Hacking Homebrew DS flashcart fails to run homebrew apps and twilightmenu++

elezzar

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
i have been extensively trying to get any form of homebrew to run on my flashcart with no luck so far, my flashcart is the stickerless red PCB one that can be found on ebay and runs WOOD, i wouldn't be able to tell you a specific name but the kernel it uses is from the "Ace3DS+_R4iLS_Wood_R4_1.62" folder on the github archive.
i tried running twilightmenu++ but it gives me the "FAT init failed! Press B to power off." error and i also tried the latest homebrew menu but it gives a similar "FatinitDefault failed!" error

is there any way to get homebrew running on this cart?
or could someone at least explain the root of the issue, I'm new to homebrew development.

thanks in advance and happy new year!

edit: i should add that this runs most if not all non homebrew ROMs i have tried without issue

Last edited by elezzar,

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Have you tried adding the Ace3DS+ autoboot files for TWLMenu++? They should replace the _DS_MENU.dat files on the flashcard's SD root.

Indy13

Trophies
XP
Country
France
Personally when I am faced with this kind of problem there can be 2 reasons, the first concerns the storage capacity of the SD card (certain homebrew like Xrick do not work on SD cards of more than 32gb), otherwise it can come homebrews using the latest libraries so for this reason, I use three launchers:

- HBmenu 0.4.1 for old homebrews
- HBmenu 0.9.0 for newer hombrews
- YSmenu for newer homebrews that require the use of a memory expansion pak

Rob's solution should work

But I also think that as an alternative solution, what you can also try is to launch TWL++ via HBmenu 0.9.0 or YSmenu

If you want to try taking the test, here are the necessary links:

HBmenu pack :

https://www.gamebrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_Menu

YSmenu :