIceKirby

    FreezingIceKirby Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Loadiine's what I used, too. I purchased/downloaded the game off the eShop (in my case, Spirit Tracks), made a backup/dump with DDD, installed Haxchi, then moved the dumped Spirit Tracks to the appropriate folder on my SD card for Loadiine. Outside of the initial loading at the very beginning, it works like a charm.
     
  17. RemixDeluxe

    RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    Sure. If you don't mind having a terrible compatibility. Be my guest.
     
  18. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,098
    Country:
    Germany
    Terrible compatibility? Luma is better than any flashcard.
    However that's off topic.
     
  19. RemixDeluxe

    RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    Why is custom firmware being discussed when we're talking about playing DS games? They have nothing to do with each other.
     
  20. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5,837
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to play ds roms without a flashcart you need to be able to install .cias and therefor need cfw
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - reinstall, possible, install