Homebrew FreeShop DLC downloaded but not working.

TheTrippyHippie

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
84
Country
United States
Downloaded a english patched .CIA of Yu-Gi-Oh! Saikyo Card Battle and went onto the freeshop to download DLC. I proceeded to download and then restart my 2DS. I went into the game and it did not give me any DLC content. Using a O2DS running on Luma3DS 9.0.0 and OFW 11.6, also have "enable game patching" on in the Luma3DS menu. Could anyone help me fix this? I'm not sure if i did something wrong or if it is the game.
 

AxlSt00pid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,923
Trophies
1
Age
24
XP
3,468
Country
Spain
You need to change the region of your out-of-region game in order for it to load DLCs.
I don't exactly remember how to do it right now, but there's an app you can download through TitleDB called Luma Locale Switcher RVN that helps changing the region of your games
 
  • Like
Reactions: THYPLEX

TheTrippyHippie

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
84
Country
United States
It would probably be better just to download both the game and the dlc through freeshop.
Is it a english patched version? I'd honestly would perfer to play the story through.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

You need to change the region of your out-of-region game in order for it to load DLCs.
I don't exactly remember how to do it right now, but there's an app you can download through TitleDB called Luma Locale Switcher RVN that helps changing the region of your games
It said region free when i downloaded and installed the .CIA
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Asshai
XP
2,958
Country
United States
Is it a english patched version? I'd honestly would perfer to play the story through.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


It said region free when i downloaded and installed the .CIA
DLC is never region free even if the game is... You need to use Luma Locale changer to change the region of the game to JPN JP and then your DLC will load. Be warned if you visit the eshop it will be deleted since it's not available for your region.

To do that create a text file called "locale.txt" with the words "JPN JP" and place that text file in SD/luma/Titles/TitleID. Then your DLC should show up as long as it's installed correctly. It won't have any effect on the English patch either.
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,751
Country
United States
Is it a english patched version? I'd honestly would perfer to play the story through.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


It said region free when i downloaded and installed the .CIA
You can apply the English patch via luma layerdfs patching, which is super easy. Of you can find the standalone patch, just extract it to sd://luma/titles/TITLEIDOFGAME/romfs
 
  • Like
Reactions: THYPLEX

TheTrippyHippie

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
84
Country
United States
You can apply the English patch via luma layerdfs patching, which is super easy. Of you can find the standalone patch, just extract it to sd://luma/titles/TITLEIDOFGAME/romfs
How do i do that? The .CIA i downloaded was already patched to english.
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,751
Country
United States
How do i do that? The .CIA i downloaded was already patched to english.
All CIA english patched files are usually the cia of the game but patched to be in english by using somebody else's english patch. I know the patch files are out there, but it seems like i cannot find them atm. Sorry, i'll keep you posted if the raw translation files show up anywhere. Meanwhile, you can try extracting the cia file and finding the specific files that were replaced, but that's a ton of effort.
 

TheTrippyHippie

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
84
Country
United States
All CIA english patched files are usually the cia of the game but patched to be in english by using somebody else's english patch. I know the patch files are out there, but it seems like i cannot find them atm. Sorry, i'll keep you posted if the raw translation files show up anywhere. Meanwhile, you can try extracting the cia file and finding the specific files that were replaced, but that's a ton of effort.
Yeah. Honestly, all i would be getting is a few extra decks so I'm not too worried about it. I'm almost done with the game now anyways.
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
New York
XP
2,751
Country
United States
I will mention right now that the dlc won't be in English, so it might not be worth it anyway. If you do want it however, your best bet might be to go to the iso site and search for the Japanese dlc cia. That could fix it. Lastly, piracy is an inevitably on this site. Though the means to piracy cannot be discussed, you cannot tell people to stop what they're doing. Next thing you know there will be waves of threads telling people to stop hacking the 3ds on the 3ds Homebrew forums. It's the way the world works.
 

EmBlaze

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Messages
144
Trophies
0
XP
584
Country
Canada
Same here on Luma 9.0 and 11.6 using New 3DS XL. I went as far as installing the Japanese version from scratch and adding DLC on freeShop. Played on a brand new save file.

Used LumaLocaleSwitcher Nightly on both Yu-Gi-Oh entries (JAP region/language) and enable game patching. At least Daily Rewards work...
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty
    what are you looking at?
  • BakerMan
    ReZ and Xdqwerty, please stop looking at me.
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: Lets troll someone i guess