I want to transfert my wiikey to a new wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by maxpouliot, Sep 1, 2009.

Sep 1, 2009
  1. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    Hhi,

    my first wii is bricked and i want to buy a new one. Can i take my wiikey 2 and put it in a new wii? Are the new wiis still chipable? Thanks for the help!
     
  2. ozguy

    Member ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    A new wii likely will be a d2 nothing (or something later), which only works with modchips that connect to the drive cable (and are limited to 3x speeds).

    Not much need for a modchip these days other than booting gamecube games. Using a usb loader is definately the way to go now.

    I still have wiikey2 in my wii, but never really use it now I have the usb hd.
     
  3. Sic-suicide

    Newcomer Sic-suicide Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Okay that an easy one

    if you get a new wii just take the bricked wii disk
    drive and putit into the other wii
    replace the the non modded drive into the
    bricked wii

    and take the new serial number and return the bricked wii

    ive have done this 2x lol
     
  4. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    sic-suicide has it right, if you can understand him :/

    Just take the drive out of the bricked wii and install it in the new wii. All Wii Drives fit in all Wiis.

    You can try to sell the new wii's original drive or something. Even if its a d2nothing, someone might buy it as a replacement for a dead drive.
     
  5. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    Mmm, not quite sure if i understand. My current wii (wiikey is on it) doesnt even start anymore. Screen stays black and i don'T have bootmii installed so it's doomed.

    Are you sure that changing the wii drive (what exactly is the drive?) from the old wii to the new will work?
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,663
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yep. Don't worry. You just have to attach the old drive with the WiiKey2 soldered to it on the new Wii, replacing the "new" drive which came with it. It'll work flawlessly and you won't even need to resolder the thing.

    Be wary of the fact that you're gonna use a OLD drive. That might give you reading problems in the future, if it was already heavily used. Other than that, it won't do any harm [​IMG]
     
  7. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    So the firmware is not stored on the drive if i understand correctly right?
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    the DVD drive and the mother board are two different pieces of hardware
     
  9. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok and my chip comes with the drive? (sorry for all the questions! Just want to be sure)
     
  10. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can be sneaky and get the new motherboard from the new wii and stick it into your old one. Then return the new wii with the oldmotherboard in and then you have 2 working wii's [​IMG]
     
  11. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States

    Ahh the old Wal-mart bait and switch [​IMG]

    tisk tisk......
     
  12. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    .. If you have a modchip why don't you just make an autoboot disc and fix your brick? >_>
     
  13. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    autoboot disc??? what is that? Where can i get it? How will it work? When i start my wii i only get a black screen...
     
  14. maxpouliot
    OP

    Member maxpouliot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    But is the chip on the drive or the motherboard?
     
  15. Sic-suicide

    Newcomer Sic-suicide Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Okay
    when you open the wii
    you will notivce that the disc drive is a sepparet piece
    your mod chip is on that(that disc drive)

    all you need to do is remove the disc drive

    and set the topshell to the side(cause your serial number is on the top shell

    and open up the second wii

    set its topshell somewhere off to the side

    switch the old drive into the new wii
    and put your old topshell back onto
    that wii

    and put everything else on the brick wii

    so you should now have a working wii with the chipped drive

    and a bricked wii

    its very simple once you get them open to notice what your doing
     

Share This Page