PS1/2 Free McBoot sound bug

Nameless_Rook

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
141
Country
So I got a softmoded ps2 and there is a sound bug. It's not gamebreaking, it's just that a lot of the sounds of games I play don't have sounds like footsteps and swings and this kind of stuff, there are only dialogs and music. I use Usbutil 2.0 for you know, to stuff more than 4 GBs of memory onto a flash drive. Is there anything that could fix it? I know don't repair what's not broken, but this just isn't the complete experience.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,577
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,004
Country
Antarctica
Burning backups on disc is (I believe) the only way to have 100% compatibility.
But SMB loading works without lag and is really quick.
HDD Loading (what I use) is also pretty much without any problems (tho you'll be tied to an IDE HDD)
Transfer speeds from a PC to the PS2 (both on ethernet) is about 2-3MB/s max.
 

Nameless_Rook

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
141
Country
Burning backups on disc is (I believe) the only way to have 100% compatibility.
But SMB loading works without lag and is really quick.
HDD Loading (what I use) is also pretty much without any problems (tho you'll be tied to an IDE HDD)
Transfer speeds from a PC to the PS2 (both on ethernet) is about 2-3MB/s max.

Cool. Need to try that with the hard drive. As of now the ethernet method is unfortunately unavailable to me. It is a pity.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,577
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,004
Country
Antarctica
HDD Loading is the best thing you can have on the PS2.
Installing games is done with HDL server 0.90 and HDL server helper GUI.

Don't forget to first start an FTP server in uLaunchELF.
It'll make the HDD spin up.

It might be annoying to set up first but once you've done it once, it's piss easy.
 

TVL

#|
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2004
Messages
577
Trophies
2
Location
World -1
XP
2,331
Country
Sweden
Burning backups on disc is (I believe) the only way to have 100% compatibility.
But SMB loading works without lag and is really quick.
HDD Loading (what I use) is also pretty much without any problems (tho you'll be tied to an IDE HDD)
Transfer speeds from a PC to the PS2 (both on ethernet) is about 2-3MB/s max.

You can just put in a converter I have an old 3.5" IDE in my PS2. But when that drive dies I do have a converter to 2.5" and I also have a 2.5" to SD-card converter (only reason I didn't go with IDE 3.5" -> SD card directly was because none of the ones I found connected in line with the port and I wouldn't be able to fit them inside the PS2). There was also some chinese company making something that looked just like the broadband adapter but contained a 2.5" sata connector instead (and I believe no ethernet port), not sure those are available anymore though.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,577
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,004
Country
Antarctica
You can just put in a converter I have an old 3.5" IDE in my PS2. But when that drive dies I do have a converter to 2.5" and I also have a 2.5" to SD-card converter (only reason I didn't go with IDE 3.5" -> SD card directly was because none of the ones I found connected in line with the port and I wouldn't be able to fit them inside the PS2). There was also some chinese company making something that looked just like the broadband adapter but contained a 2.5" sata connector instead (and I believe no ethernet port), not sure those are available anymore though.

Converters and adapters do work.
But you're still tied to the IDE speeds.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: Good night