GBARunner2

By Gericom, Dec 4, 2016 707,825 3,265 104

  1. JakeMarre

    JakeMarre Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Mexico
    Maybe this request has already been made to you before and I don't want to bother but I think that for many users it is difficult to access the configurations either to remap buttons or other things because the L / R triggers do not work as is my case, access them through the touch screen menu would be simpler and it would not be necessary to manually edit the gbarunner.ini file
     
  2. Dull

    Dull Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Brazil
    hi. Mario vs Donkey Kong [E] it's not working for me, i already downloaded the last version but is not working yet.

    edit: I have a DSi XL, tested on R4 and Twilight Menu +, both do not work. does it only work in the enhanced version, which is only for NDS?
     
    Last edited by Dull, Jan 8, 2021
  3. gRuNt

    gRuNt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    I just got a DSi today put the latest TM on and when I run some GBA games (Alien hominid, Jackie Chan adventure) they start but crash with a weird sound glitch I need to power off the DSi, some other GBA games work fine (Aladdin). Is it my settings or is it just that compatibility is not great ?

    EDIT

    OK I am a total newb :D

    https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/GBARunner2

    There is a compatibility list and turning off cache in settings made those 2 games run just fine :D
     
    Last edited by gRuNt, Jan 11, 2021
    Robz8 and banjo2 like this.
  4. RacsoSakuraba

    RacsoSakuraba GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Any news on how to make custom frames?

    EDIT: and... It's possible add the brightness control from DSL Enhanced Edition (and code for run ROM3M on DS Lite)?

     
    Last edited by RacsoSakuraba, Jan 30, 2021
  5. Bartolomey_wong

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Russia
    Hey! Thanks for the emulator! I'm using it with Twilight Menu on my SD card and have a couple questions.

    I'm trying to play Zelda: Minish Cap. It loads fine, but it seems the sleep mode doesn't work for it, sadly. When I close the lid, nothing happens: the game still plays, I hear the music, etc. Is there a solution for playing GBA and putting console to sleep?

    I mean, I need that for the extensive time when I'm not playing. I can't allow myself to be chained to my console all the time, sadly :) This issue could be mitigated with the save-load anywhere, but it seems to me there's no such functionality in that emulator? The game's internal save system is kind of broken because it saves you, say, at the start of the first floor of the dungeon and erases all your progress since last play — for example, you delved deeper, saved, then quit and loaded — and here you are, at the start of the first floor, like nothing happened and you progressed no further.

    It's a pity, it really makes playing this game (and I think many others) for me impossible because either I need to leave my 3DS constantly working and draining power or I should accept the loss of progress with the game's internal save system. Either way is kind of depressing.

    Does someone have suggestions? I would really appreciate it because I'm so eager to dive again into my 3DS and particularly exploring GBA titles.

    PS. And the sound, I hear crackling sound from time to time. Frequently, though.
     
    Last edited by Bartolomey_wong, Feb 2, 2021
  6. RacsoSakuraba

    RacsoSakuraba GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Sound problems are frequent, they always try to fix them. On the other hand, the GBA mode does not have sleep mode, for now of course.
     
    Tarmfot and Bartolomey_wong like this.
  7. Bartolomey_wong

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Russia
    I see. The lack of sleep mode or emulator-level save system is showing :(
     
  8. RacsoSakuraba

    RacsoSakuraba GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Venezuela
    The problem is that it runs on hardware (It is not emulated), it is more difficult to implement since it is not purely software (at least with savestates I think)
     
    Bartolomey_wong likes this.
  9. Bartolomey_wong

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Russia
    Oh, I see. Do you know of a GBA emulator for 3DS that would work with savestates, perhaps?
     
  10. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,225
    Country:
    United States
    There are none, afaik
     
    Tarmfot and Bartolomey_wong like this.
  11. Bartolomey_wong

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Russia
    I see. Thanks.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Well, guys, perhaps it will be slightly off-topic, but how do you play GBA on 3DS without save states and sleep mode?
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  12. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,225
    Country:
    United States
    You could try Ultimate GBA Injector, or something with a similar name.
     
    Bartolomey_wong likes this.
  13. Bartolomey_wong

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Russia
    Thank you!
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  14. RacsoSakuraba

    RacsoSakuraba GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Venezuela
    IDK because i have an O3DS but you can try with mGBA if you have a New 3DS. This have some sound issues but in N3DS runs good afaik.
     
    Last edited by RacsoSakuraba, Feb 3, 2021
  15. Bartolomey_wong

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Russia
    I have old 3DS, so no fun for me here :)
     
  16. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,899
    Country:
    United States
    New Super Ultimate Injector is a bit more updated in terms of the save database, and there's also open_agb_firm. These aren't emulators though and lack save states, although VC injection does support sleep and there's also a tool to inject cheats into GBA roms.
     
    Tarmfot and Robz8 like this.
  17. AdmiralClassy

    AdmiralClassy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello. I'm trying to run Pokemon Leaf Green on my DSI Xl which has Twiilight Menu ++ installed on the SD card but it consistently crashes after the Gamefreak Logo. The sound also doesn't seem to work as I don't hear the startup jingle before it crashes. I've looked at the compatibility list and unless I'm reading it wrong it seems like it should work so I'm not sure what the issue is. I tried a different GBA game to see if that worked (tloz minish cap) and that worked just fine. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
     
  18. RacsoSakuraba

    RacsoSakuraba GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Venezuela
    are you using the wram i-cache?
     
  19. AdmiralClassy

    AdmiralClassy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was doing so I tried disabling it but I still got the same crashes.
     
  20. VzUh

    VzUh you are now reading my custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    Spain
    usually zelda games are like that. if you save inside a dungeon and quit, when you open the game again you are at the beggining of the dungeon. check if your progress on the dungeon is lost, or if you just got moved to the beggining of the dungeon



    i know this is probably not what you are asking for, but may be useful so im gonna post this link anyway

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-play-a-gba-game-with-background-frame-on-ds-phat-lite.576142/

    (requires flashcard)
     
    skeleanon likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GBARunner2,