I need help i think iv been hacked.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by kjb1686, Jun 5, 2012.

Jun 5, 2012
  1. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay my computer started acting weird as browser closing i reopened thinking nothing of it then all of a sudden explorer closed and on top of that a chat box opened and started chatting with me. What i did was reboot into safemode and so far nothing has happened i am running a scan right now and found a folder by the name of Dr.Watson on my drive. I don't know what i should do.
     
  2. Zaertix

    Member Zaertix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Scan and remove infected files. Spybot, Malwarebytes, and a good AV.
     
  3. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    I am running nod32 right now i will use the other two when they finish this scared me a lot i have no idea how they got in.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Malwarebytes is more likely to get it than an AV, as it sounds like malware, not a viral infection.

    Check the preventative section of the sticky here on viruses to learn how this stuff gets in.
     
  5. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay well my av and malwarebytes found a few things i will restart my computer and see if i am still hacked or not crossing my fingers.
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To me it sounds more like a Trojan and dropper than being hacked. Hackers don't tent to leave obvious traces.
     
  7. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well whatever it was seems to be gone after my scans so i don't know what it was but it is gone for now at least it seems.
     
  8. dorayaki95

    Newcomer dorayaki95 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Malaysia
    are you using windows? lol
     
  9. koimayeul

    Member koimayeul GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Lol dr watson, what a trickster. Well hopefully its fixed for you.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Dr. Watson's a debugger, I've never seen any malware using that name.
     
  11. TheDreamLord

    Member TheDreamLord GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, given that autoexec.bat stopped being read with the move from 9X to consumer NT-based products (meaning 2K/XP), I don't even think that thing's capable of infecting a modern system.
     
  13. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well it is almost 5 where i am and so far i have had this computer running for a while and whatever it was seems to be gone. Nothing has popped up or anything so i don't think that it is still here but man that was scary when it happened. Anyway thanks for all the help you guys have given me in helping resolve this problem.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's not uncommon to get something like that (back when I was doing online tech support I literally saw it daily), just make sure to keep all your shit updated. All those annoying java/flash updates are meant to close the security holes that these things use to get in.
     
  15. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Thats the thing though this computer is as up to date as can be all my av software, malwarebytes, java and everything else is updated so i don't know how they found the hole to get in. Oh well at least whatever got in is gone so that is fine with me.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Could be something that stopped getting updates so holes in it aren't being patched, or a hole that hasn't been patched yet.

    Or you or somebody else may have simply clicked something without meaning to. Sites are bastards in implementing invisible DIV overlays nowadays to make sure that your first click on a site is clicking a giant invisible link for an advertisement (which gets through browser popup blockers since the browser knows that you clicked it so it thinks you meant to and allows it through).
     

Share This Page