IMPORTANT TO ANYONE CONSIDERING BUYING A NEW FLASHCARD SINCE IT WON&#3

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Squirps, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, this topic was created by me to inform all of you guys who are wanting to buy a new flashcard because it is blocked by DSi system menu 1.4. Well, I have actually discovered a way to make your flashcard work on fw 1.4. It is very simple, really. This method will really help people whose card does not a fix yet and you really want fw 1.4 AND you want to be able to play games/homebrew with your flashcard. This will also help people who don't want to buy a new flashcard that works on dsi 1.4. What you need to do is to first buy an Action Replay DSi Max, about $20 USD. Plug in your flashcard into the AR DSi, plug the AR in the DSi and turn your DSi on. The system menu should show the AR card as a Game & Watch game, though I forget what its called... Anyways, go to the codes section and say create a new code file. Name it whatever you want, it does not matter. Then boot up the "game" with that empty code file and say yes when it asks you if you want to boot it with the code file. Finally, presto, it boots up your flashcard, even it does not have 1.4 support! The only catch is that you need $20 and the update for your AR DSi Max should work with the system menu version you have on your DSi. This technique really works---I tested it myself with my friend's AR DSi Max, his DSi with fw 1.4, and my R4i-SDHC (the one that does not have DSi 1.4 support). I assume this works for any flashcard, but I confirm it works for an R4i-SDHC red kind (old kind, without1.4 support) from www.r4i-sdhc.com. One part about this that really sucks for me is that I discovered this 2 hours after I ordered an M3i Zero, since I had no more patience for waiting for an update for my old card (after two whole stinking months!!!).


    Anyways, I really hope this helps people! Thanks for reading this WAY too long post!
     
  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Try not to put it in caps. Well that is good news if it is true. Er most real flashcarts already have a dsi 1.4 update.
     
  3. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    oh sorry about caps....but anyways, some of the "updates" require you to buy a new flashcard like r4i gold and r4i-sdhc, so the old cards don't work...and yes this actually works!!
     
  4. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    would be sweet if this method could work for cyclo [​IMG]
     
  5. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's funny because a new flashcart that's better than a shitty clone actually costs less than $20.
     
  6. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    you know, i never really tested if this method also lets ds flashcards wok on dsi.....i can't test it because i only have a r4i-sdhc and m3i zero unfortunately, but if someone does test it, please post results in this topic!!!
     
  7. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    Even if you buy a AR for the DSi it's going to cost you 20$.
    Instead you could go buy a better flashcart for under 20$ which has a better team support.
     
  8. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Indeed
     
  9. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    you know, i already know real flashcards are better than clones, but i made this topic to inform people who have flashcard clones made by cheapskate companies that there is a way to save themselves----and also, if AR DSi Max gets an update before any flashcard makes one, people can use the AR boot method for their flashcard----i mean, seriously, even ak2i has not even come out with an official update and m3i0 took forever---like a whole month!!! another thing----m3i0 costs $21 on dealextreme.com and there is a long shipping wait for like 2 weeks....whereas you could go to a walmart and buy an AR DSi Max there or get it off amazon and get it in 2 days...now you can't get any flashcards on amazon because nintendo made an annonucement that companies who sell warez stuff will not be allowed to sell any other official nintendo products------there are like tons of ways this method can help you!!!
     
  10. nr4irts

    Newcomer nr4irts Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    the topic is a little hard to read [​IMG]
     
  11. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Well they should save themselves by buying something as cheap as an Ak2i, it doesn't really matter about that it will take around 2 weeks but about quality. It's a nifty trick though it's more useful to just get something that isn't a bad clone rather than this.
     
  12. R2DJ

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, if the only way to make the R4i work with DSi 1.4 is to spend 20 bucks on Action Replay, it would be a wiser choice to buy a much better flash cart...

    I was gonna say this method will be useful for people who are stuck with the R4i, but since an online purchase is required, they can just go buy a new flash cart.
     
  13. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, wouldn't this be helpful even for the carts that support 1.4? Lets say you have an updated system, an AK2i, and the AK does not have the 1.4 patch. You could probably use the AR to boot the AK, and then run the 1.4 update, removing the need for a ds phat/lite.
     
  14. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    if anyone has a DS (not DSi) flashcard, a DSi, and a AR DSi Max, would they please test if the AR boot lets the DS flashcard work on a DSi, since i don't have any DS flashcards (or a DS...just a DSi...)? thanks
     
  15. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    I suppose the makers of AR now are gonna get sued since they are able to "encourage" piracy...
     
  16. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    flash cards have bult in ar lol but ninty will block the ar dsi max
     
  17. meornot0

    Member meornot0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    wtf mate
    we all knew that,
     
  18. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Ok to sum it up, this is what he is trying to say.

    First you will need:
    • 1.action relay DSI
      2.A DSI with 1.4
      3. a non upgradable flash card
    Okay, to make this flashcard work on the DSI v1.4 you will need to plug the flashcard into the Action replay DSI. After that, boot it up, and go to the codes area. Create a blank AR code, and boot the flashcard with the blank code. Wahlaa! It will boot your flashcard.

    how this works: Basically it will create a bypass for the flashcard to run on, basically since the Action replay masks the flashcard from being seen by the DSI. Then when you boot a blank code for the flashcard, the action replay will read the flashcard and boot it. The DSI still does not see the flashcard because it still thinks the "game" being booted is "action replay DSI".
     
  19. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    thats a much easier way to say this, thanks! also, i have found out from my friend (who said he tested it) that the AR Boot method will boot any normal DS flashcard, like CycloDS, on a DSi, so this method is actually useful to people with DS flashcards. The AR DSi Max released 15 October 2009, but it was in stores before this release date, if anyone was wondering how we got the AR DSi. So....have fun peoples!!! [​IMG]
     
  20. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    I still haven't seen any in stores yet... Not that I need one. I use Nitrohax instead.
     
  21. Squirps
    This message by Squirps has been removed from public view by raulpica, Aug 29, 2016, Reason: Necrobumping -rp.
    Aug 29, 2016

Share This Page