help with my m3 real

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by shortyno69, Dec 25, 2007.

Dec 25, 2007

help with my m3 real by shortyno69 at 7:13 AM (1,627 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi
    i bought the M3 ds lite card an i have inserted the .nds files in the nds folder but when i start the console up nothing happens it just says no ds card inserted it finds the pak card but not the ds card any ideas please so i can get games working for the daughter [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    thanks
     
  2. nin10do

    Member nin10do GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    Taiwan
    i got the m3 a few days ago and it ran pretty quickly and easily.

    first go here http://www.handheldsources.com/M3DS/Download_M3DSR.html
    and download the "system v2.8 file" file.

    plug the micro sd card into your computer and quick format it. copy the system folder you just downloaded to the memory card.

    next to the system folder (not inside it) create a new folder called "NDS". put your games and roms in that folder. the game files end in .nds

    turn off the ds and make sure it has sufficient charge. put the sd card in the m3, then the m3 in the ds. turn on the the ds and just after the safety warning screen the system should load automatically. in your ds the icon in the top left houses the games.

    (hope you get it working before your daughter opens her xmas presents)
     
  3. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the quick reply but have followed the instructions still the same result it says no ds card inserted i formatted the card d/l the link and created a nds folder then draged a .nds game accross and nothing ????
    thanks
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There are three possible causes, and none of them involve the memory card or any of the files on it.

    1. Dirty contacts. Remove the M3 and examine the pins for filth. Remove any filth you find and try again. You might also try inserting and removing the M3 a few times, or blowing into the DS game slot.

    2. Malformed case on the M3, preventing the pins from making contact. Try sticking a piece of paper in the DS game slot on the side of the M3 opposite the contacts. This may force them into the proper position.

    3. Dead cart. Get it replaced.
     
  5. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it does say that there is ds art inserted it just doesnt read the ds card unless the cart doesnt work but the nds does see that is there just no ds card
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea what this is supposed to mean.
     
  7. llatnik

    Newcomer llatnik Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm, confusion abounds

    download this http://down.gbalpha.com/GBalpha/Softwares/G6&M3DS-R_E15.zip

    and just put the folder in the zipfile in your SDcard's root directory, forget the NDS file for now

    put that folder on your SDcard and turn on your DS now what happens, step by step, do any menus appear what exactly happens?
     
  8. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry when i insert the ds card in and i start it it comes up saying no ds card inserted but it does recognise that the other cartridge is there
     
  9. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have you tried to clean the contacts yet? When my unit isn't detected I take a cotton swab and rub it along the contacts. Then put it back in the DS and turn it back on. That normally works for me. If that doesn't work try another DS and if even that doesn't work you might have a broken unit.....
     
  10. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right have done that i get the same screen come up saying there is no ds card inserted on the top then in the middle i have

    pictochat and ds download play

    then little box with gba then there is a ds option pak inserted there as well


    i have a photo but not sure how to upload pic
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I thought was happening. My earlier assessment still applies.
     
  12. nin10do

    Member nin10do GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    Taiwan
    ok since i used the same software theres obviously no problem there.
    which leaves a hardware problem. things that could be wrong:

    1.your ds: try using a friends ds

    2.the sdcard:if you have a spare try that... if not then try a friends.

    3.clean the contacts: i doubt this would be the problem

    4.something is loose: this is the most likely problem. try wiggling the sd card inside the m3. also try wiggling the m3 inside the ds. inserting a small folded piece of paper in with the m3 (when you put it in the ds) may help keep it tight.

    thats pretty much it , after that i'm all outta ideas.
     
  13. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok thanks the daughter have a end coming round tomorrow with a nds so i can try then will get back to u tomorow with the results

    thanks again
     
  14. tau

    Newcomer tau Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    HAha oh wow. I think by "DS Cart" he sometimes means the microSD card.

    Man, naming what you're referring to properly really does help.
     
  15. shortyno69
    OP

    Newcomer shortyno69 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry if my spelling is not as good as yours but the ds cart is as u worked it out the card and then i have the rumble pak
    thanks
     

Share This Page