Help? Bought second hand pre-RGH'd Corona 360 with Bad Blocks.

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by ElvPresidente, Sep 5, 2019.

  1. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    Does anyone want to be an absolute hero and help me through this?

    As the title states, I bought an xbox 360 from Facebook Marketplace a couple of weeks ago and everything seemed fine with it when I got it home. The console already had a few games on it and a couple of profiles from the original owner. I proceeded to create my own profile and then I set up a connection with my wifi and restarted the console.

    After restarting the console, I tried to immediately return back to the NXE dashboard and the console crashed on a blank black screen. Fortunately, the console is set up to automatically run Aurora at start-up, so I am able to access all homebrew and games still, but now I have absolutely no access to the NXE dashboard.

    After a bit of research and help online, I think I've found out there are bad blocks on the console and would like to fix this but I have no idea where to start. I have experience with software modifications on other consoles so I'm no spring chicken, but Xbox modding is a completely new arena for me. Any help would be massively appreciated.

    EDIT: I don't actually mean the XNE Dashboard. I got it mixed up with the Metro Dashboard but regardless the problem remains the same.
     
    Last edited by ElvPresidente, Sep 5, 2019
  2. scroeffie1984

    scroeffie1984 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Jan 17, 2019
    Netherlands
    Xebuild should remap your bad blocks by default.,nands can have bad blocks off the factory line.. this isnt limited to just xbox 360's either
     
  3. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    So what can I do to get access back to the NXE? I was able to access it when I first got the console and within the same day I lost access so I know it was able to do so in the first place. I need an answer I can work with.
     
  4. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    12
    Oct 10, 2009
    United States
    you can get back to the official dash by clicking the guide button, then going to system settings. that should load the official dash, which I guess is nxe in your case. the newest official dash is called metro.
     
  5. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    No. I can't access the original NXE dashboard using any method. All attempts to access the dashboard freezes the xbox onto a blank black screen.
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    12
    Oct 10, 2009
    United States
    do you have any backup nand dumps?
     
  7. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    No I don't. I'm not the original modifier of the console. As I said in the post, I bought it second-hand on facebook marketplace (off some random teen). I have been trying to find a way of dumping the nand but none of the tools like 'flash360' are working for me.
     
  8. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    12
    Oct 10, 2009
    United States
    imo, nandflasher 360 is the best flasher to use. what happens when you try dumping the nand? freezes?
     
  9. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    I've tried using that too. I select 'Dump Nand/Flash' but no matter which directory I pick, I get an error message directly after the message that tells me 'Not to press any buttons during the process' *

    I'm pretty sure the problem with the console is also affecting the usb functionality as I cannot get the console to recognise any USB drives (apart from when inside a game, sometimes when I select the storage device for a game, the drive will show up as an unrecognised drive, but any attempts to format it for 360 use also crashes the console - as I would imagine it needs the original dashboard to do that)

    *Or something along those lines.
     
  10. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    12
    Oct 10, 2009
    United States
    that's not an error. it's supposed to say that as a warning.
     
  11. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    No, I mean after that message is displayed I get an error that says:

    *** Error: An Error has occurred ***
     
  12. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    12
    Oct 10, 2009
    United States
    you can update through xell as well, but you'd need a nand backup. I'm not sure what else to suggest other than something may have come loose in the system.
     
    Last edited by godreborn, Sep 5, 2019
  13. ElvPresidente
    OP

    ElvPresidente Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 5, 2019
    United Kingdom
    I've managed to dump the NAND with Simple 360 NAND Flasher and I have a copy of it on my PC. What should I do next?
     
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...