1. WeedZ

    OP WeedZ Possibly an Enlightened Being
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3,621
    Country:
    United States
    This is a little "how to" to connect two PS4's to play LAN supported games without an internet connection. Possibly more with the use of a router. Some of you may have figured this out already. I discovered this little trick while trying to LAN Party Diablo3 at a buddy's house, who refuses to get internet service.

    The only things you need are:
    A LAN (ethernet) Cable
    Two PS4's
    Two copies of a LAN supported game. (I've only tested Diablo3, but others should work)
    It's important to ensure that both systems are on the same firmware version and have the same software updates for the game you want to play

    You are going to connect both systems directly together with the LAN cable. I believe you could connect more systems with the use of a router.

    On the first system
    Navigate to Settings -> Network -> Set up Internet Connection -> Use a LAN Cable -> Custom

    Now you want to setup a "manual" connection with the following settings
    IP Address: 192.168.1.xxx (xxx is any number between 2 and 254)
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    Primary DNS: 192.168.1.1
    Secondary DNS: 0.0.0.0 (should be zeroed out by default)

    You can go ahead and test the connection once you're finished. It will fail, but that's ok. Follow the same steps with the second PS4, but be sure that the last set of numbers in the IP Address is different from the one you chose for the first console.

    Now you should be able to start a LAN supported multiplayer game with both consoles. You may need to select this type of connection in the game itself.

    That's it. Have fun.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017
  2. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    In the old days of computer Lan party, you couldn't connect 2 computers without a crossover cable... (or you would need a switch, no not the Nintendo switch) Does it matter the type of the cable when connecting the 2 ps4?
     
  3. WeedZ

    OP WeedZ Possibly an Enlightened Being
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3,621
    Country:
    United States
    Idk, I didn't use a crossover. Don't know if you could. For some reason a straight through works with static ip's.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2017
  4. Beorn_Orwell

    Beorn_Orwell Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    seems useful! I'll keep this in mind.
     
    WeedZ likes this.
  5. GerbilSoft

    GerbilSoft GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,322
    Country:
    United States
    All Gigabit Ethernet interfaces have built-in auto-crossover. (Some later 100 Mbps interfaces did as well.)
     
    -----a, x65943, WeedZ and 2 others like this.
  6. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,764
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On some phones you can create a wireless hotspot and then multiple consoles can connect to it. You can turn off data and then all they'll be able to do is talk to each other.

    I'd probably just dig an old adsl router out.
     
    x65943 and WeedZ like this.
  7. Necron

    Necron Lurking~
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    968
    Country:
    Chile
    On a side note, keep the ips between 2 and 254, as 255 is used for broadcast (send stuff to all the 2-254 ip ranges at the same time)
     
    WeedZ likes this.
  8. YuseiFD

    YuseiFD GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    What he mean't was between 2 pcs using crossover (as in one cable).
    No, just don't use an electic cable lmao, some RG45 cable should do the trick, even phone cable would be usable in this situation but just make sure the heads are RJ45 (huge ones with 8 pins) and not RJ11 or RJ9 (phone tiny ones), if not, just buy cable and like 10 or 20 RJ45 heads and start making your own cables.

    Oh yeah, the primary DNS part can be left 0.0.0.0, it doesn't matter as it only matter when connecting to a domain and not an ip address.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2017
  9. WeedZ

    OP WeedZ Possibly an Enlightened Being
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3,621
    Country:
    United States
    I know, and I said I used a straight through.
     
    YuseiFD likes this.
  10. YuseiFD

    YuseiFD GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    why are you yelling about it m8 ? you want to fight ? let's meet up and fite! i'll knock that sony smile right out of your ps4 !
     
    WeedZ likes this.
  11. WeedZ

    OP WeedZ Possibly an Enlightened Being
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3,621
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know that, I'll edit the op
     
  12. xYuunax

    xYuunax You Stupid
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    curious to find out if this works with xlink kai
     
  13. codemasterv

    codemasterv Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    The crossover is now taken care of by the network device. Its part of the stack.

    A standard cat5/6 cable will work just fine now.
     
    WeedZ likes this.
  14. xkrazykidx

    xkrazykidx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if this will work with Kai/Hamachi...
     
    WeedZ likes this.
  15. Snake_Plissken

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Awsome to know this
     
    WeedZ likes this.
  16. codemasterv

    codemasterv Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Connection, Internet, Without