cIOSX rev21d2x: Yet Another Hot Fix!!!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by davebaol, Feb 3, 2011.

?

Did d2x work for you?

  1. Yes, I had an issue with the official cios and d2x fixed it

    86 vote(s)
    48.0%
  2. Yes, but everything was already working for me with the official cios

    76 vote(s)
    42.5%
  3. No, and I posted what goes wrong

    8 vote(s)
    4.5%
  4. No, and I won't report what goes wrong because I am a troll

    9 vote(s)
    5.0%
Feb 3, 2011
  1. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Country:
    United States
    Can this EHCI module just be swapped for the buggy one in an existing .wad of the cIOS, or would doing it manually require other steps? If so, which .app is it for each given base IOS? I would like to use this, but I would like to fix it in all of my cIOSes, not just 249 and 250 (since those are the only options in ModMii...), so I would like to be able to just dump all of my cIOSes, patch them and reinstall. Here's what I have installed:

    IOS246[56]
    IOS247[57]
    IOS248[58] (I'm assuming base 58 uses Nintendo's EHCI module, so no need for it here).
    IOS249[38]
    IOS250[37]

    How can I do this? Or would it be easier to use ModMii to create the cIOSes and just modify the tmd to change the install slot?
     


  2. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    the easiest method,
    just use ModMii's Advanced Downloads feature, select the cIOS u want to modify, then enter the new cIOS slot and version number when prompted, then install the new wads like normal

    about what u were asking, u can check the .app file using a hex editor, if u look near the very end of the file, the authors typically title the files, like mload or ehci, etc. Then just unpack the wad, and repack it using the modified ehci module
     
  3. ironia

    Newcomer ironia Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    well done!

    for me d2x works, but everything was already working for me with the official cios
     
  4. jesquinas

    Member jesquinas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Spain
    Have you tried to format your WD Elements disk with NTFS format?

    Greetings.
     
  5. eN-t

    Newcomer eN-t Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Germany
    @jesquinas:
    Not yet, I liked WBFS best, yet. Also, why should it work with NTFS when both FAT32 and WBFS fail while on the other HDD everything works fine?

    But I will try it on Wednesday, as I said. Maybe today, but I do not think that I'll have the time.
     
  6. netspy

    Newcomer netspy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. usuariox

    Newcomer usuariox Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Mexico
    Can we use this EHCI module to modifi cIOS of DarkCorp?
     
  8. sock99

    Newcomer sock99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    France
    I haven't got a LAN adapter but I tried GH6 again for 30 mins with Wifi on and no problems.
     
  9. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you considered the health of the drive? Does the drive lag when connected to a PC? You would have to disable caching to catch this as PC apps tend to pre-fetch data. I recommend connecting the drive to a PC and running a sector scan and a stress test. The drive might be failing. If the drive is a DUD, get it replaced under warranty if you can. Seems like you have exhausted all other possibilities as far as cIOS and different Homebrew combinations are considered.

    -[]D
     
  10. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
     
  11. netspy

    Newcomer netspy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United States
    Not easily (so not in the next few days I guess), but I'll do my best.
     
  12. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok, now I see what you mean. I was just blind. [​IMG]
     
  13. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,284
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm one of those "never had an issue, but d2x fixed it nonetheless" guys. Great work, though! [​IMG]
     
  14. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I was mostly just checking that I could just drop this over the top of the original EHCI module without any other modifications and have it work.
     
  15. .44 Magnum

    Newcomer .44 Magnum Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    I totally agree. So far I've only had one HDD give me problems similar to the ones described and in the end it wound up being a faulty drive.
     
  16. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    cIOSX d2x v3beta1

    Ok guys, I'm back again with a new beta FFS module which should improve nand emulation by fixing this bug:
    [*]Install the wad files with a Wad Manager
    NOTE: despite the file name it's a real rev21d2x-v3beta1[*]You're done! Please test and report [​IMG]
     
  17. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Here are the hashes for the new d2x v3 beta1 cIOSs so ppl can confirm they were built correctly before installing them if they wish
    Code:
    427ea2aae5f3ea03c5416fa6a5e3079b *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS249[37]-v21d2x2.wad
    f976a0214803c44eb0f75f9ad8e33337 *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS250[37]-v21d2x2.wad
    19ae3bce56a6558b777051a7e2ccad02 *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS249[38]-v21d2x2.wad
    f916178999c6713820b52bd21e3b85ce *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS250[38]-v21d2x2.wad
    dc5b07fe9be4486755b7c1906c87bbc6 *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS249[56]-v21d2x2.wad
    771fe3748a8e961d71401d897b02fb29 *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS250[56]-v21d2x2.wad
    f9c51f6e638586de4571dbbebcea4fcf *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS249[57]-v21d2x2.wad
    973b5bb788717927a2190c057b96da31 *COPY_TO_SD\WAD\cIOS250[57]-v21d2x2.wad
    @davebaol, great work buddy!
     
  18. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    @XFlak
    Thank you very much [​IMG]

    @everybody
    Now in my previous post you can find further info about the issue fixed by d2x v3 beta1
     
  19. satanishere

    Newcomer satanishere Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    so how do I know what version of the cIOS I should use? 37, 38, 56 or 57?
     
  20. troy512

    Newcomer troy512 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page