Tutorial How to play NDS Games ONLINE! (Native Hardware, DS/3DS, Cart/Flashcart/TwilightMenu++)

PRAGMA

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
2,202
Trophies
1
Location
127.0.0.1
Website
pragma.pw
XP
4,799
Country
Ireland
So with this method I can download DLCs which were not available since Nintendo shut down their servers (for example: Heroes of Mana, Pokemon Conquest > Downloadable Missions)?
Possibly yes, it just depends on if the custom server has it all setup on their end (they use Wiimfii)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I tried running through the steps on my 3DS running DSiMenu++, but I found out my own Wi-Fi was already compatible with the WFC setup, HOWEVER, My password for the router was declared wrong for no reason. I don't HAVE a phone, so I tried setting up a hotspot on my Windows 8.1 PC, and that TOTALLY worked. Then I tried it on the 3DS itself via System Settings, and that didn't work as well. In fact, it wasn't seen by the 3DS at ALL, unlike it runnning DSiMenu++! As I said, I have no phone to setup a hotpot for my 3DS, let alone running DSiMenu++, yet my Wi-Fi was detected
Your router wont work as its WPA2 as said already, WFC and stuff doesnt matter, it still uses WPA
 

wiiluver135

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
328
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
347
Country
United States
Trying to connect to pokemon random wifi on black 2 causes constant connection errors, mario kart ds just freezes and metroid hunters seems to work but maybe no one is online? I'm using a DSTWO and wondering if this is really working...is there still and extra step for cart users? I already erased my on wfc connection and redid it with a new code and everything but nothing seems to be working.

Edit: just got a freakign Keldeo from Mystery Gift so I guess it IS working but incorrectly inconsistent?
 
Last edited by wiiluver135,

vergil2012

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
350
Country
United States
Does anyone get the error code ''31020''? I tried Pokemon White (German version), while it successfully connects, when it's searching for the gift (if there is any...) it's getting disconnected...
I'm using the emulator DeSmuME (the latest nightly build 2018/10/31 - git#8944328).
 
Last edited by vergil2012,

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
Trying to connect to pokemon random wifi on black 2 causes constant connection errors, mario kart ds just freezes and metroid hunters seems to work but maybe no one is online? I'm using a DSTWO and wondering if this is really working...is there still and extra step for cart users? I already erased my on wfc connection and redid it with a new code and everything but nothing seems to be working.

Edit: just got a freakign Keldeo from Mystery Gift so I guess it IS working but incorrectly inconsistent?

Don't use Black 2 and White 2, those two games are a load of anti cracking and hacking mess. Just use White and or Black and then transfer Pokemon to White 2 and Black 2 if you want.
 

PRAGMA

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
2,202
Trophies
1
Location
127.0.0.1
Website
pragma.pw
XP
4,799
Country
Ireland
Don't use Black 2 and White 2, those two games are a load of anti cracking and hacking mess. Just use White and or Black and then transfer Pokemon to White 2 and Black 2 if you want.
Desmume I believe gets around that, but I do believe theres also patched roms for those games which remove the anti-piracy stuff; try that
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
Desmume I believe gets around that, but I do believe theres also patched roms for those games which remove the anti-piracy stuff; try that

The only ones I found were the ones that had the patched and experienced fixed thing. But I recently rried with Pokemon Diamond and no luck connecting to trade anyway.

Maybe I should try with friend codes?

Edit: I was able to get Mistery Gifts for Heart Gold and Soul Silver on my DS Lite, still no luck with Mario Kart DS.

Edit2: It seems to work better using the real games instead of Flashcarts. Save for Pokemon Pearl that no matter what doesn't work, at least in the English version.
 
Last edited by raxadian,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,060
Trophies
2
XP
8,017
Country
Germany
Hello is there any software to send directly the net from the pc to mario kard ds?
If you're using a modern version of Windows, you're probably out of luck:
I was able to make a functioning Wi-Fi Hotspot with WEP using Ubuntu (18.04 in my case). I haven't found a way to do it in recent versions of Windows, though.
I can confirm this. Both the installed version of openSUSE Leap 15.0 on my laptop and a live version of Ubuntu Mate 18.04.1 x86_64 on a different test computer were able to create a working WEP hotspot with 40 bit (5 ASCII chars) and 104 bit (13 ASCII chars) long key. Mario Kart DS connected without issues (I was just curious if it would work but never play online, so no further tests.)
My only Windows (10 32Bit 1803) computer was not willing to create a WEP/unencrypted hotspots, only WPA2. I did not find any additional Windows software to do this either (but did not do much research to be honest).
My WiFi cards were not able to simultaneously connect to the router AND make a hotspot (don't know if this is even possible). The test computers were connected to the internet with Ethernet cables. It should also be possible to use two WiFi cards (one to connect to the router and one for creating the hotspot).
Because it works on a Live Linux without trouble, you could use your computer to create a WEP hotspot even if there is really no way to do it in Windows. I do not have a Mac so I can't say anything about OSX.
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
Because it works on a Live Linux without trouble, you could use your computer to create a WEP hotspot even if there is really no way to do it in Windows. I do not have a Mac so I can't say anything about OSX.

So, just use a Mint or Ubuntu live DVD or flashdrive then?

Cool, I will try that.
 
Last edited by raxadian,

Hambrew

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
593
Trophies
0
Location
Yoyle City
XP
1,435
Country
United States
Your router wont work as its WPA2 as said already, WFC and stuff doesnt matter, it still uses WPA

Ok. How do I setup a hotspot on my Windows 8.1 PC!? I do not have a phone!

I can confirm this. Both the installed version of openSUSE Leap 15.0 on my laptop and a live version of Ubuntu Mate 18.04.1 x86_64 on a different test computer were able to create a working WEP hotspot with 40 bit (5 ASCII chars) and 104 bit (13 ASCII chars) long key. Mario Kart DS connected without issues (I was just curious if it would work but never play online, so no further tests.)

I might try that with an Ubuntu VM!
*waiting for people to disprove using a VM*

EDIT: ...a VirtualBox VM, not VMWare or Parallels
 
Last edited by Hambrew,

PRAGMA

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
2,202
Trophies
1
Location
127.0.0.1
Website
pragma.pw
XP
4,799
Country
Ireland
Ok. How do I setup a hotspot on my Windows 8.1 PC!? I do not have a phone!



I might try that with an Ubuntu VM!
*waiting for people to disprove using a VM*

EDIT: ...a VirtualBox VM, not VMWare or Parallels
Only way I can think would be googling a "windows hotspot wep" idk. I think Connectify.me works as people used to use this back in the day but its free version is very very annoying (can be gotten free on pirate websites, I recommend x7331 ;)
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
the hell u on about, an ubuntu vm would use more space then a small piece of software lmao

Yeah, latest live DVD is almost 2 GB.

Unless you plan to use a real DVD then is more space in your hard disk that most software programs.
 

Vegedroid16

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
195
Country
Argentina
Tried on DS/3DS, it absolutely works (played a Mario Kart DS match on the 3DS, although it froze at 3rd race :mellow:), still, I have a doubt with Pokémon games:

Does the only way to get rid of error 60000 is to erase all the CWF data on my DS?? I still got as a memento all the friend codes of some friends that helped me a lot to complete the regional dex :cry:, and (not sure but maybe) some stuff related to Dream World in the 5th gen games, which I used... a lot.

(btw, I still can connect and search for events in 4th gen games... It was weird to see the "Legendary Dogs" event, and minutes later replaced by the "Oak's Letter" event :rofl:)
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,502
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,327
Country
Argentina
Tried on DS/3DS, it absolutely works (played a Mario Kart DS match on the 3DS, although it froze at 3rd race :mellow:), still, I have a doubt with Pokémon games:

Does the only way to get rid of error 60000 is to erase all the CWF data on my DS?? I still got as a memento all the friend codes of some friends that helped me a lot to complete the regional dex :cry:, and (not sure but maybe) some stuff related to Dream World in the 5th gen games, which I used... a lot.

(btw, I still can connect and search for events in 4th gen games... It was weird to see the "Legendary Dogs" event, and minutes later replaced by the "Oak's Letter" event :rofl:)

Another way is to switch the game to a different DS or 3DS. Then you can keep the junk friend codes and still comnecr... sometimes.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Skelletonike @ Skelletonike: i'll stick to jerry's durability test https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66xbBtnxb5k