1. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    So Mario Kart freezes. How about Mario Kart on a Flashkart, Animal Crossing and Pokemon?
     
  2. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,173
    Country:
    Ireland
    Possibly yes, it just depends on if the custom server has it all setup on their end (they use Wiimfii)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Your router wont work as its WPA2 as said already, WFC and stuff doesnt matter, it still uses WPA
     
  3. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    So anyone fired how to make it so Mario Kart DS doesn't freeze while online?
     
  4. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,173
    Country:
    Ireland
    Doesnt freeze on my end, its possible its a server issue or something.
    I do know that it freezes when trying to load the 4th race of a lobby, but thats about it
     
  5. wiiluver135

    wiiluver135 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    Trying to connect to pokemon random wifi on black 2 causes constant connection errors, mario kart ds just freezes and metroid hunters seems to work but maybe no one is online? I'm using a DSTWO and wondering if this is really working...is there still and extra step for cart users? I already erased my on wfc connection and redid it with a new code and everything but nothing seems to be working.

    Edit: just got a freakign Keldeo from Mystery Gift so I guess it IS working but incorrectly inconsistent?
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2018
  6. vergil2012

    vergil2012 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Germany
    Does anyone get the error code ''31020''? I tried Pokemon White (German version), while it successfully connects, when it's searching for the gift (if there is any...) it's getting disconnected...
    I'm using the emulator DeSmuME (the latest nightly build 2018/10/31 - git#8944328).
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2018
  7. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    Don't use Black 2 and White 2, those two games are a load of anti cracking and hacking mess. Just use White and or Black and then transfer Pokemon to White 2 and Black 2 if you want.
     
  8. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,173
    Country:
    Ireland
    Desmume I believe gets around that, but I do believe theres also patched roms for those games which remove the anti-piracy stuff; try that
     
  9. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    The only ones I found were the ones that had the patched and experienced fixed thing. But I recently rried with Pokemon Diamond and no luck connecting to trade anyway.

    Maybe I should try with friend codes?

    Edit: I was able to get Mistery Gifts for Heart Gold and Soul Silver on my DS Lite, still no luck with Mario Kart DS.

    Edit2: It seems to work better using the real games instead of Flashcarts. Save for Pokemon Pearl that no matter what doesn't work, at least in the English version.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2018
  10. pikatsu

    pikatsu GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hello is there any software to send directly the net from the pc to mario kard ds?
     
  11. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,411
    Country:
    Germany
    If you're using a modern version of Windows, you're probably out of luck:
    I can confirm this. Both the installed version of openSUSE Leap 15.0 on my laptop and a live version of Ubuntu Mate 18.04.1 x86_64 on a different test computer were able to create a working WEP hotspot with 40 bit (5 ASCII chars) and 104 bit (13 ASCII chars) long key. Mario Kart DS connected without issues (I was just curious if it would work but never play online, so no further tests.)
    My only Windows (10 32Bit 1803) computer was not willing to create a WEP/unencrypted hotspots, only WPA2. I did not find any additional Windows software to do this either (but did not do much research to be honest).
    My WiFi cards were not able to simultaneously connect to the router AND make a hotspot (don't know if this is even possible). The test computers were connected to the internet with Ethernet cables. It should also be possible to use two WiFi cards (one to connect to the router and one for creating the hotspot).
    Because it works on a Live Linux without trouble, you could use your computer to create a WEP hotspot even if there is really no way to do it in Windows. I do not have a Mac so I can't say anything about OSX.
     
    Sophie-bear and pikatsu like this.
  12. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    So, just use a Mint or Ubuntu live DVD or flashdrive then?

    Cool, I will try that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  13. Hambrew

    Hambrew GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. How do I setup a hotspot on my Windows 8.1 PC!? I do not have a phone!

    I might try that with an Ubuntu VM!
    *waiting for people to disprove using a VM*

    EDIT: ...a VirtualBox VM, not VMWare or Parallels
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  14. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,173
    Country:
    Ireland
    Only way I can think would be googling a "windows hotspot wep" idk. I think Connectify.me works as people used to use this back in the day but its free version is very very annoying (can be gotten free on pirate websites, I recommend x7331 ;)
     
  15. Hambrew

    Hambrew GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    But I don't wanna clutter up my PC! (600GB free out of 1TB) Any software-less solutions? I might actually try out an Ubuntu VM.
     
  16. PRAGMA

    OP PRAGMA GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2,173
    Country:
    Ireland
    the hell u on about, an ubuntu vm would use more space then a small piece of software lmao
     
  17. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    Yeah, latest live DVD is almost 2 GB.

    Unless you plan to use a real DVD then is more space in your hard disk that most software programs.
     
  18. Hambrew

    Hambrew GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    I already have an Ubuntu VM... Also, there's the laziness factor. Why install some piece of junk when I can use friggin' Windows CMD and some tutorials?
     
  19. Vegedroid16

    Vegedroid16 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    Tried on DS/3DS, it absolutely works (played a Mario Kart DS match on the 3DS, although it froze at 3rd race :mellow:), still, I have a doubt with Pokémon games:

    Does the only way to get rid of error 60000 is to erase all the CWF data on my DS?? I still got as a memento all the friend codes of some friends that helped me a lot to complete the regional dex :cry:, and (not sure but maybe) some stuff related to Dream World in the 5th gen games, which I used... a lot.

    (btw, I still can connect and search for events in 4th gen games... It was weird to see the "Legendary Dogs" event, and minutes later replaced by the "Oak's Letter" event :rofl:)
     
  20. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,256
    Country:
    Argentina
    Another way is to switch the game to a different DS or 3DS. Then you can keep the junk friend codes and still comnecr... sometimes.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - TwilightMenu++), Flashcart, Hardware