DS #XXXX: EDGE Slot 1 Flashcard (China)

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,159
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
normmatt.com
XP
1,959
Country
New Zealand
NICE!!!!

Disassembly time
tongue.gif
 

Maikel Steneker

M3 Fanboy
Member
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
3,394
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
ndss.nl
XP
361
Country
Netherlands
Is this a firmware, a kernel, a shell ?
It is the firmware. It will only be useful for an EDGE.

What I was wondering... Does this enable Soft Reset for some homebrew like the M3 Real firmware does? For those who do not know, you can dump the M3 Real firmware and rename it to SoftReset.M3DS to enable Soft Reset in tools like Rudolph's 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Yes you shoot the pineapples at him and hope for the best...
No real strategy though
frown.gif
 

OSW

Wii King
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,787
Trophies
0
XP
462
Country
not only can the 3in1 tool use dumps of some cards to soft reset, but you can from my experience boot this dumps from DSOrganise or other homebrew loaders, with the effect equivalent to soft reset. Dragonminded doesn't even need to implement soft reset this way (i recall people have asked him to implement it in the past)

also, i want someone to try and boot a dump of the cyclo firmware with the Edge card.
 

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,159
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
normmatt.com
XP
1,959
Country
New Zealand
Comparing the boot loaders of the cyclo evo and the edge card show a fair amount of the code is the same. So i see no reason why someone couldn't run the cyclods firmware dump with the latest update.evo on their microsd and try and update the firmware that way though i doubt it'd work that easily.
 

Hit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
813
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
Netherlands
Comparing the boot loaders of the cyclo evo and the edge card show a fair amount of the code is the same. So i see no reason why someone couldn't run the cyclods firmware dump with the latest update.evo on their microsd and try and update the firmware that way though i doubt it'd work that easily.
Because it will be expecting the firmware is on the built-in flash
Really small chance it will work
 

Normmatt

Former AKAIO Programmer
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
2,159
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
normmatt.com
XP
1,959
Country
New Zealand
Comparing the boot loaders of the cyclo evo and the edge card show a fair amount of the code is the same. So i see no reason why someone couldn't run the cyclods firmware dump with the latest update.evo on their microsd and try and update the firmware that way though i doubt it'd work that easily.

Because it will be expecting the firmware is on the built-in flash
Really small chance it will work

Then someone with a cyclods needs to dump the data from that built in flash, there must be a datasheet or something for it which tells you how to read and write to it.
 

JPH

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
6,881
Trophies
0
Website
jphtemp.net
XP
1,140
Country
United States
It hasn't even been out for like...2 weeks and they've dumped it
tongue.gif


Like everyone has said, they don't work with any flashcart - but they're not necessarily useless
wink2.gif
 

Maikel Steneker

M3 Fanboy
Member
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
3,394
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
ndss.nl
XP
361
Country
Netherlands
not only can the 3in1 tool use dumps of some cards to soft reset, but you can from my experience boot this dumps from DSOrganise or other homebrew loaders, with the effect equivalent to soft reset. Dragonminded doesn't even need to implement soft reset this way (i recall people have asked him to implement it in the past)

also, i want someone to try and boot a dump of the cyclo firmware with the Edge card.
Hey, I didn't know that! Thanks a lot for the tip! I'll probably use this a lot
biggrin.gif


Still, it'd be nice if DragonMinded could implement it. I mean, so it could use the same SoftReset.M3DS file that Rudolph's tools use, or at least another file so I wouldn't need manually going to the browser and starting the file.
Yeah, I know, I'm lazy
tongue.gif
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
Still, it'd be nice if DragonMinded could implement it. I mean, so it could use the same SoftReset.M3DS file that Rudolph's tools use, or at least another file so I wouldn't need manually going to the browser and starting the file.
Yeah, I know, I'm lazy
tongue.gif

You can make it appear as an icon on page 3 of DSOrganize by creating a .DSS file (DSOrganize shortcut file) for it and placing it in the "HOME" folder within the DSOrganize data folder. You can then launch it without going to the file browser.

-Bri
 

Romain

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
10
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
271
Country
France
Dumps of the M3 Real, the G6 Real and the SCDS1 are all useful. Dumps of Passcards and Superkeys have their uses too. There is no reason to think that this is worthless.

What are they useful for? Sorry for this question, maybe obvious for you but I follow all the news here and I didn't here anuthing about it, thanks for your light
tongue.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: As Margaret Thatcher said.