1. wanderone

    OP wanderone Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried three or four times to transfer the Gold clear code to a new game of TLA and I keep getting an invalid password error!

    I used a modified Golden Sun rom that was patched with a leveling code and attribute modifier boosting codes to beat the game.

    Could this have messed up the sav file in some way and made the password unrecognizable to TLA? I'm thinking something like values that are higher than TLA will recognize which makes the password invalid.

    Thx for any help anyone can give.
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That depends on if you used a gold, silver, or bronze password.

    Hacked stats have no bearing on giving you an error, it is always a user input error.


    If you really want error free transfers, you should use the transfer cable. Codes are case sensitive so if you wrote down say a lower case c instead of a capitol C it can jack your code and invalidated all of it. All you can do is double check your code, there are 6 pages of code for a gold code so any messup is possible.
     
  3. dib

    dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,576
    Country:
    United States
    If double checking doesn't work, just make some minor changes like selling some junk at the shop. This will produce a completely new password, then try again.
     
  4. Depravo

    Depravo KALSARIKÄNNIT
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,361
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. wanderone

    OP wanderone Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    @how_do_i_do_that

    Okay, that's good to know! Was worried I'd have to backtrack through some of the harder maps. [​IMG]

    @dib

    Was sure everything was right, but my handwriting is seriously screwed up, even I can't read it! Found more errors. [​IMG]

    @Depravo

    Even though I cheated, I'd rather use my character stats as I played them...thanks for the link though. If all else fails, I'll definately go that way.


    Well, when I try again I think I'm just going to type everything to the PC via a notepad file and then read it from there...it should go without any probs then. Those '+' and t's were tricky!



    Thx for the suggestions all!
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I normally run the save file through VBA, then do screen captures of each page. Then blow up the pictures 200% and stack them all on 1 page then print.
     
  7. Berthenk

    Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Since you're going this way, look at this FAQ. Search for ´* Save raw password characters...:´.
    But, I´ll be nice and copy 'n paste it for you:

    '* Save raw password characters...:
    This option is for those playing on emulators that have a memory-editor
    available that can load data from a file. It will save you the trouble of
    entering in the passwords yourself. Pretty nice, no? ;-) I will use
    Visual Boy Advance as a reference here. Here's how it works:

    1. Once you have a password, choose this menu option. You will be
    presented with a save dialog allowing you to choose what folder you
    will save the file in and to name the raw password memory-dump file.

    2. Next, start up your emulator (or bring it back up), load the game or
    reset it, and get to the password entry screen for the appropriate
    type of password (gold, silver, or bronze).

    3. Once the game is on the right password entry screen, open the
    emulator's memory-editor. The location of this option will depend on
    the emulator you are using, if it's supported at all. If not, you
    won't be able to make use of this menu option. (In Visual Boy Advance,
    look under "Tools | Memory Viewer...")

    4. Choose the "Load" option on the memory editor. If there isn't one, you
    won't be able to make any use of this menu option.

    5. Use the dialog to navigate to where you saved the raw password data
    file earlier and choose that file.

    6. When you are prompted for an address, type in the hex number
    "0200A74A". (don't enter the quote marks, of course). This number
    must be exact, so be sure to enter it correctly (lower case is OK).

    7. Now, close the memory editor and return to the game. Your password
    should magically appear. :-) Just move the cursor to "Finish" and
    press the "A" button (or just press Start). Not too bad, hmm? :^D

    If the password didn't appear, then you almost certainly made a mistake
    when entering that number in. If this happens, reset the game and
    get back to the appropriate password entry screen. Then, go back to
    Step 3.'
    That's much easier!
     
  8. Wait, if you're using an emulator, wouldn't it be much simpler to just link the two games together?
    Or are these using a different link cable?
     
  9. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Some people only got 1 GBA/SP/micro, the best method to trade with yourself in Golden Sun is to use the codes.
     
  10. ... Sigh...

    I'm gonna repeat.

    If you're using an emulator, why not just connect the two games together directly?
    Unless these two use a different sort of link cable, but I doubt it.
     
  11. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I never got link mode in VBA-M for a single computer working right to recommend that option.



    Besides with the codes, you can get it to work on any EU version.
     
  12. liorv

    liorv Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Iceland
    hi i have a problem with gs2 i write the password and it work but i push A fast so i didn't got to see my char so there is any idea how i know that my password work or can i i input another code on the one i have answer plese!!!!!!!!!!!!!. [​IMG]
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That depends on your code level.

    You can update your code for that save slot until you reach the spot in the game where the two parties are accessible in Contigo.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - password, transfer, Golden