Hacking Error installing cIOS Rev 14 or 15!

btfanusa

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
99
Country
United States
I have IOS249 (Rev 7) and when I am trying to install Rev 15 but getting an error. Please tell me where I went wrong:

I Go to HBC
Then I Go to Wad-Manager
Then I press + to install the rev 15 wad called IOS38-64-v38667.wad
Then it starts installing and I see a lot of "OK!" but all of a sudden it stops at "Adding content #20" and shows the following message:

- Adding Content #20 (length:159040 bytes)...[*]ERROR: Could not read file data!

[*] ERROR: WAD not installed! (ret= -1)


So can any expert please give me some help
 

Ame16787

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
109
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
ITALY
XP
264
Country
Italy
sounds like it has a hard time reading the sd or maybe the wad is damaged! you should try reformatting the card (after backup) and then adding back all the files or downloading cios from somwhere else!
 

bazamuffin

RESIDENT HATER OF POLITICAL POSTING WANKSTAINS
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
2,349
Trophies
1
Location
Shmashmortion Clinic
XP
1,388
Country
Uruguay
I would go with rev 14 and go for online (network) install rather than offline (wad). Any particular reason why you want rev15, or are you just updating to the latest?

I would still format the SD and start again though.
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
199
Country
Swaziland
btfanusa said:
I have IOS249 (Rev 7) and when I am trying to install Rev 15 but getting an error. Please tell me where I went wrong:

I Go to HBC
Then I Go to Wad-Manager
Then I press + to install the rev 15 wad called IOS38-64-v38667.wad
Then it starts installing and I see a lot of "OK!" but all of a sudden it stops at "Adding content #20" and shows the following message:

- Adding Content #20 (length:159040 bytes)...[*]ERROR: Could not read file data!

[*] ERROR: WAD not installed! (ret= -1)
I'm not shure, but the way you're describing this, you're doing it wrong. You don't have to install any .wad with WADManager. You have to run the cIOS Installer, which will work Online and Offline. If you want to make an offline Installation, place the requested IOS38-64-v3867.wad in the root of the SD Card, and then lauch the Installer. No need for any WADManager.

Try again this way, and if it won't work, download the .wad from another Source, or do an Online-Install.
 

btfanusa

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
99
Country
United States
Thanks but no luck, I went the cIOS Installer method, and I got a different error, which looked like this

Exception Occurred!

u027037074027402704
7027402402470247027

Etc, etc just a bunch of crazy numbers. I am trying to get REv 14 or 15 cuz I think I need that in order to run USB Loader. IT says if any Error occurs, I need to downgrade my Wii first, but as far as I know the version I have is pretty old like 3.2 or 3.3. Do I actually need to remove Rev 7 first or something
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
6,626
Trophies
2
XP
5,806
Country
United Kingdom
btfanusa said:
IT says if any Error occurs, I need to downgrade my Wii first, but as far as I know the version I have is pretty old like 3.2 or 3.3. Do I actually need to remove Rev 7 first or something

You shouldn't ever downgrade, there is no need.
If anything you should follow the guide that tells you how to upgrade to 4.2 and then hack it from there.
 

btfanusa

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
99
Country
United States
smf said:
btfanusa said:
IT says if any Error occurs, I need to downgrade my Wii first, but as far as I know the version I have is pretty old like 3.2 or 3.3. Do I actually need to remove Rev 7 first or something

You shouldn't ever downgrade, there is no need.
If anything you should follow the guide that tells you how to upgrade to 4.2 and then hack it from there.

Do you mean upgrading using the official Nintendo 4.2 update? Would that delete all my IOS and cIOS as well as any homebrew channels to give me a fresh, "original factory settings"-like start? If so then you might be right, it's worth a try, but I am afraid I wouldn't be able to run any backups afterwards if something screws up.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    oh dear. making codes for nes is kinda stressful. i'm trying to think of cool ideas that haven't been thought of before. it's hard to be original, and i don't wanna make codes that already exist!
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    I may make a post asking for code ideas, and hopefully that would make others happy :)
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Also, my ADHD keeps me from sleeping, and It bothers me lol
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Anywho, I've been using my modded Wii to play a few games here and there, and finally installed a custom Wii theme thanks to Larsenv helping me in a call (I have a family edition, and I don't wanna brick the nand since I can't restore it) Went with the basic "Black" Theme, since I'm a huge fan of dark themes, and it's less of an eyesore at night
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Larsen also helped me with my Dazzle setup, since the drivers for my model weren't online. I also helped dump that DVD with it, since I had a DVD drive.
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    And now pinnacle studio received a new update, and reset my my KEY, and he's trying to figure out why it did that.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    good morning
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    today is a pretty damn nice day, and it's saturday
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Good moaning.
  • refrop @ refrop:
    what
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    hello there ref
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Hi there
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @GameGenieLabs, Which Dazzle capture card do you have?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Good thing I don't collect old consoles.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    EMULATION, BAYBEE
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Veho, I love to have some of my favourite consoles physically.
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    for the switch
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    does anyone know where to buy replacement usb c cables or you use any usb c cable
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I like to have stuff, but consoles are just too bulky and I wouldn't risk breaking them by actually turning them on, so they'd end up in storage somewhere anyway.
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: