I wood or not to I wood?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by vodoochild81, Nov 2, 2010.

Nov 2, 2010

I wood or not to I wood? by vodoochild81 at 5:18 PM (1,230 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. vodoochild81
    OP

    Member vodoochild81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone please explain to if I should upgrade to this and which one i should use. I have an original R4 running R4YSauto v0.0.2..I have been playing games okay up to about Dragon Quest 9...But I want to play Pokemon Black and White in English... I don't know what to upgrade to... I hear wood is the new thing.. Sorry been out of the loop.

    Would i have to get new roms, new cheats, and will my saves transfer over? thanks.
    Edit/Delete Message..

    If anyone has any other recommendations or solutions I would really appreciate it, thanks.
     
  2. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  3. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    we all wood. wood is the recommended firmware for original r4's.
     
  4. Ringo619

    Member Ringo619 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    United States
    you can only use wood if your r4 is a original r4 flash cart and you just have to change your sav files game from ROM-NAME..sav to ROM-NAME.nds.sav
     
  5. vodoochild81
    OP

    Member vodoochild81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    yes but would I have to replace all my old ds roms? Would they transfer over? Would my Saves Transfer over?
     
  6. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    you can keep your roms, and the saves, see above your post.
     
  7. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    as for your question, they should transfer just fine..not sure about the saves though
    [​IMG] 800 post [​IMG]
     
  8. vodoochild81
    OP

    Member vodoochild81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    yes Wood is always funny..Well save files are kind of important lol. Thanks though. Does anyone else know?
     
  9. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    Wood R4 uses the *.nds.sav file extension for it's save files
    so if your saves are .nds.sav than it should work..if not than just rename them
     
  10. vodoochild81
    OP

    Member vodoochild81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. The Link i just received was for wood 1.4.. Are you using 1.5? What is the latest version.

    My R4 crashes a lot, and freezes when I close it on standby. Does this new I wood more stable, or is that just my actually card.
     
  11. Attila13

    Member Attila13 Praise the Creep!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Zalau,Romania
    Country:
    Romania
    I WOOD!

    Read this for the saves! [​IMG]

    Don't know!, My brother has the same problem. [​IMG]

    P.S.
    He has Wood on it (latest) but still crashes after a while and/or if he closes the DS. [​IMG]
     
  12. vodoochild81
    OP

    Member vodoochild81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    My Friend has an M3 DS real. Is that an R4 clone and should he use I wood too?
     
  13. Attila13

    Member Attila13 Praise the Creep!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Zalau,Romania
    Country:
    Romania
    No!
    Wood works only on original R4 and/or I think it works on M3 DS Simply, not real!
    Sorry! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page