1. Missingphy

    OP Missingphy Pokémon Master, Console Bricker, and more...
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Mexico
    I downloaded GTA san andreas from steam and it is recognized by nvidia geforce experience. I booted into the game 1 time and everything seemed perfect. Then i closed the game and windows 10 told me they applied some compatibility settings to the game. And when i tried to play the game, it wouldn't boot (thanks windows). I have already tried running the game as administrator, sfc/scannow, and checking the registry to see if there was a problem with .exe files (there is no problem with it). The geforce experience however still detects the game and gives me the full path to the main .exe file, but the play button does nothing. Any fix?
     
  2. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,003
    Country:
    Have you tried disabling the compatibility fixes in the exe properties?
     
    Missingphy likes this.
  3. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,036
    Country:
    Norway
    Windows didn't do that on its own, you clicked yes on the prompt asking you to do it.
    Anyway, they can be easily disabled from the exe properties like @tech3475 said.
     
    Missingphy likes this.
  4. Missingphy

    OP Missingphy Pokémon Master, Console Bricker, and more...
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Mexico
    now it says that i need a new app to open the .exe file
     
  5. Mythical

    Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,993
    Country:
    United States
    go to my documents/my games/ your gta game and delete the folder (back it up if you care) then uninstall the game from steam and reinstall the game from steam then try again
    also if you pirated it run it as administrator.
     
  6. Missingphy

    OP Missingphy Pokémon Master, Console Bricker, and more...
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Mexico
    the problem with the app to run the .exe files dissapeared by typing "%1" %* into the exefile default value. But that specific file will still refuse to open. Should i just get a clean .exe from the internet?
     
  7. Missingphy

    OP Missingphy Pokémon Master, Console Bricker, and more...
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Mexico
    Setting compatibility mode to windows 7 and running as admin solved the problem
     
  8. Idontknowwhattoputhere

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should also downgrade the game for the expireince
     
    Missingphy likes this.
  9. niengrangthammy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Vietnam
    try reinstall game
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Andreas,