I have few questions,...

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Pippin666, Mar 5, 2012.

Mar 5, 2012

I have few questions,... by Pippin666 at 3:31 PM (2,239 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Pippin666
    OP

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    My borhter as told me that game cartdrigdes for the Vita have a maximum capacity of 2Gb ??
    That even if I buy a 3D model, my borhter also told me that I cannot expect to be able to play a big first person shooter while traveling in a car, bus or plane ??

    Pip'
     


  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He's wrong on both counts.....Firstly Uncharted is 3.8GB's so that's point one, and secondly all you'd do is disable Wifi and 3G on a plane journey.
     
  3. masterchan777

    Member masterchan777 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PSVita games come on special flash cards, currently those are available in sizes up to 4GB, but technically those can be expanded up to 32GBs if needed, plus there is always the multi-card gaming option.
     
  4. Pippin666
    OP

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay true, you have to disable WiFi and 3G on a plane. My bro was telling me that 3G bandwidth isn't enough for (let's say) 16 players multiplayer fps game.
    Okay thank you for that answer. I thought it was strange to be honest. I started to wonder how could they use great texturing with such a small cart. But expendaed to 32Gb ?? That's incredible for an handheld. Multi-card option ?? Did that ever happened on any console ?? :/

    Pip'
     
  5. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    If the 3G data being applied is built specifically for the Vita? Then gaming shouldn't be too much of a problem. However, I don't believe this is the case, as Sony is taking 3G from major phone companies. Soooo.... Huge online battles might be a little laggy.
     
  6. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada

    how quickly people forget that we used to play 16. or 32 man Unreal Tournament on dialup, or 1 mbps "highspeed" back in the day


    whoever is telling you these things, you should ignore everything they say for the rest of their lives, since they know nothing
     
  7. Pippin666
    OP

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    TYou are freaking right. I will ask my bro to remember they era of when we were playing 16 man free-for-all in Quake 2 !!

    Pip'
     
  8. miruki

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't think it's been done before, since it would require you to have you save data outside of the cartridge, which is possible on the Vita, but hasn't been on any cartridge using device (not including the 3DS, I dunno how it handles save files, but since it got a SD slot, it should be possible, right?) before - so the they never really had the option before, I'd think? It's definitely an option now, but making two cartridges is probably more expensive than making one cartridge with 8, 16 or 32GB. ^^;
     
  9. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    What are you talking about? masterchan77 was saying that the cards can come in different sizes, so a larger game would come on a card with more memory, not that one game would come in different sized cartridges or that you could expand the storage on the fly for no reason.

    And 3G online multiplayer is seriously limited. The real problem isn't the bandwidth, it's the latency, or the ping. 3G would have terrible lag for any type of real time multiplayer. So, it's limited to asynchronous multiplayer, score uploading/downloading, the PS Store, and some apps.
     
  10. miruki

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you even read what I wrote?

    masterchan77 also suggested that "plus there is always the multi-card gaming option" which I interpreted as the use of multiple cartridges for one game. Just like how games were split among multiple floppy discs, CDs, DVDs and UMDs (I don't think has been multi blu-ray games yet?) so you'd have to put in the next disc when you reach a certain point in the game - which wouldn't be possible if the save files are stored on the cartridge itself, like they are on the Gameboy, GBA, DS etc.. Since both the Vita and 3DS have external memory, the Vita in form of Vita memcards, the 3DS with SD cards, it would be possible to do multiple cartridge releases on two 4GB cartridges instead of an 8GB one.

    But like I said, I'm not sure if manufacturing one bigger cartridge wouldn't be cheaper than making two 4GB ones.
     
  11. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, just re-read and you're completely right, I had just skimmed the posts earlier.
     
  12. miruki

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    That's what I guessed.. ;>

    Tho, I would like game cartridges on the Vita with additional space for DLC that gets released later on - I mean, most company plan DLC (and announce it) before the game is even released, so it would be pretty convenient if there was an additional 500MB or something for the DLC.. :> Of course nobody will ever do that, since Sony want to sell their super pricey memcards... :
     
  13. pao1908

    Newcomer pao1908 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Greece
    i totaly agree with xist
     
  14. Warlord698

    Member Warlord698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    well it is already known by most that the games do not save to the game cards, they save to the memory cards in the bottom slot ( seeing as you CAN NOT save games without a memory card ) which is actually similar to a bunch of the N64 games that used the memory cards back in the day (in which you could usually also unlock features with arcades and such) and as for the 3DS it also uses the SD card for DLC and patches for games, but they actually save to the carts themselves
     
  15. miruki

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    But I bet it would be possible to add a feature like copying the savefile to the SD card via a firmware update.
     
  16. Warlord698

    Member Warlord698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United States
    probably, but that would require them actually making the firmware update LOL
     
  17. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    there is a multicardridge game for NDS if I remember right, it was Dragon Quest in it's early days. ^^

    Multicardridge can always be done, just put the save file on an external card OR save it for a few moments in the internal memory. ^^
     
  18. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,918
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm almost certain there has never been a multicartridge game. DQ9 was rumored to be multicardridge though.

    I imagine multicartridge could be done like the methods you suggested. Though I imagine a publisher may as just use a bigger cartridge. Vita's cartridges are already at 4GB and will most likely increase to 8GB. Which should be enough, most games on the PS3/360 rarely exceed 8GB.
     
  19. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I was a rumor! Ahh thanks for clearing up :)

    I don't know much about the size of PS3/360 games, but games like COD and BF3, are they bigger then 8GB? Just a general question.
     
  20. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,918
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well most multiplat games tend to be around 8GB. I can't really comment on individual games. You can make an assumption of game size by the number of DVDs used on the 360. Like Lost Odyssey for example which had four discs. However I have a PS3 and thus only use one disc.
     

Share This Page