Done The Bootmii 2 install but Wii still boots to normal menu

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gcunit, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. gcunit
    OP

    Newcomer gcunit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I've been trying to update my softmod from a 3.2e Softmii to a 4.1 Bootmii, and I thought I'd done it - I've had the Bootmii menu up, made a NAND backup, but when I reset my Wii it still boots to the normal Wii system menu and it still shows a 3.2e firmware, despite me having downloaded 4.1 via a WAD manager.

    Any one got any idea what I'm doing wrong? The Bootmii folder was in the root directory of the SD card like it's meant to be, so what gives?

    Please bear in mind I'm basically a noob cos it's been so long since my last mod, so please try and keep it 'plain english'.

    Thanks.
     
  2. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    You haven't installed sneek right? If you have, that overwrites the bootmii files on SD.
     
  3. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Just for sh!ts and giggles, what happens if you boot with no SD card in the slot?
     
  4. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Start again and this time update to 4.2 using the 4.3 sticky at the top of the hacking section.
     
  5. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    i actually have the same problem i occasionaly when i power on my wii from not being played in 2 weeks i get the bootmii menu but after that it just loads to the wii menu every time. not sure what happened or whyit's not always booting up bootmii but as long as i can access the HBC I'll be alright.
     
  6. gcunit
    OP

    Newcomer gcunit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Just the same - just boots to normal Wii system menu.

    I don't remember reading anything specific about 'the Sneek' in the 'Modmii for windows' guide. I will try the top sticky later today.

    Thanks - let you know how it goes.
     
  7. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    What files are in your bootmii folder?
     
  8. gcunit
    OP

    Newcomer gcunit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT - I can answer it now:

    In my SD card bootmii folder I've got - armboot.bin, ppcboot.elf and a bootmii configuaration setting file.

    I've been following the 4.3 guide sticky as suggested. I now have a 4.2E system menu, but I still can't get Bootmii 2 to work, even tho it installs successfully when using Hackmii Installer.

    Also, my Wii won't boot with the SD card inserted - just sticks on a blackscreen - I have to take it out, it then boots via the Health Warning screen (which I have to Press A to, whereas I didn't with my Softmii mod) and then I insert my SD card once the main wii menu has loaded. I do have the SD card menu shortcut on my main menu, and I can get Bootmii via the HBC, but I'm a bit nervous about proceeding with the rest of the guide until I can get Bootmii 2 to work.

    I've tried installing Bootmii 2 multiple times. Could someone clarify the installation process in Hackmii for me?

    - Do I have to 'prepare the SD card'?
    - Do I have to install the Bootmii IOS before the Bootmii 2, or after, or not at all?
    - Once I have run the Bootmii install correctly in Hackmii, do I have to do anything else before Bootmii 2 should work on reboot?

    Thanks.
     
  9. gcunit
    OP

    Newcomer gcunit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I've had a look at running Priiloader anyway, but I get an ES_Identify error - 4294966279 and it goes on about some problem with IOS 58.

    So at the moment I'm seemingly unable to brick protect my wii [​IMG]
     
  10. gcunit
    OP

    Newcomer gcunit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, got Priiloader now and it's successfully blocking disk updates and seems to provide brick protection by loading when holding down Reset on reboot. I had been ignoring the bit in the Priiloader installer where it suggests trying holding B and pressing + if pressing + on its own doesn't work.
     

Share This Page