EZ 3-in-1: please excuse a dumb question

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Searinox, Dec 17, 2007.

Dec 17, 2007
  1. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I noticed there's a GBA-sized version of the EZ 3 in 1 available. What exactly does it do inside a GBA? I'd assume it allows you to play ROMs on it and maybe even support an OS but if so, I haven't found ONE site to tell me how much internal memory the 3 in 1 has and I doubt it can be upgraded via microSD cause AFAI was able to see it doesn't have a slot for one...
     
  2. PBC

    Member PBC What!? I can change this??

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Ez 3-1 is the combo rumble, brower ram and GBA game player. I dont think it is made for a GBA persay, perhaps what you are seeing is a DS Phat sized cart as opposed to the more popular DS lite sized. You have to understand that a slot 1 card (ds top slot) is required to transfer GBA roms onto the 3-1. You wouldnt be able to place a rom on the GBA portion using a GBA. For the record accourding to my searchs the 3-1 has 32mb of ram, mostly for GBA storage I thinks.

    Ps. There is no expandable memory slot for the 3-1. Using a DS You must have the GBA games on your slot one card (like EZV) and then write them to the slot 2 (3-1). After you have transfered a GBA to the 3-1 it will remain there until you write over it. Soooo I think you could use the 3-1 for a GBA but only if you already have a DS and a slot 1 to transfer the games...
    and if you have a DS...why would you want a gba? =P

    There are better solutions for playing roms on a GBA...this is not a good one.
     
  3. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    http://www.gameyeeeah.com/r4-r4ds-ez-in-ex...lack-p-298.html I was referring to this. As you can see they have a GBA-sized version. 32MB? That's hardly space to store 2 or 3 ROMs... then again I only need it for the memory expansion. I want it GBA-sized because I also have a GBA. It may be low-end as a GBA cart but it'll be enough for me to trade Pokemon. That's why I want GBA-sized over NDS version.
     
  4. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
    AFAIK, 32MB is the max for a GBA game. The unloaded GBA ROMs are expected to be stored on a Slot 1 Card.
     
  5. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's not true. It has 16 MB RAM and 32 MB NOR. RAM is temporary storage and NOR is permanent (though rewritable).
     
  6. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Okay now that's cleared things up for me. Thanks. I have one last question though. At $20 it's still very cheap. So I must ask, is the storage space of the EZ solid-state or is it just SRAM backed up by a battery? I know it has a battery inside but I don't know wether it uses it for real-time clock, saves, ROM image storage, or all 3 together.
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a NOR memory bank totalling 256Mbit/32Mbyte. Once written it is there until you delete it.
    There is a PSRAM bank at 128 Mbit/16 MByte, this is supported by the GBA/DS power supply and it is what is used by the tools most of the time for running games.
    And there is a battery backed SRAM for saves (until they are transferred anyhow).

    As for shops I have no idea but a bunch of the European shops got them soon after they were released.
     
  8. PBC

    Member PBC What!? I can change this??

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, pretty sure I wasnt going to get the mem storage right. good thing the other people know what they are talking about.
     
  9. Rizsparky

    Member Rizsparky Saiyan Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Location:
    The Future
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. Eyedunno

    Member Eyedunno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Japan
    Maybe you ought to wait and see if anybody has tested one on a GBA first. I don't see how it would possibly work, personally, since you need a loader. The reason there's a GBA sized version is for the DS Phat.
    No, that's enough space for ONE rom. All loaders will only load one rom to the NOR.

    Get an M3 Perfect Lite (which has a GBA-sized swap case) or an EZFlash IV Mini SD. Both of those also have memory.
     
  11. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Well, you could use a DS+Slot-1 to flash a game to NOR than use it on a GBA. Pretty sure it'll work.
     
  12. Eyedunno

    Member Eyedunno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Japan
    I know you can flash a game with a DS, but does the game in NOR run automatically when the 3-in-1 is run from GBA mode? If not, it won't work.

    I thought it needed a DS-based loader (run via Slot-1), even to run the game in NOR.
     
  13. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you flash a game to NOR and then pull your Slot-1 card out the EZ 3-in-1 boots to whatever game was flashed to it so I'd assume it would work on the GBA the same.
     

Share This Page