Hacking File Type for NeoGamma GC DVDs

alejolink11

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
United States
I just got NeoGamma and tried it out with a
.gcm file I burned onto a dvd-r cd but it says

NO DVD (n)

when I try and play it.

I guess the file type is wrong...
what type of files am I looking for here.

If its the file type then whats my problem...?
 

chop

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
495
Trophies
0
Age
51
Location
Pontefract
XP
277
Country
alejolink11 said:
I just got NeoGamma and tried it out with a
.gcm file I burned onto a dvd-r cd but it says

NO DVD (n)

when I try and play it.

I guess the file type is wrong...
what type of files am I looking for here.

If its the file type then whats my problem...?

Just rename it from name.gcm to name.iso before you burn.
 

alejolink11

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
United States
Wow i feel dumb -_-

well thanks a million chop
biggrin.gif
 

alejolink11

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
United States
OK NEVER MIND.
I tried that... still no luck!

Is there anything other than the actual program i might
be missing?

I get the same error or sometime it says
DVD Err(1208), Disc ID

EDIT: I see that burn speed and other factors are involved...
can I please get a good guide or tips for this.. please?
 

dkp

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
139
Country
United States
I've been told to make the backup at x2-x3 speed. Whenever I try Miramax or whatever it's called I get bad burns. So my suggestion is always use Verbatim or Fujifilm or other high quality brands like that. Aside from that, I suggest trying to find a guide to burn backups. Like this:

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=129239

And always use imageburn.

Other than that, not much I can say. I've only gotten 1208 when the disk was inserted backwards. (stupid me)
 

alejolink11

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
United States
All right. Might you know what IOS cIOS to use with it?
Im currently using cIOS 56rev20.

Is that good.
It might be good idea to note im only using this for
GC backups.
 

dkp

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
139
Country
United States
If you plan on ntsc games, as long as the images are good, I think that works. As for myself, I'm having a huge amount of trouble getting PAL gamecube games to work. But it works for japanese and North American games perfectly.

Your cIOS should work, mine work with that.
 

alejolink11

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
United States
Ok Good so I guess any future problems will be due to bad burns and
bad ISOs. At least no techie stuff to worry about!
laugh.gif


Haha. Well thanks a bunch. Ima try using ImgBurn on these memorex DVD-Rs I have at 2x Speed.
And If that doesnt work Ill go for another ISO and if THAT doesnt work, ill get some Fujifilms.
 

dkp

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
139
Country
United States
Neogamma reads backups at x3. So I wouldn't recommend anything else. Memorex are generally very bad (they are the Miramax thing I was trying to say).
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It could get banned from PSN but you can change your ID I think?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also gonna install twilight menu in my r4 flashcard
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One thing that just occurred to me.... The sound on the 2600 sucked less back then the harsh sound we hear now is from infinitely better speakers we have now, back when the 2600 was new speakers produced a almost muffled sound, like CRTs made old graphics look slightly better.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if I could recommend that to some emulation devs that perhaps the sound could use some smoothing out to simulate those old TVs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think a few of the early systems could benefit from that, at least up to the 8 bit generation, by the 16 bit generation I think TVs had gotten a lot better in almost every way
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont have an sd card adapter but I have an usb sd card adapter
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Old people games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its not the one that comes with the r4
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    doesnt work (my flashcard is from r4isdhc.com)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    might install ysmenu first
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Try Wood firmware
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    For your R4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's old but it's the best firmware out for DS stuff
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    it says it only works for the original R4, R4i Gold (r4ids.cn), R4iDSN (r4idsn.com) and Acekard R.P.G.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm it does support mine
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    but why choose it over ysmenu @Psionic Roshambo?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    bc im stupid?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yea ik im stupid
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just give it a try, but honestly if you have a 3DS you can play DS games without a card just off the internal SD card
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, my fuckin headphones have an out of place speaker
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Did you try wearing them?
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Did you try wearing them?