Golden Sun save

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by lolzed, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009

Golden Sun save by lolzed at 11:50 AM (7,220 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    anybody got a save for golden sun right after beating Tret(the tree one)just before heading to Imil with these Djinns(if i recall these are the ones you can get till there)Flint,Granite,Forge,Gust and another Jupiter one in the Tret branch.Thanks,it doesn't need to be exactly like this,but most closest to it.
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
  3. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    if this can pinpoint locations and stuff,THANKS!
    edit:i see this is only for The Lost Age,any other opinions?
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well, I can give you the hacking info on both 1 and 2 if you want to hack your own stuff then.

    Golden Sun hacking:
    http://www.gamefaqs.com/portable/gbadvance/file/468548/43776

    Golden Sun the lost age hacking:
    http://www.gamefaqs.com/portable/gbadvance/file/561356/30811


    It is better to use the golden sun hacking guide to hack both 1 & 2 then manually get all the djinns. You should use VBA to hack anything before porting it back to the cart or flashcart.

    I find some of things for stats and inventory to be annoying, low numbers and stuff means alot of the stuff is overpowered.
     
  5. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You are in luck my friend: (Rapidshare download link)
    I use all 3 save slots in a cycle, the oldest one is probably the one you're looking for. [​IMG]
     
  6. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    THATS EXACTLY THE ONE!Thanks alot Psyfira,i don't know why but,my saves get corrupted on gbaexploader,maybe its the rom or maybe i need to reformat,again,thanks alot!
     
  7. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    NEW PROBLEM(i kinda said already but...)when i put Psyfira's save,all three show up,i play,save,restart,now only the last save shows up(2 blanks and the last one still has save)if i save in anywhere those outcomes still go,the last save slot is the original save(the one that i wanted,it never changed even if i saved there)then after playing,save,and reboot,new game comes [​IMG]( someone help please?
     
  8. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't use Exploader so I'm stabbing in the dark here; Can you check the size of the savefile Exploader is creating after you save? Golden Sun saves should be 64KB, if it's creating a smaller file then that would explain why some of the data is being lost.
     
  9. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    64kb,i think its my ez-flash that's the problem,i had it changed already for faulty battery,and it seems GBA Exploader is starting to ask me again if it wants to boot the cart
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You might be using a different version of the game, there are 5 language versions of the game.


    Both of you are using the English version?


    Sometimes when I have incompatible saves for the same game, I import them into VBA then export it back out again before using it.
     
  11. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    can you explain how?im using the U/E version(the one i downloaded had its file name UE)
    edit:seems to be a Golden Sun problem for now...[​IMG]
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I tried using the save file Psyfira upped. Far as I can tell it works fine even on the retail cart.

    Are you using a SRAM patched version of the game? Thats the only thing I can think of that would even cause the save to erase the first save spot.
     
  13. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    i use GBA Exploadedr .58b,i think it auto sram patch's it,i know i sram patched it with GBATA,but i'll try again

    EDIT:i sram patched it with new rom diff source,heck even tried GBALdr,same results.Perhaps it IS my battery,but i can still play Splinter Cell(yea i like it,platfrmer or not)with my saves intact.any ideas??
     
  14. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, I am to saying that the hard SRAM patched copy your using is screwing up the save file. The original save format is flash and your trying to now use it with a game that now uses SRAM instead. The way the data is access is different so it is earsed when it encounters an error.

    GBA exploader doesn't SRAM patch the flash save types, it modifies the rom so that it will by default use double the save space. That extra space is called backup data space by some games.
     
  15. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    so this means?sorry i'm a little slow on these things?i take it the i don't need to SRAM patch the rom anymore?
     
  16. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    pretty much, you don't need the sram patched version. you can use the clean version. The downside is that any save you got for it is not good anymore.

    The only save type that still needs patching is EEPROM type saves if your using gba exploader, though I think the it will be soft patched with gba exploader as well I would assume.

    Once you start using a clean version of the rom, you should be able to use the save file from Psyfira.
     
  17. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    i tried that,so i can play it,it saves,but when i start GBA Exploader,it doesnt ask for save write,it says "May I set this Slot2 expansion pack for GBA Exploader?"i think this is the one if your battery is dry?but i think i can still save one some games,i try
     
  18. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It has to earse whatever was there previously and add its own markers. It is normal for it to do that if your jumping back and forth between something like AKAIO and exploader.


    Make sure you back up any save data before switching over to any other loader, you will lose your stuff if you don't.
     
  19. lolzed
    OP

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    the problem is it ALWAYS asks that when i boot up GBA Exploader,everytime i play then save,when i boot GE it asks it again,also if i try to write SRAM/sav(vice versa)i says "SRAM save data not found Can't process to SAV file"
     
  20. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    if it is asking every single time, your battery is likely dead.
     

Share This Page