DL Disc support for OpenWii working!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by HisshouBuraiKen, Feb 16, 2008.

Feb 16, 2008
  1. HisshouBuraiKen
    OP

    Member HisshouBuraiKen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    Brawl works flawlessly with OpenWii 2.34. This may not be the final version but this round of updates but it is working.

    Grab it here: http://openwii.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=...er=asc&start=30

    The DVD update disc is on page 4 of that topic I think.

    Just burn to a quality media and you're golden. I saw one stutter in the opening movie of SSE and since then it's been smooth as silk.
     
  2. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Does that mean that you can update Wiikey with this and turn into Openwii? It uses the same Amtel chip
     
  3. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    Why would you want to do that?
     
  4. Tweaked

    Member Tweaked GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Canada
    lol you could turn your openwii into wiikeys, the source was leaked :{{{{{{{{{
     
  5. INTERNETS

    Member INTERNETS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    United States
    Great to hear, thanks.
     
  6. HisshouBuraiKen
    OP

    Member HisshouBuraiKen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    No, I'm pretty sure you can't completely rewrite a chip to use a new firmware just with a disc - the DVD updates can only access a portion of the chip memory and write to that. A portion of the original firmware remains on the chip, that's why you can only upgrade the chip's current firmware with a new version, not replace it entirely.

    The wiring setup for the two chip firmwares is different anyways.
     

Share This Page